How good is TypeR piston into b16a block ?

evox2,
it would be better to use the b16a p30 pistons inside the 1.8L. the CTRs would yield a higher compression but then again its up to your choice. some ppl like it strong. some ppl like it safe and reliable and other combination mixture in the head.

hmmmm........i better belanja my alor star mech ehehehe he oso advised me on the reliability issue of B16B pistons plonked in a B16A block when i overhauled recently eheheh

i got this from the net

Approximate Compression Ratios
(when using 'R' Pistons in B-series engine(s)):
• Stock B16B CR=10:8
• B16B pistons in B16A CR=11:1ish
• B16B pistons in B17A CR=11.4ish
• B16B pistons in B18C w/GSR head CR=11.8 or more
• B16B pistons in B18C w/ITR or B16A head CR=11.6 or more

• P73 US pistons in B16A CR=10.4ish
• P73 US pistons in B17A CR=10.6ish
• P73 US pistons in B18C w/GSR head CR=10.8-9ish
• P73 US pistons in B18C w/ITR or B16A head CR=10.6
• P73 JDM pistons in B16A CR=10.6-7ish
• P73 JDM pistons in B17A CR=10.8ish
• P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/GSR head CR=11.3-4ish
• P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/ITR or B16A head CR=11.1

what ratio is consider safe with normal octane petrol?
P73 dome is higher than B16A but how come install into B16A yeild lower compression?

eddie if you still have used set or anyone have any used set do let me know .
drop me a PM interested buyer here .

So bottom line issit worth it ?

evox2,
u sure d P73 has a higher dome thn d P30 pistons?frm my naked eyes,i think d P30 is higher wor?

n err..i've seen alot of daily driven+lenjan B16A engine w PCT pistons inside...no problem oso?as long as u measured d clearance properly b4 torqueing down d head n fuelling is tuned properly..shud haf no problem ler.......

Grex_R tai kor , do you mean by what ever piston also can go in the block ?
Why FORD ? from what kind of FORD ?