BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

hi Savvyhitam,

you mentioned you're using normal gasket and you double it. roughly how thick is your single gasket?

this is the dilemma im having here. having reading thruout this thread and other toyota forums, alot mentioned stock gasket still able anything not more thn 0.5 boost. however, its always good to take precaution steps by lowering the compression be it having thicker gasket.

but dropping the compression (thicker gasket) will also result to lose low end power which im not willing to sacrisfice. im not looking for big big power but more on responsive power.

well, when BoT-ing your stock engine without internal mods should give u power improvements oredi.. i doubled it because last time my gasket burned due to lean runs. then i considered metal gaskets, but im afraid, if anything bad should happen to my engine later, it might attack other parts instead of the head gasket. by double it up, yes, it might decomp it abit, but that wasnt my target. normally people will decomp the engine when they need to go for higher boost level or when other internal parts come into play. i just want to play safe.. hehehe... its up to u, if u're going for high boost setup, then some precautions should be considered.

as decomp will lose low end power, there are lots of other factor u should consider, instead of blaming the decomp thing... such as turbine size, compressor size, air flow & restriction, banana diameter, exhaust flow and lots more i didnt studied yet.

hm... true enaugh. Coz if everything just to play safe, there is plenty of thing WILL have to be replaced. hehehe. so to honour BOT proud, shall try to make everythng works with minimal cost but without sacrisfiying reliability.

as i mentioned before, reading in some forums thread, they didnt even decomp or watsoever. some of them even use sotck fueling system and ran thousand miles without any drama.

i was thinking, why they can do it and we cant? thing is most of the local mech will tell u if not upgrade this and that, ur engine surely goes bang. the thing is they didnt really put effort and look into it which sometimes there are thing we can get away frm it. Mostly mech will thn pay less attention to ur car and simply do it which are the REAL reason to cause it bang. And whn it does, they will blame u for not hearing thier advise.

my main now is to go with most of the turbo kit parts but if can, try not to decomp any stuff. i will still go for bigger injector, fuel pump. SAFC and also fuel regulator. As for wastegate and BOv, im still in considering.

talk about fueling, i do have a thought of having additional injector instead going for fullset larger injector. what u all guys think? I may get away frm getting fuel pump, SAFC shld i opt for additional injector. But calculating back, the cost of getting additional injector controller would be almost the same as getting SAFC. moreover a fullset bigger cc injector is not that costly afterall. The only saving was the fuel pump.

But according to some plp, daily FC would be diff between both. As additional injector will be more fuel economy thn having full upgraded fueling system.

Lowering the compression is always a good thing... double metal gaskets are one way of lowering the compression on an engine... for safer BOT applications.

normality78,
Thinking of a BOT project eh? Well... all I can say is... if you want to have a reliable system... u're going to have to spend! What engine are u running on anywayz?
IF you want response and not power... then stay as an N/A lorr... ekekeke. =)

There ARE ways of bolting on a turbo kit without any major mods... can even use back stock fueling, stock ECU everything ler.... just opt for smaller turbos loh. Proton Turbo kits are bolt on also whut! Its running a TD025 boosting at 0.35 bar. These are the kinda setups that don't require much mods... literally plug and play.

What has to be done... and how to do it... would depend on your engine, and whut kinda turbo setup you're planning to run on.

yup. not thinking but about to kick off liao. now still finalising on my "kits" of what should buy and what should not. Im running on 7AFE.

actually im quite keen in running stock fuel system on my BOT project but will tune with SAFC. I'll be running a ball bearing turbo instead of using Td04HL which was my initial choice. And also my plan was thn hit onto dyno roller with wideband sensor for tuning. Frm there, i would able to know should i be running on lean or rich on which rpm band hence proper fuel improvement upgrade will be able to carry out. instead of blindly upgrade whatever "think" is needed. but surely my mech wun allow me to do so. whahahaha

7AFE huh? Toyota dude... =)

Wah... wanna run ball bearing turbo?!?! On stock fueling summore? Lagi confirm cannot la... hahaha. Reason for ball bearing turbos are to make the turbos more responsive... small turbos are responsive already, therefore ball bearing turbos are usually only big turbos !!

With a TD04L also u confirm need to upgrade fueling system liau la... what more a ball bearing turbo? =) hehehe...

Try to read up more and understand how a turbo works... and you should be able to predict what needs to be change and/or upgraded to run the turbo kit efficiently. =)

What most people don't understand is that you can't just plonk in a turbo and run as it is. An n/a engine and a turbo engine setup is complete different and is mostly can say 'opposing' to each other's setup. When u run a turbo, u'll need to change its settings so that the engine can work efficiently without damaging anything.
N/A engines have high compression... match up a turbo to highly increase its static compression = compression overkill... you'll be knocking before u know it. EVen running on a TD04 u'll definitely need an engine management to retard your ignition timing, else there will be pinging on high revs... pinging at high revs + full boost = visit to the nearest workshop .

Small turbos can serve as bolt on kit because they're usually still within the correction range of the ECU and injectors... where the MAF/MAP sensor can still pick up the readings of more air going into the engine, and then the ECU decides how much more petrol the injectors should work... and then sends the signals to the injectors.

Original MAP sensors can't pick up too high pressures... and original injectors can't give u enuff fuel for a big turbo. Therefore the only way to bolt on is a small turbo, with small boost. Even HKS turbo kit for RX-8 is running 0.3bar only laa...

i already in between making my kelisa BOT project..boosting 0.7BAR..with 1.8 GSR Fuel Pump, 3x 1.8 Injector, Custom Metal gasket (install today, becoz OEM one koyak coz of hi-comp) Mod TBO, SAFC2..wiring, fuel and map sensor mod..yesterday tried rev until 5-6krpm and no knocking..then try on the rod still no knocking...powerwise cun already..can spin if accelerate fast...when my project finish than i tell u guys later..nearly 2 month now in w.shop...huhuhu..

er.. i heard thing about the Kelisa ECU that should u reset your ECU, all setting will run.

karl_razlie said:
i already in between making my kelisa BOT project..boosting 0.7BAR..with 1.8 GSR Fuel Pump, 3x 1.8 Injector, Custom Metal gasket (install today, becoz OEM one koyak coz of hi-comp) Mod TBO, SAFC2..wiring, fuel and map sensor mod..yesterday tried rev until 5-6krpm and no knocking..then try on the rod still no knocking...powerwise cun already..can spin if accelerate fast...when my project finish than i tell u guys later..nearly 2 month now in w.shop...huhuhu..
wa.... nice car.

2 month... reli crazy.. big project.

Me kelisa 1 weeK only. hahaha. small project.

karl_razlie,
You might wanna try retarding you ignition as well... so that at high RPMs u won't knock as much... try getting ITC or perhaps upgrade to a better piggy back. Emanage being one of the cheaper ones around.

U mean bot onto a V6 mivec? Wow... thats going to be a very big project... and not to mention its confirm going to be super-high-maintanence!

tell me bout it alvin... ahahha
i've been eating maggi mee and drinking 'ice kosong' since last week.

the only problem i face now is management.

gonna use gsr injectors on all 6 and safc2 for tuning. gonna move the O2 sensor further down to bluff the ecu on lean fuel.

the engine bay doesnt have much space.

lotsa cash for i/c piping as i have to go all around the bay. damn

Why not just take the whole kit from an Eternal? Should be able to fit isn't it? =Þ

My suggestion to you... well... i'll let the figures do the talking.

SAFC2 Tuning points = 12X2 = 24 tuning points
S-ITC Tuning points = 5 tuning points

2nd hand SAFC2 = RM700
2nd hand S-ITC = RM700 (you'll need it... ignition retardation is a must!)
Installation = RM120 (RM60 each)
Dyno Tuning = RM300 (RM150 each)
Total expenditure = RM1820

E-manage Tuning points = 16X16 = 256 tuning points each for both fuel and ignition

BRAND NEW E-manage basic package = RM1400 inclusive of installation and dyno tuning
TOP UP for ignition harness = RM200
Total expenditure = RM1600

Update us on your project! This should be pretty interesting. =) I've seen turbocharged FTO on the road before.... but dunno if its bolt on turbo kit, or maybe the fella transplanted evo4,5,6 for all I know. =)

Alvin24,

what if the car was running map sensor? If i was not wrong, Emanage cant use the stock map sensor. by the way, whr can get the emanage ignition module?

walawey..so many ppl go for BOT liao

hi guyz...long time not posting in here..heheh...glad to see lot of ppls going for BOT...i tought it only a small community doing this...kekekeke...rite now i'm thinking of enhancing my std ECU power...like installing e-manage...cannot tahan to really boosting...always got a fuel cut after certain RPM...adjust to high pressure on fuel..then suffer fuel consumption on low RPM...haiya...seriously need to get something electronically control the fuel between the low and high RPM...looking forward to get e-manage on this or changing the whole wiring to VR4..according to my mechanic..this can be done...afraid also woo...already have some items in hand...still looking forward to get other items...like power unit and coil, bigger injectors, throttle body and cam sensor...heheh..better if i can get stand alone wiring...but the price is killing me even a 2nd hand one....now my engine is giving blue smoke..heheh..a bit la..i think i piston ring is almost aout already...old engine..never touch internal b4...just about time to replace all the wear and tear thingy in the block...looking to put bigger piston (83mm)..and low compression...then only can whack the car like crazy..heheheh..cerita2 sampai esok pun x abis...hehe..gathered for TT already ha? where is the location?

bro,

Perhaps u might wanna try to retune with Wideband Lambda sensor. It does makes diff. If i was not wrong, currently u can only tune with WOT which is not sufficient enaugh. hence you're facing some offboost running too rich problem.