(D-I-Y) Adding bulbs for the glove box (advice needed)

WenHan

Image728.jpg

Good day to all the sifus and gurus here... refering to the above pix, i'm wondering what do i need if i'd like to add bulbs to it and where should i connect the wires if i want it to turn on follow the night lights?

Please advise... thanks in advance...

Bro...
Glove box light to follow the night lite? Sure?
Open car door- glove box also will light..

Or you actually want to open glove box, then lite up?
You want auto or manual switch on?

My advise, buy the led light sold at car accessory shop, and double side tape in the glove box then wire it to a a switch with power supply... (nearest supply is lighter or radio power)...
For switch 2 option.... manual- just get a toggle switch..
auto(follow glove box door), then get a micro switch with lever.
or get a magnetic switch..like those use for house alarm.. this is easier to do
setting and aligment ....

So whatever method you choose... go with led light, power savings and it is low current , so mini switch will be ok.

Tq

---------- Post added at 09:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Or another option... buy the RM10 led torch light (9 led type -made in china) and fix with a clip holder inside the glove box....
1. open glove box- press button- lite up
2. when emergency, need light- remove from clip and use as normal torchlite..
THIS THE BEST...:biggrin:

hi, agree with etech, best to have the light wired to where you have the coin compartment light, just tap from there and put a simple toggle switch so it doesnt distract u at night when ur driving

:top::top:Thanks a lot for the replies... anyway, another question, which wire from the aircon console should i tap if i want the bulb to follow the aircon control panel lights?

easiest would be the light for the coin tray...
im posting a help page asking sifus on how to remove the middle panel and the cluster lets hope we get some advice

hmm... my car dun have coin compartment wor... :rolleyes: any other wire i could tap on?! my car is vios fl06 btw... Thanks...

@Vyraz11
I like the idea too, would be cool to have a lighted glove box. I think my wiring would be a micro-switch, so it lights up when the glove box is opened, and switches off when its closed.

hey bro... i get wat ur saying.. so its like auto rite?
so u just need to buy those little preassure switches where its "always on" setting so when u close the box, it presses on the switch... dont buy the wrong one, coz there is one that is "always off" too, so when u press then it turns the light on pulak... will try to find a pic of that... easy to find in electronic shops

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

here is the switch im talking about

http://www.e-switch.com/Portals/0/aspdnsf/images/Product/medium/91.jpg

yup, exactly... I'll take some pics when I'm done... right now a little busy with work :)

yea.. sadly me too.. waiting to do my cluster meter panel... wanna change bulb color

hmm... my car dun have coin compartment wor... :rolleyes: any other wire i could tap on?! my car is vios fl06 btw... Thanks...

Bro...
What about radio or ciggerette lighter for the power?

Write your reply...