Carburetor Section

fstrader said:
electronic fuel pump depends on yer carb, mainly weber or other performance carbs need em' but not on a oem carb, it sucks big time during high revs as too much petrol is goin in..

agree :_:

gavan said:
aikz, so use the external fuel pump good ornot good ar??

external fuel pump does not depend on your engine to operate so it mean u are saving like 0.5hp from your engine.but it does dry your battery a bit.there are fuel pump that stop and spin.it mean it only operate when there is demand.this type usually mahal la.i am using a dual barrel carb.there is primary barrel which operate from engine is started and the secondary barrel only comes in after i reached 2600rpm.What i did is i change the jet for secondary barrel by increasing the value by 6 from what that is stamp on the original jet.then i polish to mirror shine the throat and airways of the carb for better air flow.this including the inlet manifold.i eliminate the base plate for the carb to shorthened the distant of air travel to increase throtle respond.originally there is a lot of vacuum hoses coming from the carb which i dont use anymore except for aircond FICD.it is a valve which control engine idling when aircond is on.i install a extenal fuel pump from w124 merc and i use ignition coil from a w123 230e merc for better sparks.What i get is good fc in normal driving and sharper respond whenever i need it.

owh, i see, so means its a good investment, so alright, thanks a bunch. it helps alot :happy: means now i dun think i awnna upgrade my engine first lar, since its working fine still, oni my FC problematic lar, dunno why engine so much problem lar noww, FC giler high, so erm, its time for a carbie tune-up :D

haha
old skool freak....you see master fstrader's avatar also know how good he is....
legend of mt akina wor !
:_:

merzlimo77 said:
external fuel pump does not depend on your engine to operate so it mean u are saving like 0.5hp from your engine.but it does dry your battery a bit.there are fuel pump that stop and spin.it mean it only operate when there is demand.this type usually mahal la.i am using a dual barrel carb.there is primary barrel which operate from engine is started and the secondary barrel only comes in after i reached 2600rpm.What i did is i change the jet for secondary barrel by increasing the value by 6 from what that is stamp on the original jet.then i polish to mirror shine the throat and airways of the carb for better air flow.this including the inlet manifold.i eliminate the base plate for the carb to shorthened the distant of air travel to increase throtle respond.originally there is a lot of vacuum hoses coming from the carb which i dont use anymore except for aircond FICD.it is a valve which control engine idling when aircond is on.i install a extenal fuel pump from w124 merc and i use ignition coil from a w123 230e merc for better sparks.What i get is good fc in normal driving and sharper respond whenever i need it.
bro..wat type brand of DB carb u using?Mikuni..aisan?etc?secondary operates by vacuum or mechanical?

im also DB carb user...except mine is secondary vacuum operates modified to mechanical....:shades_smile:

hi sifus here, just wanna ask
say i wanna tune my carb to run with leaner A/F(my car drinks petrol like no tomorrow, eventhough its just an 1.5) i will lose top end power right?
someone said i will trade top end power for lower end torque

for city driving, imo i need more lower end torque so i dont need to change gear so often :P and also i dont run fast, normally only 100-130 depends on road o.O

kinki_kidz® said:
hi sifus here, just wanna ask
say i wanna tune my carb to run with leaner A/F(my car drinks petrol like no tomorrow, eventhough its just an 1.5) i will lose top end power right?
someone said i will trade top end power for lower end torque

for city driving, imo i need more lower end torque so i dont need to change gear so often :P and also i dont run fast, normally only 100-130 depends on road o.O

well tuning lean will coz ur engine to be overheated at times due to lack of fuel aka ur engine is burning air! :X-:

but IMO my carb is running too rich already
70% highway and 30% town driving
how can a 1.5litre car gives around 8-9km/litre? *sweat* :(
this sounds pretty ridiculous isnt it?

kinki_kidz® said:
but IMO my carb is running too rich already
70% highway and 30% town driving
how can a 1.5litre car gives around 8-9km/litre? *sweat* :(
this sounds pretty ridiculous isnt it?

I don't know abt the rich tuning as 1.5L car u need kinda a lot of fuel to run the fellow :X-:

may be u can upgrade ur coils to higher performance coils like Bosch :_:

which coil u mean o.O
sorry wasnt quite clear about the basics of carb

thanks cookie for the info anyways

Darth said:
bro..wat type brand of DB carb u using?Mikuni..aisan?etc?secondary operates by vacuum or mechanical?

im also DB carb user...except mine is secondary vacuum operates modified to mechanical....:shades_smile:

Mikuni?Aisan?nolah..all that carb is good for 1.5> engine.mine is vacuum operate carb.usually found in nissan vannette engine.i dont see any point in having too much power.all i need is just enought power for exiting corners and good throttle feel.its my daily runner car la bro.An old skool Datsun 120y wit standard 1.2liter engine.:embaressed_smile:

merzlimo77 said:
Mikuni?Aisan?nolah..all that carb is good for 1.5> engine.mine is vacuum operate carb.usually found in nissan vannette engine.i dont see any point in having too much power.all i need is just enought power for exiting corners and good throttle feel.its my daily runner car la bro.An old skool Datsun 120y wit standard 1.2liter engine.:embaressed_smile:

Hitachi carb from Vannette engine man super good wor......... :_:

how did u install the external fuel pump which model & brand share some secret here so I can also learn from sif0000 like u as my Toyota engine need upgrade too hehe :regular_smile:

cookie said:
Hitachi carb from Vannette engine man super good wor......... :_:

how did u install the external fuel pump which model & brand share some secret here so I can also learn from sif0000 like u as my Toyota engine need upgrade too hehe :regular_smile:

no secret la bro...i use w124 fuel pump,that is minus the filter.i use w123 ignition coil because the primary coil is lesser than any ignition coil.but now susah to get la.i suggest u use ignition coil from lucas or bosch.around rm50 only new.since u use toyota,there's a lot carb repair kit u can choose from.toyota jetting is always bigger and carb is always tahan lasak one bro.this toyotas is made to last bro.lastly bro..i'm not a sifoo,just an average guy la.embarrass me la to be called sifoo.sekolah pun tak habis la bro.