Bought an evo...but worrying....

nicknick

Hi all si fu's and si heng's..

I've secured an evo8, '03 with little downpayment. Now submitting for loan (dunno approve or not). Anyway, after reading ZTH forum so far, heard alot of car thief happened around us. Very scary!!!!

Now, since this car is very std without any accessories and security system, I wonder if you guys could be me some advise what brand, cost of alarm system should be installed? I have to take care of my budget also coz' this car has 4 18" botak tyres and no sound system. Moreover, since this is a second hand car, shd i consider do a 100% servicing? Change eng oil, gear oil and others stuffs???? If yes, then sure i can tutup my bank a/c:cry_smile: Meter readings is 11K+..dunno whether it's been tampered or not? dun care larr....

Well, still got somemore questions to ask but need your encouragement/advise 1st so I wont be regretted paying so much $$$ for the car.

cheers,

Yo mate,

Congrates to you. you've bought a 2nd hand unit or unreg ?
Where did you buy ? Alarm err... guess you may consider CobraConnex (gsm system), Viper or Clifford. All this alarm system are consider branded but they have thier lower range.

As for tyre, hehehee i also kena like you. All botaks ! What color you're taking ?

I like e8 man !!!

:regular_smile:

nicknick,

Hi there!!! 1st of all welcome u to de forum!!! :_: As for de alarm parts, do ask DDgreystar, Slivia, B18C-R or leslie for advise... As for ur servicing, i'll advise u to do it after u claim de car out!!! Change engine oil n send de car for checking especially on de AYC n ACD part! A good Engine oil change wil cost u ard Rm250!!!

18" botak tyres ah... Ini susah le... a good tyres such as Yoko AD07 wil cost ard RM 700-800 each!!! Can try Toyo T1R... Cheaper with good review too...

But de plus point is - once u r on Evo u wil never wanna to go to other cars!!! LoLzzzz... Hv u test drive de car yet??? What do u think abt de power? Got addicted??? Dont worry, Evos r very reliable car provided tht u dun simply mod it!!! :_:

Once u get ur car, do let us know yeah!!! Hope to see u during our TT (meet up)!!!

Cheers!!!

just a suggestion on tyre, y dun sell ofo the 18'inch rim and get back the ori E8 rims? 17' tyre cheaper abit ....hehehe....

nicknick,
you bought the black colour e8 Wxx23 ar ?? with 18" te 37, arc airbox,tein..... heheheee

soundstream,
wei.. you really like e8 meh?? we swap la the bumper .. heehee

nicknick, buying a secondhand evo is like buying any other secondhand car. Servicing is not mandatory but everyone would do it, esp, if you are a car enthusiast. There are a couple of things you must take note of with Evos, stuff like what was mentioned by Stormvolution9. Ideally, you would have these things checked b4 you buy it but since you already paid the deposit, you will have to get it checked after you buy it. Simply having the car tested by an Evo owner will give you a basic feel of whether the car shoudl be performing as it should. Of course, you will not be able to detect anything significantly more than the "feel" of the car just by driving it. Engine oil, filter (oil), oils for AYC, ACD, transmission and brake pads etc etc, these are standard items you would want to consider changing. The Evo is a pretty reliable car and if there were no major problems with the car, it should be a worry free vehhicle for you..... unless, you start to modify the thing. Even then, it should not give you any headaches because the aftermarket parts for the Evo is extremely mature, especially for Evo 7 and 8s.

Tyres, well if botak, means botak, no 2 ways around it no matter what car you drive.

Pls feel free to ask more questions, afterall, this is where you should be asking them ...

Best of luck with the loan application.

Tyres botak? 11,000km? Doesn't sound right, unless it's been trashed very often. Nowadays resetting the tripmeter can be done by anyone, so it's better to ask for full service records and check if the dates make any sense.

prozac said:
Tyres botak? 11,000km? Doesn't sound right, unless it's been trashed very often. Nowadays resetting the tripmeter can be done by anyone, so it's better to ask for full service records and check if the dates make any sense.

maybe the previous owner brought the used rim and tyre from shop

Stopid9: how come you knoe? unless u were there when i confirmed the car....tell larr if u know anything abt the car history?

Soundstream:Where is the best place to install the alarm/sound sys? good workmanship n trustworthy. Security is my main concern. Now haf to think how to improve my hse security summore...sigh..$$ again!

cyilaw: original rims dunno can get back or not..doubted..

Golfer: million thx 4 ur advise. kindly suggest where can i bring to check all those stuffs w/o parang my neck?? at lease being recommended by sum1 here to play safe.or roughly a budgetry 4 me? i may do 1 at a time to safe $$.

Being told tat de previous owners swapped de types to his skyline. anyway, his choice larr..

I knew tt by having sum1 know abt evo to test de car b4 buying is important, but dun haf such frens :( jus pray hard tt i've got a good car loh...

hope i can get good advise again n don mind am a bit cheong hei...(long-winded)

cheers.

vroOoOMMMMMMM..............

Yo Nicknick,

I'm not sure in KL man. But as our member mentioned, DDgreystar, Slivia, B18C-R or leslie are good as they're Evo SIFU....do try to ask around man...! :). YA $$ is awiz the main thing to mod evo. after getting your evo, you should come out some spare money to service your car and perform full inspection before mod anything...hehee...:Not_Impressed:

Stopid9,

haha ya initially was looking at e8 but budget not allow to go that far..hahah..infact i saw that e8 black with plate wxx23 also that time when i search for evo in KL..haha if not mistaken that time the car was at err forgotten the road d....if i come from Jalan Pudu after traffic light ,the car dealer shop is at my right hand side...i did ask for the price asking for 200k+ ! wow...2nd aso that expensive ..haha..

swapped ? cool...with ur c/f hood as well ? hehehehe...can y not...haha....

:regular_smile:

as for security reason, so far CAPTOR has made quite an impact in malaysia... got one MLOC members in JB (mistaken_Identity) use this alarm, the good thing of this alarm is that whenever your car has been taken away(by forced) or just when you wash your car at the car wash and the alarm is not been immobilised. 5 minutes CAPTOR HQ will call you to ask whether your car is ok or not.. if you do not reply within 15 minutes they will immobilised your car whether you're driving or not.. if you confirmed with them that your car has been stolen, they will inform the police the current location of your car and if the thief still drive your car within 15 minutes then he might be caught red handed by the police.. but in any chances 90% you might recover back your car.. but this alarm cost a bomb.. i think it's ard 3K-8K.

nicknick,

Yo, its very easy to get a set of ori E7 rims la... No worry... But u said de previous owner swapped de tyres to his skyline?!! This sound a bit strange to me as it doesnt fit le... :_:

S9: well, this was wat the dealer told me. I juz ignored coz anyhow, i still haf to buy the tyres. BTW, how much is the ori E7 rims? izzit 17"? i think buying 4 sets 18"(average tyres) is cheaper then replacing 17" rims plus rubbers...

n where shall i send my car for service inspection? wt good mech n reasonable price? normal workshop might not familiar with evo maintenance...

iezz: heard tat de new protons r equipped wt CAPTORs. r they tat expensive too?

nicknick,

Yep, i think de ori E7 17" rims is going less than 2k... But u can always sell off de 18" too... So with de $$$ u get from de 18" then u go for de 17" + tyres i think u'll stil make some saving!!! :_: Or mayb u can go look for those good condition 2nd 17" rims which sometimes do come together with tyres with cheaper price... This might b ur other alternatives lo...

Ok, as for inspection wise... V hv advised 1 of our new member recently to send his Evo to Trial in Sg Besi for checking!!! They hv pretty good mech (experience in Evos, Scooby n Toyota cars) there with reasonable charges... Cant tell u how much it wil b as it all depends on ur car condition n how long it wil take!!! :_:

For alarm wise, if ok (financially ok) do go for 2 different alarms... A Captor/GSM like alarm + a Cliffort/Viper/Cheetar 2 ways alamr wil b very safe!!! Am doing it now... Thinking of upgrading too... Its worth to invest in good alarm system...

Cheers!!! :_:

u guys r excellent! thks for all the advise.
btw, any comment if i DIY (change) the eng oil and it's filter? i used to do tat long time ago. suggestion on grades of oil ... ?

thx cyilaw. will PM NoToGuy if needed.