BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

alvin24 said:
Where got such thing as 'too small' wan?? This one is personal preference maa... i'm just suggesting TD025 for bolt on applications... as in, install and jalan. If use any bigger like TD04, minimum boost is 0.5-0.6... therefore you'll need a piggy back ECU, bigger injectors, lower engine compression.......... the list goes on, for you to be able to make the engine reliable. TD025 bolt on, I think the air flow sensor should be able to detect the extra air flow going in and the ECU should be able to compensate... as i said, thats why EMS turbo kit for GTi is running a TD025 also laa.

bro if put in TDO25 on SOHC 4G18 with NO piggyback,extra injectors,boost 0.4,wats the power like and reliablity?
Assuming I only drive the car normally on roads at 3-5K rpm,not faster than 140KM/HR (160KM/hr maybe 1-2 times a week)

Btw any equavelent/similar spec turbo from other brands?Btw TD025 using bearings?Oil or water cooled?

Y need extra 1 or 2 injectors?

Curious when i read abt ppl adding injectors when bolt on turbo,I thought we simply change to 4 bigger injectors?

Y add injectors and where do those the added injector spray to?Cos each cylinder only has 1 hole for the injector rite?

I've seen extra injectors mounted directly onto the intake manifold... where as most of the extra injectors are mounted to the intake pipe just before the throttle body/intake manifold.

Reason for extra injectors? So that you don't screw up your tuning during low boost or low rpm. Some people who wanna run slightly higher boost might not be getting enuff fuel during peak boost... therefore an extra injector is used. Extra injectors paired with an additional injector controller, functions in accordance to boost sensor... meaning they're usually set to function only during boost and usually after a specific boost (where u aren't getting enuff fuel). Its also more economical (lower FC) to run this way rather than using larger injectors.

On the case of your TD025 on 4G18 that one... no matter what you do also, best is to have a piggy back ECU la at least! When it comes to turbo kit... tuning is very important to determine your reliability. And no TD025 is not a ball bearing turbo... and if not mistaken they're both oil and water cooled.

for bolt on, what intercooler is ideal? im currently looking at Eterna and 1.8 GSR but my mech say both IC canot make it

alvin24 said:
I've seen extra injectors mounted directly onto the intake manifold... where as most of the extra injectors are mounted to the intake pipe just before the throttle body/intake manifold.

Reason for extra injectors? So that you don't screw up your tuning during low boost or low rpm. Some people who wanna run slightly higher boost might not be getting enuff fuel during peak boost... therefore an extra injector is used. Extra injectors paired with an additional injector controller, functions in accordance to boost sensor... meaning they're usually set to function only during boost and usually after a specific boost (where u aren't getting enuff fuel). Its also more economical (lower FC) to run this way rather than using larger injectors.

On the case of your TD025 on 4G18 that one... no matter what you do also, best is to have a piggy back ECU la at least! When it comes to turbo kit... tuning is very important to determine your reliability. And no TD025 is not a ball bearing turbo... and if not mistaken they're both oil and water cooled.

ok so bro if I add only 1 fuel injector,where does it plug into?Meaning which cyclinder does it inject fuel into since each injector only shoot into 1 cyclinda,oso is getting a boost sensor tocontrol the extra injector expensive?

ummm... did i not just say mount it on the intake pipe?? Which part do u not understand??
Here's a circled example...
http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/9661/extrainjectors5tn.jpg

Yes... additional injector controllers (AIC) are expensive.

what intercooler ar... depends on your engine specs, turbine and how high u planning to boost.

I guess you have to plum your extra injectors to your fuel distributors....

By the way how much do the AIC range in Malaysia.. could be cheaper to source elsewhere..

As I can see from mild boost 0.6bar to 3 bar mods engine, many would like 2 use d friendly tuned Subsidiary Fuel Injectors controller. Pn. SIC-202 from PS-PowerSport.

It costs less 4 its 1 - 2 injectors controls system. D unit has an adjustable vacuum/boost pressure started point [Boost onset knob], A fuel flow rate control knob from 0 - 100% duty cycle with boost n engine speed[rpm] parameters n a 25% duty cycle rev trimmer knob 2 fine-tune A/F mixture @higher rpm if boost fall.

hi ROBOTs... wanna ask during afternoon, does ur ROBOTs lag? is it because of the metal piping used for IC?

Turbo Spirit, go..go..go..

Cheers

H2Zero said:
I guess you have to plum your extra injectors to your fuel distributors....

By the way how much do the AIC range in Malaysia.. could be cheaper to source elsewhere..

if u know how and where..., i bought mine Greedy Rebic ver2 (AIC) below rm500 and u also can search for brand new custom AIC...complete with the controller, digital interface + injector only rm700...but if u buy brand new ofcoz la more than 1k....

Vr4 Ic

U can use vr4 ic with TD04HL boost 0.6-0.7....but got lag somehow

alvin24 said:
ummm... did i not just say mount it on the intake pipe?? Which part do u not understand??
Here's a circled example...
http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/9661/extrainjectors5tn.jpg

Yes... additional injector controllers (AIC) are expensive.

I mean you plug the additional injector there,does it spray fuel into where it's inserted instead of the combustion cyclinder?Pardon my ignorance.

yesterday... i extra injector piping keput already... so much fuel gone... didn't notice till i got back.... while driving yesterday... can smeel fuel in my car... was wondering why... then got back, open the hood.... fuel sparying all over... thank god my car didn't catch fire!!

** the lesson for today, always check your engine bay!!

13 pages is too much to read through :P

did anyone here talk about a BOT for a new V6 ?