Bought an evo...but worrying....

DIY to change engine oil and filter is not that hard, especially if you have some hydraulic jack or even better, elevated ramp. The harder part is disposing the used oil. :shades_smile:

But then workshops normally charge 20-30 bucks for workmanship to change oil.

Nicknick,

If you doubt the mileage on that car, maybe it's a good idea to check/change all the gearbox, diff and AYC oil as well. These are part of maintenance, saves you a lot of trouble and $$$ in the long run. No point spending your hard earned $$$ to mod while your engine, gearbox and diff are running on dirty oil.

Since you alrdy paid deposit, then maybe its too late to bring an Evo owner to help you go check the car. We all hope the car is in perfect condition though.

Now, don't be stingy on tyres, that's the most important thing of all, the point of contact between your new car and the road. My advise is to keep the 18"s and buy some decent tyres like Toyo T1R or F1 GSD3 which are cheaper than Yoko AD07 but of quite good quality. If it's true the rims are TE37, then you are lucky, provided they are genuine la. They are not cheap!

Hope you enjoy your ride and like some have mentioned, do not modify it.....or at least do not modify yet. Invest your $$$ on maintenance to make sure your car is healthy and also to install good alarm system. IIRC, Captor cost circa 3k.

Good luck

DDgreystar,

Yo bro, could u kindly provide nicknick de exact location or address of de Trial Garage??? I dun hv William's name card la... LoLzzzzzzzzz... so dunno how to tell nicknick!!! Pai Seh!!!

Wah!!! TE37 ah? Somemore 18"?!! Wah lan eh... If its a real 1, it wil cost RM8k++ for a new set!!!

William is a good guy with a good tuner at his workshop.
Moreover, pricing for evo parts aso quite cheap compared other place.
Call him if you need anything from him...
here's the contact : 012-2139861

:regular_smile:

Nicknick,
Congrat for getting your Evo8, saw that car fews days ago near bukit bintang area, black colour with no. 23. nice!:shades_smile:

If u have the tools & every things, i is good that you DIY for the oil change. If we DIY, we can do it before the car get started, so all the oil will accumulate at the oil pan, when we drain it out, we can drain out most of the used oil from engine. Last time i also used to DIY, but now changed car, the filter is smaller, dont have the right tools to open oil filter, so cannot DIY liao..haha

As for the engine oil, Is better for us to use 50 weight like 5W50, 15W50. If u keen with the Sunoco 17.5W50 (full synthetic & ester base), let me know i have it for sale at good price for MLOC member. :)

Alarm system i think most member have talk to you...& also a good lock can help abit on this as well, as it can delay those fucker to drive away your car...if u have the budget, safety film would be a good combination for the security system. :)

wow, TE37, not cheap leh......18" tyres also not cheap leh..., if u plan to get 2nd hand tyres, i think in zth got 1 guy selling 18" tyres which in quite good condition (forgot the price liao)

nicknick - trust you're in good hands with a recommended garage. Storm9 is very helpful and honest guy, as you can probably deduce. I trust his recommendations..

Now i'm less worry (at least i knoe tips to maintain de baby) coz' i haf u guys being so supportive! :embaressed_smile:

the only thing is to fock out enuf $$$ to service the car n mthly huge installment!:emoticon_U:

things to do:
1st - install alarm n get steering, gear, pedals and wheels lock! hahaha
2nd send for service
3rd - change de tyres
4th - n bank a/c KOYAK:cry_smile:

anyway, some complement is if the rims is genuine i chap to loh n nice no plate too! hehe

Slivia: how much diff Sunoco 17.5W50 compare with others? like Motul?
haf to get the oil filter part no for reference....

thanks!:_:

NickNick,

go get viper, viper alarm is good to invest on .
I know a good shop for the installation .PM me if u need that .

nicknick,

Welcome and congrats !

If you dun mind, why not drive out your baby (when u got it) and join us for a TT round. We would be able to 'hear & see' more and share with you on advice/ideas la.

Nicknick,
The Sunoco 17.5W50 actual market price is about the same with Motul & HKS. It retail in japan at RM240 to RM260 per 4L can. Any 1 know the latest price for motul?
But i'm selling to MLOC member at RM170/4L. I wont say it is best oil in market, but is 1 of the good oil around. With just RM170 u can get full synthetic oil from ester base which equip with good oil property. :_: http://www.sunoco.co.jp/english/product/racing/index.html

U can get the filter at most spare parts shop, tell them u need 4G63 engine oil filter will do, ori mitsubishi filter should be RM22-25 if i'm not worng.

Golfer,

:_: Thx for de complement le... Jus trying to help out new frens, as myself oso once a newbie b4... So i understand how it feel being a worry man n isolated with no fren to help!!! Thx to B18C-R poisoning me la...

nicknick,

Currently am on Slivia Sunoco!!! Much to my amusement, this oil perform better than my previous run on de HKS STR... I cant believe it too... But now de engine is smoother n quiter!!! Eh... Am not trying to sell oil here ya... LoLzzzzzzzzzz.... Jus my personal opinion for reference k!!! :_:

B18C-R: Sure we will meet one day soon. Now still unknown abt my loan approval yet, will call the dealer later.

Slivia: thanks for the quote. Will definitely do my DIY to save me couple of bucks! hehe. I'll contact u if i need the oil.

S9: Abt tis oil, i've done some readings and comments fr u guys in the passed theads.
It is very useful n interesting to read them coz' i would gain more info.

Lucky me that i accidentally found this forum wt all the help fr u guys.! unexpected!

dunno y, if u really need $$ urgently..sure sumthing will happen to spend even more!.
my current car suddently develop "tik tik tik" sound fr the eng compartment. I think some ball bearings spoilt ....sigh....:Not_Impressed:

nick, alarm is a must but more importantly be sensible abt parking your car. better be safe than sorry. these days, alarm system come with pretty effective immobilisers and usually quite effective!

S9 - we've been there and done that.. sharing is good!! in a way, its kinda indirect promotion for the club to let potential and current evo owners know that there is support other than the dealers, which usually wish not to see you after you drive off with the car.

nicknick said:
my current car suddently develop "tik tik tik" sound fr the eng compartment. I think some ball bearings spoilt ....sigh....:Not_Impressed:
Tappets? Those are very common in DOHC Mitsus.

Nicknick, you are welcome. :shades_smile:
DIY is not just save the $, infact not much we can save, i think the labour just RM10+ to change the engine oil. With DIY, we learn more & we can drain out most used oil compare to do it at workshop.:_:

What tick tick sound in your car? what car u driving now? no problem lah...u getting your new car soon mah...haha

It will have lots of unexpected things coming soon:shades_smile: ....out of sudden, u might putih putih put on table by some 1..................................B18C-R hor.

S9, huh, better than HKS STR? sure or not?? dun make me happy untill fly up leh leh..hahaha. If it have the same performance with HKS i'm more than happy liao:regular_smile:

Talking about this oil, B18C-R & Leslie, u guys try it liao?? please let me know the feedback whether is good or not, k?

Can My car try your oil ? with getting others oil to the service Ctr will void Warranty ??

can, why cannot, for your car will recommend Ultra Synthetic 5W40 (Full synthetic). MLOC price at RM150 only....

but i'm not sure can bring the oil to service center to use it or not. Dun think the oil will void he warranty,bcos the oil pass the lates API standard, SM, i think those oil in service center should be still SJ/SL. http://api-ep.api.org/filelibrary/API_MotorOilGuide_2004.pdf#search='API%20sm'
But the service center want to untung, so they might tell u cannot, must use their own oil only.:Not_Impressed:

Slivia & S9,

GNN CCB you two ! Don't spoil my good name.....cheh !

Slivia,

Am currently on Sunoco doing the PFC tuning. I haven't seen my car for the past 2 weeks liao...sob sob. Will let u know the outcome (whether is good or otherwise..hehe) but S9 taiko already says is good ma. Leslie in Penang now, not yet change his engine oil. Will change this weekend.

Golfer,

Well said ! We are all here to help each other and promote our club at the sametime ! hehe...

Prozac,

You're right too ! The bloody Tic Tac Tic Tac sound is the signature of all Mitsu 4G63 engine ! Even after a engine change...no big deal la.

B18C-R, where got spoil your good name & i dont dare to do it also lah, i think i tak takut samurai sword meh. what i'm trying to say is, u putih putih kena put on table..(recently), so u know experience the unexpected thing mah...hahaha....lolzzz

Is good to heard that finally your car running with the sunoco, S9 Taiko is not enuf...must gain the feedback from u & others also mah...lol