cheap-a$s acs45.1 mod

beggarmaster2000

Sep 9, 2009
un stuff to do over your weekend =)
i did this mod because i cannot afford the expensive capacitors and opapms
nobody taught me how to =) just do it at own risk but it was fun!

counterstrike sound in car?

ok i salvaged enough elnas and panasonics from old car cassette head units donated, stolen and discarded. =)
but the parts too small so i soldered them on the trace side directly, observe the polarity or smokes i guess
then i took out the ac to dc converter, bypassed the transformer and plonked in a (i kena conned)fake rubycon i bought from pasar road but still better than stock jamicon,samcon,capxon and some gluxon.

leave the transformer inside the box for heavier more non vibrate

no need to change the opamps 4558 because so noisy in car you'll not hear the mini details
straight away put into ciggarette lighter thingy WITH fuse =) observe polarity!!

the volume control fits snugly in my crappy car! i used glue sticks to seal the satellites
card board box is to shield the sats from hot sun, later melt or crispy!

WARNING!! altec trace (the pcb underside lineslines thingy for you noobs) is very very easily come off
1# you might want to use a testpen to push the original components legs straight first (while applying solder iron) 2# then suck suck the solder and GENTLY pluck the stuff out
3# if it comes off its ok, just hot wire to destination =)

hmmn if your woofer poked by itchy fingers... you can do this repair.... GENTLY =)
Attached Image
damages :
RM30 for acs45.1
RM40 for capacitors and misc

verdict:
i tested it in my car. and HEY! it works on the first go!
if you on max volume also you will not get deaf the power of it is just nice. sounds so like the blaupunkt cassette head unit that i stole the parts from. haha of course sounds SO MUCH MORE clearer and better than the stock ones
at least you can laugh at the others who spend so much money and on loud loud until outside people also can hear.

please refer for earlier mods http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1484676

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
nice to see you being productive doing this than dl-ing porn the whole day before...

kennyyeoh

Sep 11, 2008
wow i admire your creativity, reminds me of the days with my first car.. well i meant those days when i had to run a whole Sony Midi Hifi - inclusive of the player itself in the boot. it was my boombox then, today things are so much different but one thing still remain.. DIY is still in my blood.....Out of all seriousness, i truly respect you for making the best with what you have. Kudos!

How to save your oxidized Head Lamp

oxidized Head Lamp affect Millions of vehicles. majority of these aging is caused by the heat generated from the projection inside and exposed to the harsh environment like sun + improper wash making it worse in Malaysia, eg foam used! what we usually seeat the road side carwash, where one single foam used to clean entire car.....! wrong solvent use....degreaser ..+..FAB washing powder....+ strength = DAMAGE slowly after over time...