> b16a

Yes,u can fit d B20's crank into d B18CR or even d B16B block(B18CR=B16B)...BUT,dat won necessarily gif u better power as d crank of d B20 is relatively weak in design compared w a Type R crank.but it's a cheap way 2 bump up d cc n also get cheap power...
alternatively,der's anoday way albeit more pricey..use a B20 block n shove in a B18CR crank.dat'll net u ard 1.9L but u get a brilliantly designed crank whc can rev better compared w a stock B20 bottom...
in short,money talks!hahahahahha

so if i need torque for my b18cr,( the cheap way) just stuff the b20 crank will do? wat about the conrods?

i was planning a hybrid project. B16b heads complete + b18cr block + b20 strocker..... im not sure about the b20 strocker and the b16b pistons. i just plan all JDM stuffs and no after market...

b18b? u mean the crank only....? i heard it has slightly higher cc than the b18cr....correct me if im wrong...

if i take the b18b whole block and the bottom end....the block can tahan (my rev happy leg) anot?

super feilo,
promoting ur set up again ar?hahahah..no offence but d only advantage i can think of 4 d B18B is it's relatively cheap price..design wise it's d same as a B20B..so y not go B20B straight coz it'll cost almost d same?
my own personal experience....an EG6 w B18B(w sum ratios n high cams,supposedly dynoed 18xwhp) couldn't pull away frm my 173whp B16B CR-X in 1-3 gear,only in 4th he managed 2 pull abt 1 bumper length in front.....not saying B18B is not good,it's cheap too but i wud personally go 4 a B20Vtec coz it's almost as cheap....

koolvibration,
i assume u oredy haf a B18CR?thn y u need a B16B head?they r d same except 4 d cams if urs is not d '00spec B18CR....n i wudn't recommend u 2 junk ur B18CR crank n replace 'em w a B20 crank..u MIGHT get bigger cc but dat won guarantee u more whp...torque might go up a lil....i think ur better off investing in bigger n better pistons.....83mm Supertec(or is it 82mm) shud b a safe bet between power n reliability.....n if ur lucky enuff,search 4 Toda B cams...not Toda A or C,but B..they gif d BEST torque gain all ard...

wah..now I know Akuma got ctr inside heh heh.
Isnt B20 actually a destroke B18b ? its the same non vtec block & yeah why not go for B20 instead because its cheap & easily available & I think its not that easy to source this B18b right ?

i've been running my B16B 4 almost 2 yrs oredy..i never hid it frm any1 oso.....but dis B16B is much slower thn my B16A but dat 1 was too unreliable..so it went KABOOM in just over a year....n waddaya mean by d B20 is a destroke B18B?shudn't it b d other way ard?hahahaha

haahah..
18b 81mm
20b 84mm

im with my 18b for 3 years but kaboom @ kuantan highway
now 20b

super fei lo,
yeah hor...i oso 4got ur B18B kaboom dat time otw back frm Kuantan-KL,right?so,wat ekcerly happened?now now..stop telling me u wasn't revving d engine!hahahah...
so,now dat u've ran both....whc 1 is better?B18B or B20B?

helo akuma

wth bout b18c block with b20b crank setup wht will it produce

kaboom 9 jor..
inlet valve patah...
now flat piston 20b running fine..
stock cams...now

akuma....

u mention u had a b16a faster than ur current b18. then u mention not reliable. how come? compression to high?

are_i,
ur referring to B18C GSR or B18CR?i haf no experience w both but i haf heard ppl putting in d B20 crank into a B18CR,hoping 2 bump d cc so it'll increase whp & torque..but so far i've yet 2 c any favourable results...d trend thus far is still putting in a B18CR crank + conrod into a B20...whr u'll b running a very balanced crank w 84mm pistons....how fast u duno?but dis kinda set up will easily c 210whp n abt 21kgm of torque....

koolvibration,
pardon me but i gotta correct u..i'm running a B16B..not a B18...it's super fei lo who used 2 run a B18B.....n yes,my previous B16A is running ultra high compression,hence d reliability issue...in SDB,my B16A is abt 0.8s faster thn my B16B....now dat's roughly abt 3 blank cars length....

akuma...
my mistake. then again, dumping b18cr crank and con-rods in a b20....what about the sleeve reliability? i heard b20 are sleeves are not for high-revs. could a b18cr increase capacity to 2000cc? i was hopping for more torque....hehehe just my 2sen....

koolvibration,
like d old saying,der's no replacement 4 displacement..if it's REAL torque dat u want,not much choice except 2 go 4 bigger pistons in ur B18CR...i'm not sure how much u can bore out d B18CR crank but frm wat i've heard n seen,85mm is still quite reliable....provided d job was done properly......n oso depend on wat ur looking for..if it's track reliability,i wud personally not go any bigger thn 83mm.....if u drag alot,85mm like i sed i've seen alot of reliable engines too....
if it's just 4 normal street use....get a good set of cams n adj cam pulleys.....a properly tuned cams MIGHT NOT gif u more torque OR whp but dis can shift ur powerband 2 come in earlier...hence giving u d more "kick" feeling,n yet retain almost factory like reliability coz ur still running 81mm slugs....
hope dis helps....

Definately, stock will last longer than so called hybrid or rojak set-up lor.... Yes, u need to spend more for hybrid/rojak set-up BUT it ain't as reliable.

running my b16b for 3yrs without any problem, might wanna upgrade to B18CR lor.

my POV is lazy wanna maintain/headache and dun wanna make my foreman as my best friend. :-)

---------- Post added at 10:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:17 PM ----------

Definately, stock will last longer than so called hybrid or rojak set-up lor.... Yes, u need to spend more for hybrid/rojak set-up BUT it ain't as reliable.

running my b16b for 3yrs without any problem, might wanna upgrade to B18CR lor.

my POV is lazy wanna maintain/headache and dun wanna make my foreman as my best friend. :-)

well,rule of thumb,stock is definitely more reliable thn any modded engines but i tot v r on d topic of rebuilding or even now into modding d Bseries 2 churn out more power but in a relatively reliable method?
i'm just sharing wat i've done,seen or heard.....
if it's stock engine thn i guess der's nothg much 2 discuss/share abt in here,no?
n on contrary 2 u,i always make my mechanic/engine builder my best fren..coz in d end i'll get fren2 price n oso sum knowlegde..no matter how tight their lips are,once u buddy2 w them sure they'll share sum tips in d end...dat's y i 2 like hang ard workshops.......

akuma...

hmm....i guess that is something i should ponder about. if cams, pulleys and pistons it is....i had skunks in my head. what say you about pro-3. any experience. i would love TODA but, kenan jaga wallet.....