DYNO

flamefox850

hi guys, want to know is there any brake dyno in our country ? i mean in our local performance shop like GTA, SpeedD, N1, Speedwork and so on as what i know brake dyno is more accurate and more suitable for tuning rather than roller dyno.

if there it exist..tell me where and how much per dyno.

and also i would like to know what preparation for dyno becos there is some rumours that scares so many people including me..heard many people 'pecah enjin' when dyno. is it true ? and why ?

Actually, most of dynos in Malaysia are brake dynos, the only inertia dyno I know here is N1. Tuning is easier to do on brake dynos, but I believe N1 dyno also have brake devices for tuning purposes.

Accurate or not, it depends on how well the dyno operator maintain the dyno. But generally inertia dynos are more accurate than brake dynos, and inertia dynos can also sense changes in engine's rolling inertia (eg lighten flywheel).

Engine broken when dynos? Hehe I don't know whether it's just another urban legend or improper handling by local workshop, the reason can be the engine is not rebuilt to good condition. Eg how can u expect a 15-years old VR4 engine, with no or very little overhauling to straight away rev/boost to maximum as if the engine come straight from factory? So, just make sure ur engine is always in good condition, so it won't easily break whether on dyno or on-the-road.

owh like that aah. not easily damage ? hmmm i just heard scary story only. people talk about how 'rough' the operator rev rev ur engine kaw kaw until redline and cause engine damage. or it's just myth ?

usually how much per dyno ah ? estimate price lah and usually how many times need to dyno to know the power not for tuning purpose

Originally posted by flamefox850@Mar 21 2005, 12:24
owh like that aah. not easily damage ? hmmm i just heard scary story only. people talk about how 'rough' the operator rev rev ur engine kaw kaw until redline and cause engine damage. or it's just myth ?

of cos they have to rev your engine all the way to the redline. that's y taqu has mentioned that your engine has to be in good condition b4 u go n dyno it. the reason for redlining the engine is to get PEAK HORSEPOWER. how much power u can be maxed out on the the engine. in order to do this, there are some things the dyno has to be 'tuned/adjusted' for. some of it are, humidity, elevation above sea level, gear ratio correction (not all has this built in) bla bla bla. the dyno also has to be calibrated occasionally to make sure the measurements are correct. and usually the power is measured using a certain gear on your car, depending on if it's manual or auto. for manual (5sp) it's usually 3rd gear cos it's got the closest gear ratio to 1.0 (not factoring in the final drive ratio).

why do you say brake dynos are better? the brakes that provide load to the drums are subject to wear and tear, affected by temperature and humidity etc etc...

what do you mean by brake dyno? the ones that connect to the hub? or the ones to the rollers(with retarders)? I guess as long as u can see in real time like many different data's on the dyno display such as tractive effort,rpm,engine speed,temperature at one time and if u can upload graphs with different data to ur liking(powerxboost or powerxtorque) and accurate a/f reading,any dyno is good.

The Dyno Dynamics roller ones are very good tho.especially 4wd.