BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

Anyone mind to tell me what is this BOT's fuss all about ? :D Juz heard this recently ( sorry for being outdated :P ) So i'll appreciate it if someone could help fill me in more about it . Mayb i cud get one for my 4g93p since i can't afford to get 4g93t/vr4 . Thanks in advance .

No problem BOTing 4G93P. All u need are as below if you want ur basic, BOT project.

1) 4G93t turbo kit-TD04, exhaust manifold, turbo downpipe
2) Bigger injectors-390cc or above
3) Metal head gasket 1.5mm/1.8mm for CR reduction if you are using stock piston
4) Piggyback-SAFC/SAFC NEO/E manage/LT-2 etc
5) Intercooler system-GSR IC system.
6) BOV/BIV
7) Boost meter
8) U may need a set of GSR/EVO wiring.

But if you want to go for 0.7bars or above,

then, GSR/TOYOTA pistons are recomended. Cause they are cheaper compare to other aftermarket.

Even bigger injectors.

Anyone mind to tell me what is this BOT's fuss all about ? :D Juz heard this recently ( sorry for being outdated :P ) So i'll appreciate it if someone could help fill me in more about it . Mayb i cud get one for my 4g93p since i can't afford to get 4g93t/vr4 . Thanks in advance .

No problem BOTing 4G93P. All u need are as below if you want ur basic, BOT project.

6) BOV/BIV
7) Boost meter

then, GSR/TOYOTA pistons are recomended. Cause they are cheaper compare to other aftermarket.

Even bigger injectors.

6) BOV/BIV
7) Boost meter

Even bigger injectors.

Firstly , thanks for the prompt reply ;) A few questions , for number 4 , it's for controlling the fuel consumptions rite ? And bcuz u recommend a piggyback SAFC NEO , does that mean i would need a FCD ? And what type of intercooler & BOV wud u recommend ? And if i were to get a GSR piston , how much difference btween 1.5mm n 1.8mm ? Major differences ? 0.7bars is good enuf :D

maybe for the 1st time 0.7 bar ok for u.....but until certain time u will get bored with boost so u will need higher boost......for me i recommend u a e-manage.....anyway happy boosting bro :smokin:

Bump: maybe for the 1st time 0.7 bar ok for u.....but until certain time u will get bored with boost so u will need higher boost......for me i recommend u a e-manage.....anyway happy boosting bro :smokin:

Firstly , thanks for the prompt reply ;) A few questions , for number 4 , it's for controlling the fuel consumptions rite ? And bcuz u recommend a piggyback SAFC NEO , does that mean i would need a FCD ? And what type of intercooler & BOV wud u recommend ? And if i were to get a GSR piston , how much difference btween 1.5mm n 1.8mm ? Major differences ? 0.7bars is good enuf :D

If u're planning to use GSR pistons, then u can stick back to the 1.0mm stock gasket. The main idea of thick metal gasket is to reduce the compression ratio with the lowest cost compare to changing pistons... So, if u are using GSR pistons, then u don;t need a thick metal gasket.

But when u want to upboost in future, then U may also wanna further reduce the CR to compensate the extra boost.

Btw, be extra careful when buying secondhand pistons from traders. I have bad experience on that.

Well, Piggybacks is a way to alter the current ECU mapping to achieve desired A/F ratio based on the modded set up...

Hmm FCD..? Please specify more details...

Regarding Intercooler, the cheapest way to go is GSR stock IC + piping... Lagless and cheap. But if you plan to Up boost in future, then the small IC may be a problem. By then, u may need to change to front mount IC which is widely available in the market with cheap prices like AVS/Infinite/other makes... May require custom piping. But i guess that will come later...

Happy boosting.

maybe for the 1st time 0.7 bar ok for u.....but until certain time u will get bored with boost so u will need higher boost......for me i recommend u a e-manage.....anyway happy boosting bro :smokin:

Bump: maybe for the 1st time 0.7 bar ok for u.....but until certain time u will get bored with boost so u will need higher boost......for me i recommend u a e-manage.....anyway happy boosting bro :smokin:

True , i fully agree . Mayb 1.5bar ? Hahaha...Too monster d . Scared my poor engine xnot handle it . Well 1.0 shud b efficient enuf i guess . Cuz i aint hardcore racer or sumthin .. And you mean e-manage for fuel controlling ?

If u're planning to use GSR pistons, then u can stick back to the 1.0mm stock gasket. The main idea of thick metal gasket is to reduce the compression ratio with the lowest cost compare to changing pistons... So, if u are using GSR pistons, then u don;t need a thick metal gasket.

But when u want to upboost in future, then U may also wanna further reduce the CR to compensate the extra boost.

Btw, be extra careful when buying secondhand pistons from traders. I have bad experience on that.

Well, Piggybacks is a way to alter the current ECU mapping to achieve desired A/F ratio based on the modded set up...

Hmm FCD..? Please specify more details...

Regarding Intercooler, the cheapest way to go is GSR stock IC + piping... Lagless and cheap. But if you plan to Up boost in future, then the small IC may be a problem. By then, u may need to change to front mount IC which is widely available in the market with cheap prices like AVS/Infinite/other makes... May require custom piping. But i guess that will come later...

Happy boosting.

After seeing what you guys are telling me , i guess its best to do it all at one go. Go straight to 1.0bar boost or what you guys recommend ? 1.5 is too monster. 1.0 is good enuf prolly ? And i'm planning to get a bigger IC cuz most prolly gonna boost more thn 0.7bar for sure. And why piping ? I tot the piping gonna abuse the turbine more ? Wastegate is better i thought ? I know its a bit pricey but if its safer , why not waste alil more ? :D

FCD is also new to me . I guess it means Fuel Cut Defender ? I saw someone in forum saying that if you would want to have a piggyback ECU , its better to have a FCD. If standalone ECU , then FCD is no required . Please do elaborate more on this ? Thanks to yall kind ppls !! :D

Bro, u need to know the powerband of your turbo as well, which mean that if the turbo can play your desire character or not..is not like every turbo can boost till your desire bar example 1.5/2.0 or higher..

what did speed2horizon mentioned about the piping is that if u used aftermarket intercooler like infinite,AVS,etc, then u need to customade yourself an intercooler piping because the intercooler length, weight, mount position might be vary from the others..either way, u can get an evo intercooler and also an evo intercooler piping from halfcut and plug and play with it...

wastegate is a different story bro...your turbo is already built-in with an actuator, also called as internal wastegate, therefore if u're tide of budget, don bother to change it UNLESS u need to increase the boost pressure of the turbo..but so far, a td04 do not required any wastegate, mean the internal wastegate will be sufficient enuff for boosting at 1bar or 1.2bar..

For FCD, http://www.teamfc3s.org/info/articles/fcd/diy_fcd.htm

I don't think FCD is a must if u use piggyback ECU wit stock turbo and a slightly increment of boost pressure from the stock boost..

True , i fully agree . Mayb 1.5bar ? Hahaha...Too monster d . Scared my poor engine xnot handle it . Well 1.0 shud b efficient enuf i guess . Cuz i aint hardcore racer or sumthin .. And you mean e-manage for fuel controlling ?

After seeing what you guys are telling me , i guess its best to do it all at one go. Go straight to 1.0bar boost or what you guys recommend ? 1.5 is too monster. 1.0 is good enuf prolly ? And i'm planning to get a bigger IC cuz most prolly gonna boost more thn 0.7bar for sure. And why piping ? I tot the piping gonna abuse the turbine more ? Wastegate is better i thought ? I know its a bit pricey but if its safer , why not waste alil more ? :D

FCD is also new to me . I guess it means Fuel Cut Defender ? I saw someone in forum saying that if you would want to have a piggyback ECU , its better to have a FCD. If standalone ECU , then FCD is no required . Please do elaborate more on this ? Thanks to yall kind ppls !! :D

Bro... It's going to help alot for us to explain if do a little bit more research. First of all, Ur 4G93P block does not have Oil Squirters as the 4G93T has. So, U piston crown temperature will be definitely higher than the 4G93T. So, 1.5 bars is definitely not recommended. 2ndly, 0.7 bars is the TD04L stock boost. So, I suggest U to play around with it until u feel boring, then u upboost. All u need to do is to get a boost controller, then retune. Can be settle in 1 day.

Intercooler Piping needed..? Without IC piping, how u going to boost...? How to direct the compress air from the turbo to the Intake manifold via IC/BOV/Throttle body..?

Piping abuse turbine..? I don;t understand your statement... External wastegate is just another way to direct the unused exhaust gas to the environment without going through the long piping. U can even do that with internal wastegate. U just need to have a custom external downpipe.

Happy modding and Reading...

Bro... It's going to help alot for us to explain if do a little bit more research. First of all, Ur 4G93P block does not have Oil Squirters as the 4G93T has. So, U piston crown temperature will be definitely higher than the 4G93T. So, 1.5 bars is definitely not recommended. 2ndly, 0.7 bars is the TD04L stock boost. So, I suggest U to play around with it until u feel boring, then u upboost. All u need to do is to get a boost controller, then retune. Can be settle in 1 day.

Intercooler Piping needed..? Without IC piping, how u going to boost...? How to direct the compress air from the turbo to the Intake manifold via IC/BOV/Throttle body..?

Piping abuse turbine..? I don;t understand your statement... External wastegate is just another way to direct the unused exhaust gas to the environment without going through the long piping. U can even do that with internal wastegate. U just need to have a custom external downpipe.

Happy modding and Reading...

Ah noted bro. Sorry for the dumbness . Shud had read more before asking :biggrin: Thanks anyway for the time spent and knowledge shared . Cheers :adore:

Bro, u need to know the powerband of your turbo as well, which mean that if the turbo can play your desire character or not..is not like every turbo can boost till your desire bar example 1.5/2.0 or higher..

what did speed2horizon mentioned about the piping is that if u used aftermarket intercooler like infinite,AVS,etc, then u need to customade yourself an intercooler piping because the intercooler length, weight, mount position might be vary from the others..either way, u can get an evo intercooler and also an evo intercooler piping from halfcut and plug and play with it...

wastegate is a different story bro...your turbo is already built-in with an actuator, also called as internal wastegate, therefore if u're tide of budget, don bother to change it UNLESS u need to increase the boost pressure of the turbo..but so far, a td04 do not required any wastegate, mean the internal wastegate will be sufficient enuff for boosting at 1bar or 1.2bar..

For FCD, http://www.teamfc3s.org/info/articles/fcd/diy_fcd.htm

I don't think FCD is a must if u use piggyback ECU wit stock turbo and a slightly increment of boost pressure from the stock boost..

Ah now i get the clearer picture of this . Thanks :")

Ah noted bro. Sorry for the dumbness . Shud had read more before asking :biggrin: Thanks anyway for the time spent and knowledge shared . Cheers :adore:

Ah now i get the clearer picture of this . Thanks :")

No worries... We're all learning... cheers...

hey guys, new here. btw, im planning to BOT my 4g92 non-mivec next month. without changing pistons, hw much boost can my engine take? is it suitable for 0.7 boost? tq

Hi all bros.

Would like inquire next upgrade for my car. Currently.

4G93 BOT
GSR TD04 Turbine, GSR Manifold, Custom Downpipe, EVO I/Cooler c/w S.S piping, GSR 390cc Injectors, GSR Oil Sum, GSR Oil Filter Hose, BOV, Metal Gasket, Air Filter, GSR ECU.

Safety boost at 0.7 bar. Next? Should i go for GSR Pistons? GSR Head? Wastegate? 4-Puck Clutch? Piggy Back? Boost Controller? Or others?

Please share your opinion. Myself would like go for GSR Pistons (But hard to find). Thanks.

Bump: Hi all bros.

Would like inquire next upgrade for my car. Currently.

4G93 BOT
GSR TD04 Turbine, GSR Manifold, Custom Downpipe, EVO I/Cooler c/w S.S piping, GSR 390cc Injectors, GSR Oil Sum, GSR Oil Filter Hose, BOV, Metal Gasket, Air Filter, GSR ECU.

Safety boost at 0.7 bar. Next? Should i go for GSR Pistons? GSR Head? Wastegate? 4-Puck Clutch? Piggy Back? Boost Controller? Or others?

Please share your opinion. Myself would like go for GSR Pistons (But hard to find). Thanks.

victor85, is all depends on how much u got bro :D...
if let's say from the choices u gave and u're only able to do ONE thing for now, doesn't matter for the budget, i will recommand a set of gsr piston...since u said is hard to get, and i dunno the current market for gsr piston, u can go for another option, tat is supercharged piston...which i supposed is widely available in the current market at the moment..

Bump: victor85, is all depends on how much u got bro :D...
if let's say from the choices u gave and u're only able to do ONE thing for now, doesn't matter for the budget, i will recommand a set of gsr piston...since u said is hard to get, and i dunno the current market for gsr piston, u can go for another option, tat is supercharged piston...which i supposed is widely available in the current market at the moment..

victor85, is all depends on how much u got bro :D...

Bump: victor85, is all depends on how much u got bro :D...

Agreed. depends on ur budget. If ur budget is 1K, then u can go for new GSR pistons. Hmm.. second hand pistons... Kinda phobia with it already... The thing is, why is people selling it...? How many GSR user would spend for aftermarket pistons.

ya... mostly them will used back original GSR pistons.... but even i found some selling, but sometimes hard to judge the seller.... bcoz i would not wan to be con....

Bump: ya... mostly them will used back original GSR pistons.... but even i found some selling, but sometimes hard to judge the seller.... bcoz i would not wan to be con....

ya... mostly them will used back original GSR pistons.... but even i found some selling, but sometimes hard to judge the seller.... bcoz i would not wan to be con....

Bump: ya... mostly them will used back original GSR pistons.... but even i found some selling, but sometimes hard to judge the seller.... bcoz i would not wan to be con....

Hmm... Different engine gone through different drivers and different driving method... So, the wear and tear pattern could be different. But they are ok it they were sit in the same cylinder because the cylinders wear and tear took place simultaneously with the pistons...

Sometimes, seller don;t mean to con either... They just don;t know... But it happens that it's ok in his engine and not ur engine.

Any recommended workshop for BOT in either Penang or KL ? Preferably Penang , but if the workmanship is worth it , KL is not a prob too. Cheers .

hey bro...try look at this thread for your gsr piston + conrod
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/278679-4g93-1-8-gsr-piston-set.html

Bump: hey bro...try look at this thread for your gsr piston + conrod
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/278679-4g93-1-8-gsr-piston-set.html

Anyone knows about Heng lai auto at Pelangi, JB there? how's their workmanship?

Bump: Anyone knows about Heng lai auto at Pelangi, JB there? how's their workmanship?

hi and morning :itsme:
would like to ask to all the turbo sifu
im doing bot to my myvi
but it seems that my myvi having some problem.

Some of my problem are :
1.the aircond not working when idling/stop, when i cruising then the aircond will work.
2.when i start my engine, its work fine,then when i off the engine and restart it again my check engine light are on and my OD light are also blinking. it cause my gear only work until gear D2 only. I have to reset my ECU by disconnect the battery cabel and then the sensor are fine. But it still happening again when i start my engine for the 2nd time.

Hope u guys can give some idea how to solve's this problem.
My foreman also dont know how to settle this problem.
TQ:rolleyes:

1.the aircond not working when idling/stop, when i cruising then the aircond will work.

Overheating inside engine bay. Try to purchase cf hood with exhaust hole. More heat will be releasing out from the engine bay