AP holders...

20vturbo said:
whatever happen..r AP idah will still think she is right and thus, proton prices will still be high and import duti or tax still high...

yeah.. if set proton price too low then ppl wil say no standard.. if set too high ppl complain... oso duty n taxes they wont reduce de lar.. crazy mer.. if reduce more n more ppl wil consider imports cars ler... oso its a opportunity for government to earn big big money... "into pocket mayb" haha

Lennon said:
If they bar cars with the same range as Proton, AFTA will not happen, Japan Free Trade oso gone. Then we have to sell KLSE to some other contry liao............

This is silly man... After 20 years still need condom protection from G-man? WTF????

Look at Perodua, do they need protection? NO.

Look at Naza, do they need protection? NO.

Sack all the morons in Proton management and start with fresh team again. Pointless paying fat salaries to morons who can't do business.

Attention to brother KEANO,

i read ur posts in here....u seems like not so like our comments huh? all cucuk-cucuk us one? Come on la brother..look wider.......

right or wrong is depends on each individuals....sometimes u may say YES but people may say NO......so u gotta see thing from different angle........so u wil know

Since malaysia is a country berbilang kaum n stated that all races get d same treatment? so i ask u here......how comes Bumiputra given 70% n chinese (non-bumi) 30% for AP's only? how bout Indian? it is ones of our main races oso...u see my point?

we voice it out here...coz we dun understand what the hell government is doing.....even government oso Debate in PWTC recently for this AP's issue

acbc said:
This is silly man... After 20 years still need condom protection from G-man? WTF????

Sack all the morons in Proton management and start with fresh team again. Pointless paying fat salaries to morons who can't do business.

I second you.. what Proton need is not only reshuffle but complete change of management. sighh... are they hearing us or not?

how it affects other things in malaysia as well

crocky said:
Why should AP issued being raised, just bcoz of the proton sales very slow.

AP issue nutting to do with em...
i think few people know how this AP issue affects proton. in order to know, we have to talk about what we know so far, read about what others have said and if we can (this may take a lot of knowledge, experience and understanding of economy, engineering, business, politcal science...) come to know the connection AP has on not just the sole national car industry but how it affects other things in malaysia as well.

do we import a porn star

koolspyda said:
stats shows APs on vehicles of imported cars account very little impact on the overall auto car sales. so....

chances are the APs will continue, chances are the value of cars will be corrected hence a direct impact means CBU cars will cost even more.

Chance are, you will have only little choice but to drive a proton/national car next year onwards (unless your pay increases :D )

good luck malaysian.
what were the statistics meant to show? recently, the selangor mentri besar used statistics to show that selangor is a developed 'country' and the education standard of selangor is ranked 2nd best in the world.

statistics can be used to suit the needs of the person who wants to put forward a certain claim. people choose statistics that look good for them and make a story out of it while describing what is being presented.

looking at the same statistic, is it not apparent that the 'few' cars being imported per year generates much more revenue than the entire sales of cars produced locally? how can this not affect the local car industry?

one thing to question is how come thailand has become the favourite place to manufacture and assemble parts for big automotive companies? i wonder if this has anything to do with our great ability to import things rather than practice manufacturing and assembling things locally? remember the saying, "practice makes perfect"? perhaps foreigners are not confident we have the will and are willing to work hard at practicing so they entrust investments in those who do?

i believe we really need to practice many things locally. this is the only way we will know how to do things by ourselves. if we married a supermodel, do we import a porn star to 'bang' her for us?

so, i do think many things that happen are inter-related. it's easy to gather more understanding in this as we explore more details.

we need malaysians like this

Keano said:
N0bu said:
this is the exact mentality that is forcing us from developing...
so wht r u gonna do?! ur comments dont seem to contribute much to this forum. seem like u just bitchn bout sum inequality BS. wht didnt get AP izzit? if u really feel gungho about it take it sum place else whre hopefully it might make a diffrence, eg: papers, media, harakah whtver...
please give him a chance to express his ideas. afterall, he was talking about what he thinks is one of the reasons malaysia faces problems becoming a developed nation. this is an appropriate task for malaysians; to discuss ways to benefit our nation and to work towards making malaysia a great country in the world.

i think we need malaysians like this, right guys?

neither the developer nor the government loses money

reedoor said:
... how come ONLY bumis can buy houses in a lower price? how come other races need to pay so much but goverment still subsidying those "Dr. M mentioned holding tongkat" ppl, not all? ...
hmm... the government doesn't have a budget to subsidies purchases of homes by bumiputras. the cost of the discount given is passed to the other units allocated to non-bumiputras.

the entire cost of the project is calculated, then the cost of giving the discounts is added on, then the prices are adjusted appropriately to meet the requirements set by the government. so the cost of the discounts are borne by those who purchase 90% of the developed properties. neither the developer nor the government loses money out of this.

cossie said:
please give him a chance to express his ideas. afterall, he was talking about what he thinks is one of the reasons malaysia faces problems becoming a developed nation. this is an appropriate task for malaysians; to discuss ways to benefit our nation and to work towards making malaysia a great country in the world.

i think we need malaysians like this, right guys?
yea, he can express himself, but not asking ppl to go back where they shud b coming from, rite? we all are malaysian, rite?

until a study has been done

reedoor said:
hey man, just "THAT" particular point ONLY la... sigh...
how come he dint mention how to improve Proton's design & quality in order to b more competitive? y?
perhaps because it will mean a lot of people will lose their jobs at proton or they do not wish for a strike or do not want to admit making certain mistakes or perhaps he doesn't know what is appropriate until a study has been done properly.

neither developer nor goverment loses $ but non-bumi does...

cossie said:
hmm... the government doesn't have a budget to subsidies purchases of homes by bumiputras. the cost of the discount given is passed to the other units allocated to non-bumiputras.

the entire cost of the project is calculated, then the cost of giving the discounts is added on, then the prices are adjusted appropriately to meet the requirements set by the government. so the cost of the discounts are borne by those who purchase 90% of the developed properties. neither the developer nor the government loses money out of this.
thanks for the info... hope our bumi frens will understand our situation...

to show N0bu some respect

reedoor said:
yea, he can express himself, but not asking ppl to go back where they shud b coming from, rite? we all are malaysian, rite?
i was not begging all of us to give Keano the sole chance to say something while the rest of us keep quiet. i respect N0bu for sharing his points on how to develop malaysia since it is the malaysian way and i suggested that Keano look into that as well.

on the issue of who goes back to where they came from, in order to understand this clearly, i have earlier asked Keano where he comes from.

protection

acbc said:

perhaps those other entities are being protected in ways we do not know yet. hopefully if there is any hanky-panky going on in perodua and naza, we will know about it soon.

AFAIK proton is the only national car industry. perodua used to be the 2nd-phase of the national car industry (not anymore) and naza is not a national car industry.

perodua, as explained by its boss, had never faced any problems with competition because it is the sole supplier for its specific market segment. perodua holds a monopoly in making micro and mini cars. also, no one uses an AP to import a micro or mini car.

perodua essentially assemble vehicles closely related to the almighty toyota and naza follows suit using kia. both these methods will not benefit malaysians in learning the ups and downs of manufacturing our own cars and having technology flow to other sectors.

acbc said:
perhaps this is the only way to go forward. hopefully they have already done this and it is on its way to recovery. if not, this step cannot come sooner.

vote for opposition party in the next election that would solve a tleast some of the problem

isn't it sad to know that even if you do your part in voting you won't succeed in achieving what you really want. based on prior 'rumours' votes of the population that didn't vote or were not used were casted in favour for the ruling party BN.

not only that propaganda in m'sia is incredibly high. it reaches all across m'sia. they go everywhere telling the rakyat and kampung folk what their gov't is doing for them with NEP and other benefits, who wouldn't vote for the controlling party.

keep in mind whilst we are all talking in english (or those with the power to do so) we are the severe minority in this country. so many m'sians don't believe in the need or want to change their ways because things are comfortable for them. if, for example i keep giving person1 fish for the rest of his life what will he do when i die. as opposed to teaching person1 to fish so that when i am dead on gone he will still live on with the ability i have imparted on to him. m'sia is the former rather than the latter. even with all the benefits of education and freebies m'sians are so used to getting things easily why bother work for it otherwise?

maybe i am a bit off track, while its great people want to change the country but it doesn't seem like anything will not with gov't controlling newspapers and the news. what then? i feel that it is that question that provokes the most unrest and questioning of the direction of our nation.

it doesn't help that many others feel the same sentiment (don't like it get the heck out) towards chinese and indians and even mixed races. its a bit like an American telling a red indian to get the fxxk out of their America.... makes sense? :confused:

kudos to those who make the best of their heritage and oppurtunity i take nothing away from you and give you the utmost respect but i am sure you can see the forest for the trees.

i also often wonder what happened if BN got voted out... our country would be in disarray companies would pull out due to the fact that no other party has ever had an oppurtunity or experience to run the country .... its ludacris being stuck between this rock and hard place :eek:

anyway i forsee malaysia will become like atlantic city...if u know what i mean

honesty, dedication and spirit

deacon said:
... i also often wonder what happened if BN got voted out... our country would be in disarray companies would pull out due to the fact that no other party has ever had an oppurtunity or experience to run the country .... its ludacris being stuck between this rock and hard place
don't worry about this. government work is a lot like the bank. it is procedural. it is up to the official in charge of the department how closely and honestly the procedures are followed. also it is up to their intelligence, dedication and spirit to amend any procedure to make it better or more efficient.

government policies are also to formulate. you just see what you need, what others have done, the results and then select the method that hopefully will turn out for the best. again it depends on the attitude of the officials: honesty, dedication and spirit.

so don't worry about the experience; it is better to have no experience than to have experience ONLY in doing the wrongs things.