Negligence

Duke Red

I was thinking about posting this in the car crimes section, but as it had nothing to do with cars, I decided to post here. This is to remind us how important it is to not be complacent.

Like most office door, mine is operated electronically where you need a tag to come in. If you are inside the office and the door rings, we simple have to key in a combination on our respective phones to open it for that person. As the doorbell activates the intercom, the normal routine would be to ask who is at the door before opening it. Then whoever opens the door is to greet the guest(s). Some colleagues however choose to open the door, assuming these guests have sixth sense and can automatically identify who they are looking for even if it is for the first time. This afternoon, 2 laptops were discovered missing from our office and internal studies showed that the doorbell did ring and someone did open the door. There were only 4 people in the office at the time as the rest of us were out for lunch. Up until now, no one has confessed despite us telling them that we will eventually find out who the culprit is. One the laptops belongs to a colleague of mine and cost her 7K. The other contains vital company information. We've sat everyone down in the room (including the 4) and explained that the culprit should come forward so he/she can at least tell us who was at the door. They would have at least informed us of where they are from, or what they were here to do. From that we can call up the respective companies and find out which employees were sent to our office. Too bad no one is confessing.

I guess the intent of my post is to remind us to be careful and responsible. What if it had been some deranged mass murderer?

totally defeated the purpose of spending tens of thousands for a security door...but of course,people still make mistakes(or done on purpose i dont know)...any cctv's? after awhile,its back to the ol' routine of opening the door without asking who's at the door...ignorance?

No cctv ler. It's not so much the technology that is at fault, it's the attitude of people that pisses me off. I've sent emails time and time again, reminding people to check because I've seen strangers wandering through the office looking for the people they are to meet. This time the strangers saw no one around and took the first things they saw. Actually it's not the first time this has happened in my office block. I've heard items being stolen from neighbouring offices.

does your security system track entry and exit? if yes, you would know who was the last who activated it.

Talking about thiefing in offices, my office in brem tower, kelana jaya was 'raided' by 3 indian guys claiming to be selling posters.. they came in by the side door instead of the main door during lunch hours.. sadly one colleague opened the door for them, 2 came over pushing posters into her face while another went into manager rooms on the pretext of looking for ppl to sell.. needless to say, after the whole show, 3 managers lost their notebooks..

this is a common sight of problem.

look on the other side. if u are able to buy a notebook/laptop worth RM7000. or the cheapest of RM2000.

have u ever tot of buying those security lock chain? its cheap. and it works. flawlessly without any fail.

ive work b4 with naza kg baru,hq. mostly all the offices in all levels/floors. always got walk in people. even makcik cleaner oso will come. what i can say.. all the notebooks are attach to the security lock chain to their workstation. ive not yet heard notebooks had been stolen.

as same now im working with IBM. the same thing does not happen. y? security lock chain. attach to the notebook n ur workstation

i will cut my fingers,if anyone here try put the security lock chain,but their notebook is gone.

hid3 said:
does your security system track entry and exit? if yes, you would know who was the last who activated it.

Talking about thiefing in offices, my office in brem tower, kelana jaya was 'raided' by 3 indian guys claiming to be selling posters.. they came in by the side door instead of the main door during lunch hours.. sadly one colleague opened the door for them, 2 came over pushing posters into her face while another went into manager rooms on the pretext of looking for ppl to sell.. needless to say, after the whole show, 3 managers lost their notebooks..

Yes we have determined the mode of entry and the time of entry. What we cannot determine is which terminal was used to open the door.

I work in Kelana Square man, must be on our toes for suspicious looking people. Just 2 days ago, my collegue told us she saw a red proton wira with 3 suspicious looking men in it, driving around the carpark. Fortunately the security guard was there monitoring their activity. They are extra sharp now lah because there have been a couple of vehicle thefts here, from what I hear anyway.

mrbear said:
this is a common sight of problem.

look on the other side. if u are able to buy a notebook/laptop worth RM7000. or the cheapest of RM2000.

have u ever tot of buying those security lock chain? its cheap. and it works. flawlessly without any fail.

ive work b4 with naza kg baru,hq. mostly all the offices in all levels/floors. always got walk in people. even makcik cleaner oso will come. what i can say.. all the notebooks are attach to the security lock chain to their workstation. ive not yet heard notebooks had been stolen.

as same now im working with IBM. the same thing does not happen. y? security lock chain. attach to the notebook n ur workstation

i will cut my fingers,if anyone here try put the security lock chain,but their notebook is gone.

I understand where you're coming from but it will be a really sad day when we have to resort to this method. We are a small office and if everyone did as they were told, none of this would have happened. We like to think that as adults, we are more responsible. Not the case in this instance though. Like I said, it's really down to the mentality of people.

zephyr3d said:
dont take things for granted.... install cctv. Need such solution for your office? PM me. ;)

haha ok mate. will wait for my boss to get back from overseas before deciding on the next course of action.

somtimes i agree that. like dont care. put ur expensive valueables stuffs on table. then go out for lunch. toilet break. or etc etc. most of the things is like "car keys,wallets,handbags,moneys,handphone(most fav),etc etc that u can imagine"

then if hilang.. will blame other people. the hard/worst thing is. "we" ourself kena rite?

usually robbers will seek for small2 office.. small2 business as they got lots of expensive/valueables than big office. seriously.

i agreed with the metallity of people nowdays.

Ignorance has a price to pay, from little amounts up to live taking amounts. Common problems with ignorance is...

1) open the door and let people tail gate in
2) Just open the door and leave the guest/robber/thief/other staff/Prime Minister/Sultan/Shrek/Gandalf/Neo/Golem/etc. to bum around the office looking for the person they came for, or looking for the things they hope to take/steal.

But all in all, it boils down to the people's attitude. It's just so simple. Just ask the unidentified guest who he/she is looking for.

Another alternative is to have a guest area with meeting rooms. Whatever facilities that is needed should also be provided ALL ONLY in the guest area. Guest are ONLY allowed in the guest area. Access to anywhere else beyond the guest area are entirely restricted. This means that there MUST be a washroom that is made accessible to the guest that is OUT of the office area. This way, guests will be totally isolated from the office areas.
Of course, other exceptions would be to allow REAL people to enter the office area, like auditors (I call `em busybody donkeys), etc.

Better be safe than sound. An office is still a public place, with people walking around. Can you trust everybody? Never leave valuable belongings lying around. For your notebook computers, I concur with Mr Bear, lock them up. It isn't too hard and it offers you some peace of mind. Data is more important than anything.

si|verfish said:
Better be safe than sound. An office is still a public place, with people walking around. Can you trust everybody? Never leave valuable belongings lying around. For your notebook computers, I concur with Mr Bear, lock them up. It isn't too hard and it offers you some peace of mind. Data is more important than anything.

Trust nobody. People are evil these days. :cool:

si|verfish said:

This is very true. You will never know when u need to use all the data in your laptop, it might cost millions for some big shot of public listen company. Its better be safe than lazy to take extra precautious to look after our valuable stuff. Its just a few simple step but some people just too lazy and take things for granted,which eventually will affect everybody and the company.:regular_smile:

Laptop stolens aside, but why is it so difficult for any of the 4 person to own up to a very honest mistake. Among those 4, they're all covering each others asses. I'm sure at least one of them knows who's the person who open the door.

Lets face it, everyone makes mistake. I'm sure the person who open the door didn't have the intention to let in a thief or get his/her colleague's laptop stolen but its just a slip of mind that he/her carelessly forgotten about normal security protocol to let in a thief. So, now that 2 laptops are stolen, the person who opened the door should just own up to a mistake. I'm sure your boss won't force the person to buy back a laptop to replace the missing one. The company should buy back the laptops.

i had a few cases in my office. Stolen or misplaced. All solved by reviewing the CCTV record. now we even install IP CCTV at all places, including staircase.

Though i realised its a big sum to install this thing, it will help us to prevent unnecessary loss which may be bigger and countinously...

Write your reply...