hey guys. been reading the whole thread already...learn a lot, and I am serious about the BOT.
I plan to bolt on for my Suzuki Swift 1.5A. I want it to be a daily driver, dun plan to change injectors, just wanna keep things simple. boost 0.4-0.5bar. want it to be fuel efficient before boost, and SPEEDY when boosting.
Just wanna know where can I do a bolt-on at a reasonable price.
I've calculated all the parts required. For a reasonably good unit (self assemble turbokit, by shopping for the parts at different shops, shop for Turbine in Kedai A, shop for blow off at Kedai B), a complete kit should cost around RM5k-6k including e-manage ultimate and enhancement on cooling system.
But whenever I visit those tuners, price will hyke up to RM15k-RM16k.
I see a lot of this Kancil BOT, Kelisa BOT, Campro BOT, MyVi BOT, wonder how come so many people can boost but.......to me, RM15k-RM16k is a bit too much for me. I mean, common sense, those units oni cost RM5k-6k, u mean need RM10k for workmanship?? to me, it's a bit outrageous. Though I understand, it may not be an easy job for the mechanic.
I am looking for a realiable tuner who can perform BOT at the region of RM8k-RM10k. I think my request is not ridicilous. Afterall, I am seriously considering BOT. Money is ready, just dunno let which tuner who can perform this reliably at my asking price.
Bro... ifi u want more power and better fuel efficiency, plunge in a piggyback and send it for tunning.... Getting the correct ignition timing adjustment, U can extract good fuel efficiency. Not necessary bolt on turbo.
But whn u bolt on turbo, there are more things to consider. The concept is no longer like NAs... It doesn't mean more air=more power. It is provided there's sufficient fuel supply. When u boost 0.4 bars, it means there will be another 40% more air going into the combustion chamber. Also means true compression ratio = (1+0.4) x actual CR.
So, changing injectors is necessary. When u want to boost 0.4-0.5 bars, there are not much turbo with 0.4-0.5 bars actuator. So, u might consider an external wastegate, Getting a reliable and not so expensive wastegate(example TIAL) with 0.4bars actuating spring would cost u about 1k.
Also remember, when u bolt on turbo with NA pistons with high compression ratio, the turbo tends to kick in earlier. So, boost can be easily achieved. So, the theory of fuel consumption when not boosting is almost impossible. Then u might think of adding in metal head gasket to reduce the CR.
The reason for BOT is to extract as much power from a stock engine as possible. And u just don;t want ur car to be in the workshop from time to time... U want everything to be perfect in one time. THen u must understand that the overlapping of NA cams and turbo cams are the different. U might consider adjustable cam pulley. The cheapest would be modding the stock pulley...
Then, cost of modding the the oil sump for the return host..? Oil line from the head to turbo. U may need to consider customizing steel braided hose. If the turbo chosen have water and oil cool, then water line taken from the TB/radiator may be necessary to prevent heat soaking on the turbo....
Oil cooler would be something good to have. Then S type exhaust is no longer advisable.
Well, all BOTers here have been through the stages of "i just want to increase the little bit of power. 0.4-0.5 bars is enough". But u'll get bored eventually in short time...
Intercooler in not expensive nowadays. Infinite/AVS/Custom intercoolers are nice and reasonable... But intercooler pipings are not cheap.
When all these cost comes together, custom this custom that... u may save maybe
Most importantly, when u have something goes wrong with the engine, who do you go to..? the foreman...? the tuner..? the turbo retailer..? the wastegate retailer..? The intercoolerpiping installer...?