Carburetor Section

Lord said:
hey guys im driving a sunny 130y as u all know its a carb...belive it or not 10 bugs petrol can only go max 50km...+ this is only when im driving wit a light foot

mods that i have done:
straight flow
open pod
grounding
spark plug cable

others all remain stock....i feel that the consumtion is just too blady high...
anybody plz care to advise...need some opinion...why the consumtion is so high....or is it normal for the mods that i have done

thx

man that is super high

when u mention u r running on straight flow do u have a muffler?

cookie

yea bro i have one...4-2-1, 1 center bullet, 1 mufler....and its a 2 inche paip...is dat the issue? the 2 inche pipe?...but im also using open pod and its a shimota filter..still waiting for my k&n....maybe its the shimota is it?

Lord said:
cookie

yea bro i have one...4-2-1, 1 center bullet, 1 mufler....and its a 2 inche paip...is dat the issue? the 2 inche pipe?...but im also using open pod and its a shimota filter..still waiting for my k&n....maybe its the shimota is it?

sounds to me u need to retune your carb as I got the same exhuast setup before re-tune :secruity: :thumpdown after retune my carb and clean it & change better plugs :dancing2:

I have a very noob question. Currently my car is fuel injected 1.6. I already modded my cams and head + full exhaust system.

Was wondering if i can change from injection to carbureted? Damn costly? Or plain out impossible?

Sifuz help la k

Thing is even with carb, i can retain my cams and all that stuff.
My car is plotong 1.6 la. Injection has limited potential. Engine swapping is just out of the question.

Blowfish said:
Thing is even with carb, i can retain my cams and all that stuff.
My car is plotong 1.6 la. Injection has limited potential. Engine swapping is just out of the question.

can be done, just take out ur ecu and all those electric stuffs then change ur intake manifold to those 93p (single cam 1.8's) carby one's...

u have to measure da intake manifold first b4 goin to choose wat engine (intake manifold) dat can fit into urs , there is a couple of intakes that u can choose...4g91 carb intake manifold, 4g15 carb intake manifold or a 93p carb intake manifold.

Lord said:
cookie

erm, 2" for a 1.3 engine is kinda huge and if you are using those piping that goes under the petrol tank, most lightly, your car petrol consumption would be very high even with a light foot as there isnt any backpressure build up during driving. my suggestions are...

1) follow the original route of the exhaust piping

2) if the original route is kinda straight, you might wanna make a "Z" piping thing to create some backpressure.

3) clean/change your filters(petrol and air)

4) clean your carb

well, thats just come i can think of right now. i hope it helps. :D

gavan,
thx bro...the mufler alone is not enuf for the back pressure? actually i used to use s-flow but i felt no power at all...with straight flow at least bit more pick up la tats wat i fell...correct me if im wrong...i guess i need to do more research bout this la...will take ur advise thx bro

aikz, not HC-E lar bro, its HC-C larr...carbie leh...no EFI.... :P

errr, actually, the muffler plays abit of an important role, butthen the piping plays a bigger part as its flowing your exhaust gasses all the way from the engine towards the rear, so a huge piping with a huge muffler will make the car suffer too, unless of course you are using stock muffler, then might give you more back pressure ;)

btw, just learned today that your extractors cant be too big, as i wanted to custom an extractor using 1.7 inch piping but the exhaust shop fella recommended not to as it will make the petrol consumption will go up and might also make your car loose some power, so im gonna mantained my 1.5 inch extractor pipings....so i guess thats my cars max power for now, till i get more engine upgrades :P

wanna ask you guys since i started modding my motor....

my current engine bay is like the pic below, the pantyhose filter temporary till i get a stainless steel cone unit. how do i tune my carb (4G13) for a lower idle rpm? currently @ 1.1k...stock is 800rpm idle... i heard that can tune carbies using philips screwdriver only, wanna try lah :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v605/k3v2/DSC00068.jpg

furthermore, nowadays my engine seems to misfire a few times after i switch it off, and tuning it on again is a hassle (no more petrol left in head) andy causes of the problem? i changed my sparkplug cables but im waiting for my next service interval then only i change the plugs themselves. btw, the rest all stock besides the open pod and engine head air filter..

oh yeah the brown tape at the adaptor inlet? that's for holding 3 magnets :P

aiks me no sif00 la ahahahahaha... :biggrin:

k3kv3 (correct spell kah), :biggrin: ... yes can use screwdrebar to do tuning, reason mis-fire is u are running to rich....

fstrader said:
aiks me no sif00 la ahahahahaha... :biggrin:

k3kv3 (correct spell kah), :biggrin: ... yes can use screwdrebar to do tuning, reason mis-fire is u are running to rich....

still cannot solve the prob k3kv3 (correct spell kah), :biggrin:bring it to our sif00 uncle fred to tune for u :aetsch:

cookie said:
sounds to me u need to retune your carb as I got the same exhuast setup before re-tune :secruity: :thumpdown after retune my carb and clean it & change better plugs :dancing2:

cookie,
well maybe la looks like have to go and clean the carb and retune it..

gavan,
the guy who did the exhaust said 2" paip for 1.5 and below..i'v even seen kenari with 2" and dats oni 1.0 so i thought it shud be ok la..but the muffler im using kinda differ from others it has a side outlet to keep air in it...u know wat muffler im talking about..if u know or anywan else who know care to advise on it..