rollakid said:then how you suggest we kill a rat? considering preventing them from coming to your house or other place(like my mom's school out of town) is 100% imposible.
I can't answer for everyone neither am I in a position to tell people what to do. As I said though, I personally drive out and release him in a field or something. Prevention? Hmmm... I don't know, get a cat? erm... Don't they have like mothballs for rats or something? Not exactly my area of expertise ler.
rollakid said:no offence, but i do belive "the strong lives and the weak dies" and thats my idea of how mother nature works, either in nature or in human society. It doesn't have to be life and death, it could be something as simple as a person coudn't get a certain job because his education level is lower than others who apply for the same job. And thats the very reason we strive to become stronger/smarter/more technologically advance, no?
I totally agree but it's in the manner we get a job for example, that defines who we are. I could sleep with the interviewer, threaten his life, bribe him, etc or I could earn the job ethically and honestly. Like you I firmly believe that life is about survival of the fittest. Going back to my example on food, we need livestock to survive (unless you become a vegetarian lah). It's the circle of life, it is as nature intended (so to speak anyway). However it doesn't mean I should hang a cow by it's testicles while skinning him alive or whatever. We should at least practice some compassion and give it a quick death.
rollakid said:or maybe you guys just doesn't experienced someone related to you died after being infected by whatever sickness the rat is carrying.
I honestly haven't and I feel sorry for anyone who has, really. I'm pretty sure that if I were in that position, I would want to run the rat over with a steamroller. Because I'm not in that position though, I can probably provide a more objective opinion than someone in a bad emotional state can. Let's take snakes for example. If someone were walking about in the jungle, stood on the snake and got bit, who do we blame? The snake for being there and bitting the dude after being trampled on? Or the dude for encroaching on the snakes home? Again, this is an objective answer and is not mean to offend anyone who has lost loved ones to disease spread by animals of any sort.
rollakid said:dun get me wrong, i'm not saying that we should be cruel to survive, there are alternatives, but not to everything. I do feel bad of what i did, but sometime you just don't have a choice.
True, there are situations that leave us no choice. I'm no angel myself lah and there are things I've done before that I feel sorry about. It's important for us not to repeat them then.