> b16a

Agreed. B-series is the BOMB! Haven't tried the K-series. But I bet it's even better. But I do heard from my foreman that frequent high-rev pressure may cause the oil to flood some part of the engine. Not very sure about this.

True that B16A head can withstand the pressure, but what about the issue above?

Can I say sumthg here?I'm actually amazed by how much emphasis is being put into going high rev.....i mean,do v really need 2 high rev IF it's not making any power?after a proper build,a dyno tuning session shud follow suit once d engine is properly run-in....check n identify d power region of ur engine.....so many times I hear ppl blow their engines(especially B20VTEC) coz they rev >9K,but frm their dyno graph..heck...it's not even making power after 8400rpm...so,y bother?
Wat I'm trying 2 say is,most,not all,engine failure is due 2 driver's fault.....altho i do admit dat d B20 block is relatively weak,but i do know a few relatively stock B20 bottom w B16 head pushing way beyond 240whp n only need periodic maintenance 2 keep it in tip top condition......n d fact is,dis owners know their engines n they never rev beyond it's power band in order 2 prolong d lifespan of their B20Vtecs.....
So,wat I'm trying 2 promote here is PROPER understanding of one's engine n 2 play within it's power region.....
hope we'll c more n more healthy strong Bseries instead of super strong but super troublesome Bseries...

Salute tok akuma....
well said...
if powerband till 7500 but still wants to rev till 9000...
hahahaha....
wats da point...

i was once like u, not too long ago, didn't really know anything but quite willing to learn (just lazy wanna use google =Pp) so let me try to break it down for u, correct me if im wrong sifu-sifu sekalian.

with a 2.0 block (b20), you gain more torque as torque and cc positively correlates. (bigger cc = more torque). the reason ppl use b16/18 head is solely for the vtec function. original b20 doesn't have vtec. its just a DOHC (new one not sure but we're talking about b20b). so matching the b16a head with a b20 block u get both. a vtec head with a powerful 2.0 torque monster block. however, the block isn't made for high rev, unlike b16/b18's, therefore, reliability would be your main issue.

b16a is no doubt a fun engine to drive, but after awhile the pull isn't there. same will go for b20.. hehe. making a b20 reliable? now that would require some well spent cash. to be honest, plonking in a stock b20 block with b16a head, wouldn't do much justice. power wise of course u will gain, but b20's stock piston has such low compression... 9-ish if i'm not mistaken?

thanks for clarify... i jz know little little detail oni..kekeke~paiseh

jombiee,
u'd b surprised how many out der ACTUALLY does just dat.....tekan d rpm until cut(if got rev cut) or until d engine blow(>10K rpm) whn der's really no point in doing so....my engine too is spec'd to go up to 10K rpm safely but my ECU cuts in @ 9400rpm...coz i certainly dun need d 10K rev limit or even d 9400 rev limit coz my max power comes in @ 8600rpm.....d only reason y i set d cut @ 9400rpm is so my rev will b much closer 2 Vtec point after every upshift...
oh yeah...n dun 4get abt d torque characteristic of one's engine too...can really help 2 keep d engine boiling aka in power band....

True, akuma. The purpose of revving a bit over is to make sure the next upshift is within the VTEC point. You're driving a manual, I assume?

Guys, I bought a CRV RD1 last year with B20B (ori block) with B16b head complete with apexi neo for vtec control. The rear drive propeller shaft removed. I don't drive like what sifu-sifu mentioned. Max rev ever is only 6K. Quite fun to drive compare to my sister's stock CRV RD1. Understand from my mach, this mod been done by one of the mach back from singapore...

sory 2 interrupt i think the main reason y b20 block can't rev very high is bcoz they dont have the oil spray n 2 do tht is bter 4 u 2 used b18c o b16b n tht come with $$$$ hehehe plus wht the otai say i truth u dont need 2 rev so high if the engine can't perform at high rev corect me if im wrong i just wnt 2 share wht i learn tq