3.0L to 2.5L advice and comment needed

how2drive, can take a pic of ur existing blackened meter?

sorry, wont be heading to the workshop anytime soon... but i have taken the picture of the similar meter from another website. Hope that is ok with u :)

• 1234153081.jpg
    1234153081.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 212
To my understanding, there is wiring works that needs to be done in order to get the entire black meter to function. Not too sure on the details. The black meter was actually on my existing car but planning to take it out and install the meter that came with the half cut.

ur existing car? u hv 2 cefiro?

seizai, no la one cefiro only... i had the meter on the car when i bought it and now planning to sell the black meter and replace with the meter that came in the half cut.

oh.. ex owner mod oledi

black meter only avail on 2.5 touring

How2drive, the meter looks exactly the same as my existing one other than the darkened plastic. Can u elaborate more on how it'll "lights up when insert key"? Is it immediately after key insert the whole meter lights up? Or is it just the odo lights up?

seizai, yea ex owner modded it :) quite cool la the digital part haha.

Ctk: its all black, once u turn on your key to acc.... it lights up all the gauges and also the odo. Good example i can think of now is myvi, similar method.

Bro...

I would say rebuild your engine if you love it. If you swap with 2.5L, it is a 2nd hand unit too right? And those symptoms might just pop up again as those problems are usual on an old, used engine. Go rebuild the 3.0L and you at least have a warranty from the shop.

i checked for costs rebuilding the engine, it's way too higher than a half cut. Maybe mine was too terrible to rebuild, cos my radiator pipes corroded, engine leaking like hell, brake pump problems, drive shaft and steering rack problems, etc.

So, it depends on how terrible is your existing engine's condition, and what major parts that u want to replace

i checked for costs rebuilding the engine, it's way too higher than a half cut. Maybe mine was too terrible to rebuild, cos my radiator pipes corroded, engine leaking like hell, brake pump problems, drive shaft and steering rack problems, etc.

So, it depends on how terrible is your existing engine's condition, and what major parts that u want to replace

Hmm...Sounds like your is in really bad condition. Where did you get the price? Maybe shop for somewhere cheaper? Maybe source some good condition 2nd hand parts to rebuild?

Looks like it's too late to take your advice veloc, my 3.0 is already sitting on the floor haha. Anyway, looks like i have to take the chances with the used 2.5 for now

you still have to change all the oil seals for the 1/2 cut engine. include the valve cover gasket. Take my advice, all the dam seals change it, else you faced oil leak like i do now, because i skip one things. i.e. valve cover gasket.

thanks for the advice weikee :) Plan to change it too... halfcut being halfcut, is still a used engine with 100km on the clock. So far, i have gotten all seals, top gaskets, hoses, water pump, valve seals and all the belt replaced before installing the engine in.

Fuel wise, you won't save much, even higher for highway driving, city driving are similar.

:hmmmm:... how come my VQ25 behaves just the opposite of urs? Mine highway drive similar to VQ30, but city drive FC about 10% to 20% higher

ctk, i don't understand what you mean? 2.5 fc is higher for you or better?

mine is 3L, i did not change to 2.5, but instead put in a JDM 3L.

opps.. weikee, i thought u r on VQ25...

for me, my VQ25 highway FC is similar to VQ30, but come to city drive VQ25 FC if worse than VQ30. maybe bcos of the weight the smaller engine has to carry.

how much did you spend on modding everything? Once its done can you feed us back on the FC on city drive for VQ2.5 vs VQ3.0

will let you know on the cost once my car is done.. for now the given estimates are around rm6,000. As for the mileage, will definitely monitor on the differences and update in here. But for now, u can gauge the FC from all the sifus in here.

opps.. weikee, i thought u r on VQ25...

for me, my VQ25 highway FC is similar to VQ30, but come to city drive VQ25 FC if worse than VQ30. maybe bcos of the weight the smaller engine has to carry.

is the torque and g.ratio that make the fc difference.