need help on B16A here...!!!

bomohymns

hi everybody....i am using b16a engine but the head has some problems so i changed it to b18cr head....complete head except valve cover...campulley n vtec solenoid which mean i reused my b16a parts back...now i wanna change the piston...so which piston is better for this type of modification?is it b16b or b18cr piston...??and is it just plug n play or need to rebore the block?

thanks...your help will be appreciated....:adore:

hi everybody....i am using b16a engine but the head has some problems so i changed it to b18cr head....complete head except valve cover...campulley n vtec solenoid which mean i reused my b16a parts back...now i wanna change the piston...so which piston is better for this type of modification?is it b16b or b18cr piston...??and is it just plug n play or need to rebore the block?

for mine i will using b16b type r piston...coz the compression 16b highly then 18cr...just plug and play into u b16a block...beter buy a b16b block then install 2L Crankshaft...more power...

want engine duduk.. pm me sayang.........
can see ur budget too....

Heard from a fren of mine there this dude EK B16A fully TODA Stage2 Kit and tested with one of my frens STI V8. At mamak he mention that EK fella 1st gear all the way till top speed stick to his tail, then the EK dude join us for a drink he mention this is his modd he have done. From you guys opinion do you think its possible B16A with Full TODA Stage2 Kit to achive such power, my mech mention this Full Stage2 kit cost 10k. Sifu's please advise on this issue, seems yummy!

Frankly, if it was me, I'd consider changing the block as a whole rather than changing just the pistons. Opening up the B16A block to accomodate the CTR or ITR pistons more or less amounts to a bottom overhaul, the cost won't be cheap. Besides doing some machine work on the piston rods, the bearings needs to be changed (might as well change it since everything is ripped open). After having done all that, in the end you might be using CTR or ITR pistons, but the crank remains B16A. Believe it or not, that's gonna make a big difference in terms of performance.

Coincidently, I have a complete B18CR block for sale, from a 98 engine, complete with customs documentations. Item is in KL.

Kindly check your PM for details.

if you're serious about changing pistons, then any forged piston would do. The added strength and the compression of the pistons might be just the thing to make your engine respond just a little better. Sometimes, even the stock overbored piston will do.. it's related to budget and purposes you are building your engine.

With added compression, the bottom end grunt of the B16A is improved.. It won't be smoking built B20B soon, but it'll be a pleasant daily driver.. and the forged piston would likely outlast your engine's sleeves.. :P

If you want outright power.. then stuff in the biggest piston and stroker your budget can afford.

There's so many options suggested, and they'll all work in increasing power.. but like the other person that asked last time. old parts in old engine, or new parts in an old engine? That's really a decision to make.

aikz? "old parts in old engine, or new parts in an old engine?".... that sounds familiar...hehe...
nono...i decided to go for old parts in new engine d.........:biggrin:
BTW, shiro, heard that you're researching to build B20vtec de... so how is it going on?
:cheers:

i suggest u state your budget and type of driving mode if not u'll get 10 pages of complexity.

the next step i think better change to b18cr block. worth of money. :biggrin:

hehehe....haiya mie....u r my sifu loorr no need to say that....hehehe...just wanna keep the b16a block as the original part left.....but wit some modd...that's y wanna try type-r piston hehehe got stock aaa??

Go for B16B piston or forged piston. B16B piston can be plug and play but the small end of the B16a rods needs to be shaved 1mm each side or 1mm of each side of the internal of the piston to get some clearance. You might be able to get away with just pressing it onto the b16 rods without shaving but i won't risk it.

You don't need to rebore the block if the bore is still in good condition. But its not such a bad idea to have a fresh bore with 0.25mm oversized though. It all depends on your budget.

b16b piston on b16a block should give higher compression than stock b16b engine. :hmmmm: . i wonder which one is better... get the b16b complete block or just change b16b piston on b16a block...

Bump: b16b piston on b16a block should give higher compression than stock b16b engine. :hmmmm: . i wonder which one is better... get the b16b complete block or just change b16b piston on b16a block...