DIY Voltage Stabilizer

cheap yet effective, diy rules!

hi... nothing much here... zth DIY thread is getting slower compared to last time... n recent DIYs are getting less "interesting"

duno where all de old DIY kakis gone....

yeah u r rite, so long nvr cum in n the thread kept lagging, mayb server too many ad n blar blar blar
i tink everybody jus bcum lazy n lazier ,mayb need to take care little kids.. who knows :_:hehehee, anyway guan ,keep up the DIY spirit, if i were in KL, i may wish to learn more from u, so many to do yet no time.. ur photogallery r great, let my spirit support u :_:

by d way, i will b frequent at the VI forum,hope u hop in sometime, lots of thing to learn from u , cheers

sorry mod, abit out of topic :angel_smile:

hi blu, erm... whats a real VS look like then? can elaborate more?

Hi..

Have anyone here tried by just buying a 12V power supply unregulated from pasar road for only RM300 unit for a regulated/stabilize unit.

Anyway a car battery is DC, there's nothing much to stabilize here.
OK say we want to stabilize the voltage when the alternator kicks in and varying voltage with the engine revs, is it by just adding caps??? i would say no we can't by that.
Adding more caps works for capacitor bank or harmonics filter with variation of caps value.

VS is something in the grey area...what we really need is regulated supply which fix it on a usable voltage so that ECU and sensor would get the accurate signal.

Again....most modern car ECU already got build in regulator to do away with the variation of voltage generated.
So what are looking at here???

Well, hv u tried?
If nt, pls do so.... If u did but doesnt work for u then good for you, ur car need no such product.

I will have to agree with your arguments.... but it work for me and some other fellow forummer here which is good news... for us.

May I correct your thinking on this VS concept? Its more on the current(ampre) thingy than the voltage..... Current drop, voltage drop....

Think of it like a small water storage tank which additional water can be pull into usage when needed, without it, water still flows but may not be fast enuff... to fulfill the surge in demand.

R u electronic or electrical engg trained personel? If so, Hv u built ur own power supply b4? 240->12v or so? If so, u will notice there will be caps, resistor, rectifier, transformer, etc... Recifier in the circuits are the voltage regulator and Whats the use of the bigger capacitor in those circuit? Do you happen to know? If so, have u play around with the values of caps? If you did, what do you notice in the CRO of the output? etc......

Another thing to note, most of the pple here dont own big luxury cars which cost is not a problem. In order to save cost, Mfr dont overdesign the electrical system. They design it to fulfill the min needed + a little margin.

So our little cheap cheap solutions work a little wonder to some of us here lor..... Happy ending........

Errr. Anyone can suggest me where can i get the BOX to store the voltage stabilizer OR what BOX should i use???
OR diy the BOX also???

See here (for those who may missed it):
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...38-diy-voltage-stabilizer-36.html#post1766715

I tried 3 types. And no effect to my car performance (pickup etc) at first i kinda FELT it.. but i did tried puting it on, and off for a few weeks... and i realized it is purely psychological.. first type is more of a capacitance bank. it does give one improve to the bass of my ICE.

as i said before, u can filter out most of noise from a few parallel capacitors of different values... but the fact is.. u can only do so little. there are MANY noise (high frequencies), that comes from sparking of plugs.. and it happens variably depend on your RPM. and a good way to do it, is if u can see the noises in a Oscilloscope and then work ur way from there. thus, in conclusion, even same brand and model of car, will still be having different kind of noises. it has to be custom built for each car.

if u car ECU design is sucks, then u probably need it. but most modern car ECU designs already cater for these noises by using filters and whatnot. so really, there is no point to install a VS in ur car, unless, u want a LED light in there to spice up ur engine bay.

nuff said.

ps. btw, its fun to DIY these.. just go ahead and have fun.. DIY is for fun anyways.. hehe.. and hopefully u will learn something new about ur car.

Thanks for the good comment donCityZ.

As for some info to the rest here...i don't spend time building gimmicky stuff...
such as spiral fan power flow, neo magnet to magnetize the fuel and stuff like that especially design from korea and taiwan.
This people make tons of money from gadget like this which is cool for display only and work's for the ego of stubborn people.
Check with speedworks dyno before and after.

My work is for my old classic mini,is now equipped with DIY electronic ignition and Air fuel ratio display with lean out alarm. Although it's not for gaining performance so are all of the rest of the project here.
I could put in some picture or video but i wont share due to some old bad experience.

When i get time i'll look at belt driven turbine blower with variable gearing to compensate the lag from snail blower. Gearing design from the 2speed RC car clutch system and the rest kancil turbine. This is my dream performance project.

Happy DIY.....

When i get time i'll look at belt driven turbine blower with variable gearing to compensate the lag from snail blower. Gearing design from the 2speed RC car clutch system and the rest kancil turbine. This is my dream performance project.

Happy DIY.....

i would love to do that too!!!:_: but no tools and not enof moneyto R&D...hahaha

not all are gimmicks, the spark enhancer thing does make a difference.

Thanks for the good comment donCityZ.

As for some info to the rest here...i don't spend time building gimmicky stuff...
such as spiral fan power flow, neo magnet to magnetize the fuel and stuff like that especially design from korea and taiwan.
This people make tons of money from gadget like this which is cool for display only and work's for the ego of stubborn people.
Check with speedworks dyno before and after.

My work is for my old classic mini,is now equipped with DIY electronic ignition and Air fuel ratio display with lean out alarm. Although it's not for gaining performance so are all of the rest of the project here.
I could put in some picture or video but i wont share due to some old bad experience.

Happy DIY.....

Buddyclub, i agree with u about the spiral fan (ie turbonator), magnets, and whatnots.. heck i can think of a new gadget which does ZILCH, but still ppl will buy it. nowadays ppl are getting crazy on modding, without understanding its effects...

hey, mind pm me some photos of ur DIY afr display? i m making one.. sorta.. in process.. then later i will post here.. hehe.:shades_smile:

sorry to asking a stupid question...
can i know voltage stabilizer got what use?
my car rpm some time up and down, ist after use it
can become smoother n no more up n down? thanks...

sorry to asking a stupid question...
can i know voltage stabilizer got what use?
my car rpm some time up and down, ist after use it
can become smoother n no more up n down? thanks...

1. easy say VS is stable ur car 12V dc source. Please check previous post for more details.

2. rpm up and down can be cause by many reasons... but effect by VS... erm.. should be impossible... ur rpm up and down condition appear after install VS or on certain condition, can you provide more info?

If you suspect VS, easy way is remove it and drive ur car c got any diff...

Abt ur rpm up and down, "normally for injection car" (<- coz not enough data) maybe is ur engine timing lost (adjust timing belt can solve) or O2 sensor dirty or no function properly... further information better ask mechanic check for u...

I can't seem to open up the attached jpg file in the follow from page 20 onwards. Any idea why or how.

HI,

Everyone I'm new here. Has anyone install this voltage stabilizer on VIVA. Do they have any problem with its. Because I have install this DIY ( hand made VS) to my friend VIVA, he use it for 1 week. He said after using this VS for 1 week he smile something burning. After that the smooth effect driving gone ( Air -con is ON). So I help him to check this VS. For short or burn components when I check it the cap are all ok nothing is burning. I also check the electrical systems and wire it seem ok. Circuit total cap is just 20,000 microfarad. So I modi the circuit and ask my friend to test it. I will post if any news from my friend.

I also build this some other hand made vs for yahama LC 135 motorcycle digital DC CDI. effect smooth ride increase HP.

This afternoon I just made and Install a vs to my friend Kelisa car, the car feel smooth while driving back home.

TQ.

Man
Snr Electronics Technician
Private U Electronics Lab Tech.
Kuching, Sarawak.

I'm also planing to design a VS without using a cap. Since capacitor will dry up and reduce capacitance do to aging. It will reduce the cap ability to filters Ac ripple noise.

wha... another EE specialist.
How do you plan to do this?
A penny for a thought?

Active? Passive?
Active, can but basicly u'll need to hav power supply higher than 13.8V to get an output of 13.8V (maintain lead acid charging), where to find in a car? even alternator will give it if the RPM is high.
Another passive way is to use choke or inductance.

Anybody want to buy my :biggrin:DIY voltage stabiliser?
I do it my self, seem tremendous improvement for my wira NGV, improvement ~ 20-35% more powerful. With 5 passengers, smooth driving to climb up "Mantin-Sban" hill at constant speed of 90-100km/hr!, NGV fuel!.
My fried also tried to his car -old Satria 1.3, also smile bcos of a more pick up.
Do contact me if you want to test... [email protected] :biggrin::biggrin:

Bump: Anybody want to buy my :biggrin:DIY voltage stabiliser?
I do it my self, seem tremendous improvement for my wira NGV, improvement ~ 20-35% more powerful. With 5 passengers, smooth driving to climb up "Mantin-Sban" hill at constant speed of 90-100km/hr!, NGV fuel!.
My fried also tried to his car -old Satria 1.3, also smile bcos of a more pick up.
Do contact me if you want to test... [email protected] :biggrin::biggrin:

Japanese oredi got 1 brand which no cap at all... very good but expensive...

Direct Power System?....hehehhee:idea:....didnt used cap at all.............
http://www16.plala.or.jp/ein-tt/155.jpg
http://www16.plala.or.jp/ein-tt/159.jpg