Need Some Adv from A32 3.0 to 2.5

Skyfiro A32

Hi all sifu-sifu,

I'm planing to downgrade my 3.0L cefy to a 2.5L engine to save some roadtax and fc.

I'm wondering,does it better to change with 2.5 (A) gear box and the ecu r just need to change the engine is oso ok?

My fren was giving me a price of RM1.5 w/o workmanship to trade in my 3.0 to get his 2.5
but not sure with g/box and ecu or not.is the price reasonable?
and how much it will cost for workmanship to transfer the engine and puspakom?

Hi all sifu-sifu,

I'm planing to downgrade my 3.0L cefy to a 2.5L engine to save some roadtax and fc.

I'm wondering,does it better to change with 2.5 (A) gear box and the ecu r just need to change the engine is oso ok?

My fren was giving me a price of RM1.5 w/o workmanship to trade in my 3.0 to get his 2.5
but not sure with g/box and ecu or not.is the price reasonable?
and how much it will cost for workmanship to transfer the engine and puspakom?

bro, did mine few years back n its best to convert from a halfcut instead of just engine bcoz 2.5 n 3.0 its not totally identical in terms of electronic and wiring. even the gear ratio is difference.
few of my friends encounter probs after changing the engine only to 2.5...u might wanna consider this.

btw, 3.0 engine has more value comparing to 2.5. ur friend should top u, not u...
2.5 halfcut should b ard rm3k+ and another rm2k for installation and parts + oil change. puspakom inspection only cost u rm40 + 1 day off. don't have to ask runner to do it. its very easy n simple procedure.

IMHO, if u r planning to drive the Cefiro for another 5 yrs or more, then go for it. if not, don't bother coz the money u save on the roadtax will not able to cover the money u spent on the transplant.

2.5L roadtax is about RM 900, 3L is 2.1k

you saved 1.2k, if you drive for 5 years, it will be 6k saving.

If you buy 1/2 cut it will be around 4k+-, conversion is 2k, other oil and parts make it 1k, so is about 7k. So you need to make sure you drive the car for 5 years, or your current 3L engine is having some major problem. ROI is 6 years.

Like Ong mention, better get with the 1/2 cut cause gear are match correctly. some 2.5L also come with nice interior, and LSD g.box.

My cousin did everything from halfcut, transplant , JPJ for only rm4.5K for his car. That was few years back.

Write your reply...