BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

hawick your car haven't done meh??
i wil visit workshop on friday agian..wanna see vtec turbo power kekekek

Not yet, the piping works are just done by today, and car shall be sent back to workshop by tomorrow morning.... stay tune~

In fact, the life without own car is lonely....

I'm driving Kenali at the mean time. Heart is itchy everytime i see corner, but sad that i have to treat them carefully, beh tahan~

aiyak...so when are u taking your car out?
tomoro my day very peak, no time go unless class cancel...how i wish :D

Intercooler Size

Sifus, can anyone teach me what's the correct size intercooler to fit in to a 1.6 SOHC BOT at 0.4-0.6 bar..? I heard bigger intercoolers can cause lag esspecially on low pressure turbo. But GSR doesn;t look nice ler...

Can anyone suggest any long tyoe intercooler that can suite my set up..?

Re: Intercooler Size

Sifus, can anyone teach me what's the correct size intercooler to fit in to a 1.6 SOHC BOT at 0.4-0.6 bar..? I heard bigger intercoolers can cause lag esspecially on low pressure turbo. But GSR doesn;t look nice ler...

vr4 wan lo...i think most suitable liao...

Hi jep3003, i'm another civic SOHC VTEC 1600cc user here, but car is still at the workshop, hahaha!

Do u mind to share ur setup?

I'm using TD04L, 0.6 bar, 390cc GSR injector, E-manage, 3 layers stock metal gaskets. Will it leaks or not? I'll tell u on future.

oh ok... gasket depends how much u torque, how long, copper spray summore... did u reclip bck da gaskets???

my cars setup, td05 wit garrett internals, tial wstegate 0.7bar, 390cc injectors, type-r fuel pump, e-manage, 1.5mm thick gasket sandwich 1 layer top n bottom oem gasket, profec e01 boost cont n etc...

but big intercoolers gets cooler air= more O2= better fuel consumption, performance... u can compensate da lag by altering ur IC piping, manifold design , turbine choice n tuning... its a plus minus thing...

vr4 or vr4 size IC wud b sufficient...

Originally Posted by jep3003
but big intercoolers gets cooler air= more O2= better fuel consumption, performance... u can compensate da lag by altering ur IC piping, manifold design , turbine choice n tuning... its a plus minus thing...

vr4 or vr4 size IC wud b sufficient...

Thanks sifus... But other than mitsubishi's intercooler, is there any other intercoolers that are suitable..? I saw some after market shining intercoolers of various sizes that interest me... But dunno wether they are compatible...

For example this thread:
Intercoolers

They looked nice, attractive and shinny.

Hehe...

Thanks sifus... But other than mitsubishi's intercooler, is there any other intercoolers that are suitable..? I saw some after market shining intercoolers of various sizes that interest me... But dunno wether they are compatible...

For example this thread:
Intercoolers

They looked nice, attractive and shinny.

Hehe...

those a custom bar n plate type IC... theres basically 2 types of air/air intercoolers.. bar n plate like in da pics or tube n fin types like OEM mitsu IC... it comes dwn 2 IC material, size n flow rate... both has its pros n cons... example - OEM mitsu IC r made of aluminium n most custom r made of s.steel, aluminum has a better heat transfer rate than steel... stuff like dat la...

im using a vr4rs size custom bar n plate IC.. no probs wit mine but plannin 2 upgrade 2 apexi hybrid IC hehehehhe....

those a custom bar n plate type IC... theres basically 2 types of air/air intercoolers.. bar n plate like in da pics or tube n fin types like OEM mitsu IC... it comes dwn 2 IC material, size n flow rate... both has its pros n cons... example - OEM mitsu IC r made of aluminium n most custom r made of s.steel, aluminum has a better heat transfer rate than steel... stuff like dat la...

im using a vr4rs size custom bar n plate IC.. no probs wit mine but plannin 2 upgrade 2 apexi hybrid IC hehehehhe....

So, which size of the intercoolers int the mentioned link do you think suits my application the best..? Can give some guidelines..?

Btw, when u say custom piping to reduce lag, what do you mean..? Mind to guide me in this also..?

450x300x76mm = RM430

i think mine is roun dis size.... u better measure, nice or not on ur car, summore bumper got 2 operate a lot or not....

450x300x76mm = RM430

i think mine is roun dis size.... u better measure, nice or not on ur car, summore bumper got 2 operate a lot or not....

Oh ok... thanks. because I read somewhere that OEM VR$ intercooler is around 590 x 230 x 67. which is quite bog leh... And VR4 is 2.0L

My BOT project is only 4G92P 1.6 SOHC. And 76mm might be too thick I think...

So, U going for water/air cooling...? Cooler air = higher air density = more O2 again...

k bout da ic piping... use shortest route... so it wont lag dat much...

nooo... im still gona use air/air cooled... water cooled hard 2 modify, me daily use not drag... try search apexi hybrid intercoolers, dats wat i want... hehehehe

im using Evo 6 size intercooler on my BOT ...lagging when using TD05H ....
overcome with my ECU ignition setting ...since my intercooler piping is long ....

anyway ....my experience....from my car... shortened the piping and proper size is help but not too much ...bigger turbine ..still need to high rev to reach the full boost

my previous turbine full boost history ..lets share with u guys

1.6 Mivec Block , Forged low compression piston 1.5MM metal gasket

Journal bearing i use b4

TD04L : boost kick in 2800RPM Full boost 4200RPM 1.3Bar ( super responsive )
TD05H (evo 1 ) Boost kick in 4200 RPM Full Boost 5500 RPM ( Lagging , need high rev to get the power )

Ball Bearing Turbine :

HKS GT2835 : boost kick in 4000 RPM Full boost 5200 RPM 1.5bar ( Abit Lag , afterall still ball bearing turbine , helps alot )

Turbonetics GT25 Turbine : kick in 3700 RPM Full boost 4900 RPM 1.7 bar ( consider responsive ! )

Means have too choose the turbine wisely

speed2horizon : ur car is using stock piston , abit high compression ...so dun worry ur car will lag if using TD04L , sure responsive .... dont worry

currently Im running back TD04L Boost at 1.3 bar Planning to convert to a comfortable car and wanna play Ice d ... already bored with bumpy and noisy ride

P/S : im importing some intercooler direct from the USA bar plate and also Apex'i hybrid type

Coming in : Made In USA BOT Kit for B16A, B16B , D15 , D16 SOHC

Introduction price RM 5288 Full set

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h317/sky222/aaaa10272_a.jpg
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h317/sky222/aaaa10273_a.jpg

STAINLESS INTERCOOLER PIPE KIT
DOWNPIPE
TURBO TSUNAMI MANIFOLD
FITS
B SERIES SWAPS
B16 / B18 and kit for D15 , D16 SOHC ENGINES

99-00 Si ALSO available

SUPER FLY KIT
(1) SUPER GARRETT INTERNALS T3 TURBO
(1) SUPER RACE TURBO MANIFOLD STAINLESS STEEL
(1) Full set of TIG Welded Complete
(3) piece 2.5" charge piping.
(1) 24 " X 12 " X 3" THICK INTERCOOLER
(1) BRAND NEW 38MM WASTEGATE
(1) TURBO OIL LINE AND ACCESSORY KIT
(1) FUEL RAIL
ALL ITEMS ARE BRAND NEW - IN THE BOX -NEVER USED

bro, thinking BOT my rav4 2.4L
The 2AZ-FE is a 2.4 L (2362 cc) version built in Japan and at TMMK in the USA, obtains a total displacement of 2362 cm³ with 88.5 mm (3.5in) bore and 96.0 mm (3.8-in) stroke, resulting in a compression ratio of 9.6:1 . The 2007 Toyota RAV4 produces 166 hp (123 kW) at 6000 rpm and 165 ft·lbf (224 N·m) of torque at 4000 rpm.. so Which turbo should more responsiive, which i only stay in low boost, because internal is stock and NA engine..
thanks for the help :)

im using Evo 6 size intercooler on my BOT ...lagging when using TD05H ....
overcome with my ECU ignition setting ...since my intercooler piping is long ....

anyway ....my experience....from my car... shortened the piping and proper size is help but not too much ...bigger turbine ..still need to high rev to reach the full boost

my previous turbine full boost history ..lets share with u guys

1.6 Mivec Block , Forged low compression piston 1.5MM metal gasket

Journal bearing i use b4

TD04L : boost kick in 2800RPM Full boost 4200RPM 1.3Bar ( super responsive )
TD05H (evo 1 ) Boost kick in 4200 RPM Full Boost 5500 RPM ( Lagging , need high rev to get the power )

Ball Bearing Turbine :

HKS GT2835 : boost kick in 4000 RPM Full boost 5200 RPM 1.5bar ( Abit Lag , afterall still ball bearing turbine , helps alot )

Turbonetics GT25 Turbine : kick in 3700 RPM Full boost 4900 RPM 1.7 bar ( consider responsive ! )

Means have too choose the turbine wisely

speed2horizon : ur car is using stock piston , abit high compression ...so dun worry ur car will lag if using TD04L , sure responsive .... dont worry

currently Im running back TD04L Boost at 1.3 bar Planning to convert to a comfortable car and wanna play Ice d ... already bored with bumpy and noisy ride

P/S : im importing some intercooler direct from the USA bar plate and also Apex'i hybrid type

Coming in : Made In USA BOT Kit for B16A, B16B , D15 , D16 SOHC

Introduction price RM 5288 Full set

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h317/sky222/aaaa10272_a.jpg
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h317/sky222/aaaa10273_a.jpg

STAINLESS INTERCOOLER PIPE KIT
DOWNPIPE
TURBO TSUNAMI MANIFOLD
FITS
B SERIES SWAPS
B16 / B18 and kit for D15 , D16 SOHC ENGINES

99-00 Si ALSO available

SUPER FLY KIT
(1) SUPER GARRETT INTERNALS T3 TURBO
(1) SUPER RACE TURBO MANIFOLD STAINLESS STEEL
(1) Full set of TIG Welded Complete
(3) piece 2.5" charge piping.
(1) 24 " X 12 " X 3" THICK INTERCOOLER
(1) BRAND NEW 38MM WASTEGATE
(1) TURBO OIL LINE AND ACCESSORY KIT
(1) FUEL RAIL
ALL ITEMS ARE BRAND NEW - IN THE BOX -NEVER USED

bro , as a fren i can tell you one last time only , just advising, its ur choice
XS Power & SSAutochrome are from same company , all of these items including the intercoolers that you are selling is from china , XS Power imports them from china , do not condemn infinite, I am an infinite dealer myself , and i know the facts , both XS Power and Infinite has the same quality , i recommend you to remove your claims in the other thread about Infinite , unless u got side by side pic to proof it out. I am also dealing with china , so I know myself, XS Power turbochargers do NOT HAVE GARETT internals, if you do not believe me, continue reading this threads, there is even a WARNING in ebay for xspower products.

http://www.bblgroup.us/ssautochrome.htm
http://jdm-insider.com/Blogs/Eric/?p=684
http://www.thirdgen.org/techboard/power-adder/325843-trying-warn-guy-about.html
http://www.mx6.com/forums/2g-mx6-forced-induction/149145-xs-turbo-garrett-wheel.html
http://www.team-integra.net/forum/display_topic_threads.asp?ForumID=12&TopicID=134853&PageMsg=Viewing+Common+Topic
http://www.driftworks.com/forum/technical/51764-xs-power-turbos.html
* i got few more hundred of sites to show you
I am active in DSM forums, so I do know about XS Power and its qualities, i wish to keep zth a clean place and no false claims.

Infinite , Zap , Works-Engineering , Hot66 , XS power , SS autochrome , klgauto NONE are MADE IN US, intercoolers are static non mechanical , i ownself use them and I are agree they are affordable and good

have a look at some pictures of the turbos
http://jdm-insider.com/Blogs/Eric/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/fakexs004.jpg

http://jdm-insider.com/Blogs/Eric/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/fakexs002.jpg

http://jdm-insider.com/Blogs/Eric/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/fakexs005.jpg

if its from china, just say it, no harm done , do not claim Garrett Internals , if SDF or Turbo-1 or Speedspin sees ur postings, how is it gonna be for them as they are garrett dealers and distributors

thx bro ...Thilak ..I tried to call u alot of times but seems u nv ans the call leh???

bro, thinking BOT my rav4 2.4L
The 2AZ-FE is a 2.4 L (2362 cc) version built in Japan and at TMMK in the USA, obtains a total displacement of 2362 cm³ with 88.5 mm (3.5in) bore and 96.0 mm (3.8-in) stroke, resulting in a compression ratio of 9.6:1 . The 2007 Toyota RAV4 produces 166 hp (123 kW) at 6000 rpm and 165 ft·lbf (224 N·m) of torque at 4000 rpm.. so Which turbo should more responsiive, which i only stay in low boost, because internal is stock and NA engine..
thanks for the help :)

ermm no comment on 2362 cc engine .... better get advise from the expert ler...seen RAV4 turbo ..b4..but not sure its ....BOT or transplant the engine ....ermm..so no comment

Hello everyone..I need some opinion+guidance for my gsr upgrade which i plan to do for the next few weeks...i'm driving SGTI with stock gsr...i'm running on 1bar boost+afc neo+open pod filter+2.5" straight flow piping with 3"exhaust and the car has 250bhp...well, my target is 300bhp so plan to upgrade TD05 from Evo+VR4 injectors+Exedy full race clutch...My questions are : Is 300bhp achievable with all these upgrades(1 bar boost)?...Can the stock pistons and conrods able to take it?...How much does that gonna cost me?...should i change other piggyback(e-manage) in order to gain more power or should i just use my current piggyback(afc neo)...hope u guys will help me by answering all my questions..thanks a lot

sorry guys for interrupting ur thread but seems like nobody wanna answer my question after i posted for few days ade, so i post it here lo..hope u guys dun mind eh..haha.. :)