How good is TypeR piston into b16a block ?

evoX2,
its either u retard ur ignition timing via ur distributor or run more fuel or run higher octane fuel..dat shud cure d knocking..........but thn again,u plonked in P73 pistons?aren't they actually lower thn ur stock P72 pistons?how did d knocking came abt?

zamrioo2,
J101 explained exactly wat i had in mind...does dat answer ur query?

J101,
u dun lar compare w US...sana lain...sini lain....tapi amoi sana ka sini ka wa semua suka..HAHAHAAAHAHA

crower75,
v dun do "charity drive"..nowadays,d in trend is ALL-JDM Convoy...hurh?dun understand..as in..no "EH" allowed?hehehehHHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAH

p72 have higher compression than p73? then how come b18cR compression higher than b18c gsr? both 1.8l, mind tell me more?

ps: i found this on the site.

P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/GSR head CR=11.3-4ish
P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/ITR or B16A head CR=11.1

p72 have higher compression than p73? then how come b18cR compression higher than b18c gsr? both 1.8l, mind tell me more?

ps: i found this on the site.

P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/GSR head CR=11.3-4ish
P73 JDM pistons in B18C w/ITR or B16A head CR=11.1

Still stuck on compression ratios ah exoX2..

compression ratio is dependent on a few things such as piston dome, swept volume, and combustion chamber volume.. those 3 things affect compression.

As for the gear ratio calculator you asked.. sorry, I totally forgot, and I had to rush to KL, so still have not been able to send it to you yet, it's on my desktop PC, and I haven't used that in a while. BTW, any of the forummers still keeping my gear ratio calculator? send it to evox2 please.

shiro i think bertapa in HondaLand miahahahahhahah

I was in Subang lah.. I posted in one of the threads where I was, but nobody called me oso for tt.

(>.
Finally went for minum with non-honda friends.. hahah :P

crower75,
i understand ur point..its just dat i disagree w d HT's statement dat u can't mill whn u plonk in d PCT pistons..dats all...
(i wonder whr's shiro?hehehehhe)
I agree with akuma...
can mill the head, actually, but you need to mill the piston valve reliefs as well. I don't think HT ever said that milling your head is bad, but do it only when it's necessary (a.k.a. warping)

Edit: if the warping isn't so bad to need a mill, there's always the choice of resurfacing, which is like milling, but less material is removed. But for me, it's considered milling as well, since machine shops usually use the same machine for it. Of course, some machine shops have the big machine that can take off chunks at one go, and they use that instead of the resurfacing machine, so maybe I should change my idea of resurfacing=milling.

Anyway, milling is for salvaging a warped head, not to increase compression.. it does that, but it's an el-cheapo way to do it. (Ahem.. must make note of how much 4032 Al forged pistons costs that makes this a viable option, at least in malaysia.. :P)

since milling make the valves sit closer to the pistons, so you make the holes where the valves might touch the piston deeperle if running high lift cams. one example is the one I posted a while back showing K24pistons, which had it's valve reliefs milled for clearance.

But I'm sure KL engine builders also know this one already... just sent it to them and tutup sebelah mata, but if you want to know how it's done, well.. hang around their shoplah/or their regular machine shop.. it's not as if they keep it a trade secret (at least it does seem that way to me..)

I follow JE's recommendation when thinking of valve piston clearance.. forgot the numbers already, they were in inches but you can see them on the piston papers. I think it was somewhere around 3mm for aluminium rods, and about 1mm than that for steel rods. Don't really remember the exact numbers, JE's the biggest clearance number I've seen.. most others are saying 1mm or less!

To simplify it.
More clearance needed for aluminium rods than normal steel rod setups, due to the fact that aluminium rods are more 'stretchable' than steel.

As for the cams being retarded when you get your head milled, well, that's one thing to think about as well, although there were reports that milled heads work pretty fine without their cams 'advanced to compensate/staying retarded?'. But like like akuma says, depends on how much material removed.

Naturally, since your ignition also depends on the cams (note the foot of your distributor goes where?) It would also be affected, but as with anyone who's ever DIY'ed a distributor replacement job, and knows how to use a timing light, this is something that's easy to sort out.

(if you're a honda B series owner that hasn't learnt, now is a good time to start if you're daily driving the car.. I think hattech-V is sifu for distributor replacement, he can take out, disassemble, change coils faster than most people. hhahaha.. ask hattech for this one.. He tells me he can do it very very fast..)

The was a general rule about the cams being retarded by xxx degree per xxxmm removed., I think 3mm-1deg, or was it 1mm-3deg for honda engines? I don't remember at all.. (>.<).. your engine builder would though, or he would have kept notes somewhere on it.

shiroi sifu..u better come back fast...allot of ppl believe in your technical advices..muahahuahauhaahauhauha.........i wanna sit back now and eat kitkats :p

Haha.. your technical advise oso okay what.

so in the end, in b18c gsr engine, p73 or p72 piston produce higher compression? :X-:

btw, how often did to change the distributor? if use the msd distributor or nology power coil got any different effect?

evox2, so which one has higher dome? P73 or P72?
Provided other variables are the same, you already have your answer?

The distributor, you change when it mampus'es lah.. :P (new word, hahaha.)

those high performance stuff, not many people use.. I only know one workshop owner that is using the big MSD unit. The few cars here using MDI, a japanese ignition control unit, with various degrees of success.

MSD distributor, depends on which one... I'm told that one MME car is using it, but I don't know who.

The MSD distributor, the one that is the cap set like OEM, places the contact for the rotor further apart to prevent 'arcing' where the electric jumps the air gap causing misfires.

So far, ignition systems still an alien world to me.. don't know much about it, nor do people I've talked to can explain it to me. So cannot help much in terms of ignition.

The only thing I know right now is that big plug gaps need bigger output coils... what kind of situation warrants it.. I have NO IDEA.

crower75,
v dun do "charity drive"..nowadays,d in trend is ALL-JDM Convoy...hurh?dun understand..as in..no "EH" allowed?hehehehHHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAH

whaaaaaaaaa.........dat one waaaaaaaaaayy below the belt oredi broo miahahahah.......

evo, get a 'gearcalc' for gear calculator...
find it using google using that keyword.

thanks. got it now. but i still cant understand how final drive works. it wont affect rpm drop during gear change but only maximum speed of each gear?

so what's the conclusion on putting a b16b type r into b16a standard block. it is reliable & performance wise? just plug and play rite?

its not pnp... u need to mill the conrod.. perfomance wise will give u better compression.. the disadvantage, it will give u less piston-valve clearance...
lots of b16a with pct piston end up by rip... hehe
n most of them at 9k+...

so..the the problem will be the valve clearance...and will result the engine knocking...hattech... just wanna ask u off topic question...what if i put a b16b head into b16a block...nothing bad will happened rite? coz im planning to get a b16b head complete with throttle body and intake manifold and put into a standard b16a block...usually whats the market price for those b16b head complete with throttle body and manifold cost at ur shop?

nothing will happen if u put type r head for ur b16a...
head complete around 2.5-3k. intake 1.4-1.5k

its already page no.8
i think hattech-v has given so many tips and i still see repeating question. just scroll up to page no.1 and read again.

putting a CTR piston into b16a block will require some machine work on the rods and also some TUNING to suit your engine application. some ppl may have extractors...some ppl may be using 80mm throttlebody...some ppl maybe using malaysia boleh 1 piece gasket. the tuning part is the key factor. all untune cars are consider highly explosive on the road when it starts to detontate. safc, hondata or whatever ure using must be tune to suit your engine.

its a bang for the buck upgrade using original honda parts if you cant afford aftermarket pistons.

Write your reply...