Boost Entering

jinkl

At the beginning my turbo was creeping till 0.8 ..
Now want to boost 1bar
Fixed metal gasket
Fixed in the Fish Tank Valve
My max boost is 0.9 .. i open how many valves also my boost will stick to 0.9
wht could be the prob over here. internal wastegate ka ? or is it blow off tak tahan ? car no more kick like last time , gsr also tapau hehehehe

all the connections correct or not? last time i hooked mine up wrongly i couldn't go above stock boost

I think something is very wrong with your engine.

You already replaced your blown engine and it seems your engine's performance is getting worst.

Maybe its time you ask for another mechanic's opinion before spending more money invain.

My max boost is 0.9 .. i open how many valves also my boost will stick to 0.9

unplug the vacumm to the actuator....drive the car...then try slowly...dun go straight full pedal......around 70kmh at 2nd gear try to rev ther car until turbo get max pressure....if no rise oso....check blow off valve...if not oso check pipings...if not oso...check wallet....if got money straight away buy another GSRT halfcut....hahahahaha :lol:

check whether the turbo has prob or not....didn't notice any cracks while installing???...

or the engine compression is not enuff...

yala...i agree with joeker. how come your engine still got problem one? maybe its time you get second opinion dude. :)

die speedz klang taikor...ehehe. when want to meet up la?? that day i also forgot coz i tot you gonna call me. ehhehe.

what type of waste gate..??
if HKS you must lock the waste gate first after that
adjust your boost..

correct me if I'am wrong

ramsing...dun give storyler..we'll meet up soon....i'll call u ..let jin car settle fisrtler..

the sluggishness i tink i got the anwser :)
Metal gasket..
block is vr4 not evo ..
vr4 compression is 7.8 ah ?
then masuk metal gasket .. lower summore compression .. but im boosting 0.9 only..
waiting to go to mech :) must check on the boost matter..
planning to boost 1.4bar in few months time.. so when changing block i terus masuk the metal gasket from vteckiller

dude , no point stating that you're planing to boost 1.4 bar in the future where else now you are facing problems , and its been haunting you since day 1 of your conversion . you should have fix all the problems first before upgrading / planing to boost higher . no point adding performance stuff and still can't perform at its optimum point , it might perform worst then a stock 4G63 engine .

some of us using stock setup also facing lots of problems , but still trying to touch up slowly before upgrading to the next level , even having the engine perform to its optimum level , its called satisfaction . have you ever think off driving your car and trashing it most of the time and you know there won't be any problems with it cause most of the parts has been rebuild / replaced / fixed , having that kind of feeling its a real satisfaction for me , cause right now even tho i had touch up this & that , i still drive in fear , cause based on my experience even i had done some major touch up to the engine , but there will be some other problems poping out here & there after some hard trashing and it sucks to experience it . and i really respect you cause , 2 engines already changed but still can't get things right and now thinking of boosting / upgrading in a few months time . now what you should do is think of the current situation , get it fixed then only think of future :lol:

vestax : hehe .. tht future.. is real future laa.. lama lama lagi ..
just put the metal gasket in cos sudah buka block and head :)

lee pasang the boost controller to up the boost to 0.9 so can cope up with the low compression. so he fixed in the fish tank valve , then i did a test for fuel pressure and also checked with AF meter , was all fine.

its not a big problem to say la , cos im not gonna boost more than 0.9
so i opened my hood and decided to close the fish tank valves , i closed one and realised , boost still sticks at 0.9 , then nampak pelik ,
open 1 also 0.9 , open 2 valves also 0.9 , so i opened third one , drove out , aiks 0.9 also. Theres when i came to wonder apa sudah jadi.

bro vestax , could it be the internal wastegate is weak and opens at 0.9 at all time ?

and also want to know , is it fine if i run around like this .. thank you.
i dont really know how the wastegate works , and whats the side effect of malfunction of it. All i know is it limits the boost hehe.. :)

all your 2 cents are taken hehe..

Jin, something from CLub DSM

My boost is not strong enough. Is there a fix?
Poor boost is often a symptom of other problems. It is important to know why the boost is low before attempting corrections.

The DSM ECUs have partial control over the amount of turbo boost through the use of the boost control solenoid (BCS) a.k.a. the wastegate bypass solenoid. Under normal driving conditions, the BCS is open and allows the wastegate to open at the normal intake pressure. Should the ECU detect a serious problem with the engine, it will often close the BCS, causing the wastegate to open sooner and lowering the turbo boost produced.

The ECU uses the BCS to reduce turbo boost in several situations. Should the ECU detect a large amount of airflow into the engine, the BCS will be pulsed off and on to reduce the air intake to acceptable levels. This can lower the turbo boost significantly, and usually only occurs at high RPMs. This is usually a temporary problem, which disappears when the intake airflow drops to more normal levels.

The ECU will also close the BCS if it detects significant engine knock. Knock, also known as preignition or detonation, is a damaging condition brought on by excessively advanced ignition timing, lean air-fuel mixtures and/or low octane or poor quality gasoline. The BCS is the second and last line of defense against knock - the ECU will first retard the ignition timing in an attempt to prevent knock. If this fails, the BCS will close to reduce the intake air flow (and boost pressure) to a minimum value, hopefully eliminating the knock at the expense of engine power.

A simple LED monitor circuit can be constructed to check the operation of the BCS. If the BCS is pulsing, or remains closed during typical engine operation, it means that you may have some other problem that is making the ECU very nervous. This is often accompanied by retarded engine timing, resulting in a further power loss, all of which makes the car much slower than it should be. Note that the operation of the BCS monitor is not necessarily intuitive - study the Troubleshooting section, this issue of the Diagnostic Port, and the Boost Solenoid Details page very carefully before deciding you have a problem.

If the BCS is not operating as expected, suspects include poor quality gas, excessive turbo pressures, injector malfunctions, oxygen sensor malfunctions, and anything else that can lead to a low-octane, air-rich mixture inside the cylinders. Differences in mass airflow sensors from car to car will also affect the operation of the BCS.

If the BCS is fine, the timing may still be retarded due to airflow or knock problems. If you are certain this is not the case, it may be time for some modifications; see "What should I do to make my car faster, or handle better?" , above.

-extract from club dsm-

hello jinkl.

nice touge action THAT day in cyberjaya..

ur car flying ooo.

Originally posted by jinkl@Mar 26 2005, 06:46
vestax : hehe .. tht future.. is real future laa.. lama lama lagi ..
just put the metal gasket in cos sudah buka block and head :)

lee pasang the boost controller to up the boost to 0.9 so can cope up with the low compression. so he fixed in the fish tank valve , then i did a test for fuel pressure and also checked with AF meter , was all fine.

its not a big problem to say la , cos im not gonna boost more than 0.9
so i opened my hood and decided to close the fish tank valves , i closed one and realised , boost still sticks at 0.9 , then nampak pelik ,
open 1 also 0.9 , open 2 valves also 0.9 , so i opened third one , drove out , aiks 0.9 also. Theres when i came to wonder apa sudah jadi.

bro vestax , could it be the internal wastegate is weak and opens at 0.9 at all time ?

and also want to know , is it fine if i run around like this .. thank you.
i dont really know how the wastegate works , and whats the side effect of malfunction of it. All i know is it limits the boost hehe.. :)

all your 2 cents are taken hehe..
[snapback]841837[/snapback]​

Oit jin....did what i told or not...check them hoses lar....or better yet get a standard mirage actuator...bossting 0.8 standard....not like vr's wan 0.6 onli....
try take actuator out...then use air gun to test...see if it pops out according to when u play wif the air gun or not...

mebbe actuator open widely so boost cannot rise up....lost all the ex gases out of it....by the way....if i were u....i'd pull out the hose to the actuator...then drive to see how high can get.....if full pedal oso 0.9 then mebbe got actuator weak or leaking in the appollo side.....but normally it wont happend....but if boost can go as high as 1.5 bar....then it means that ur actuator is fine....

:lol:

but if talking about those comp ratio it wont be such a prob....since u've change to metal maybe drops a little bit of compression....but even wif that situation u should feel flying since boosting at 0.9 aledi....unless the comp drops out kaw kaw or the (i'm sorry to say) mech didn't install the head properly...

so dude....alwiz take not on what ppl say...try n error is good...u learn sumthing...n cheated by ppl oso is good bcoz u learn sumthin....but if cheated u have to learn it tha HARD way....

:)

happy boosting.....peciuuuuss...

erm tested just now.. suspected the bov .. changed to vr4 one..
went out to fren place.. car was spinning.. then see boost meter.. hose sudah kena cabut.. got down , fixed the vacuum hose which came out.
went home , on the way seeing boost meter... wow , 1.5bar and its creeping even higher with all valves closed, ballshrink , slowed down and went home
now at home la , open the hood and waiting for it to cool off , must check if other cables kena cabut..

add back the vr4 blow off and boost 1.5 bar la , thats your future plan mah , so no need to think of future , make it happen now it self :lol: . now when you cannot up your boost , you pening kepala , when your boost up too much you also pening kepala . then how la ? :lol:

hehe .. aiyaaa 1.5bar so soon ka.. pecah terus la then :P
whts the symtoms of wastegate jam ?

Write your reply...