Amp - RM2k budget

Tru 4 x 65 is a great amp.
however, it is only 4 x 65 RMS.
I know this baby is under rated, but no matter how under rated, it definately will not go above 100RMS.
Some guru more into clean RMS then higher RMS.
Yet, some indicated more power = more head room...
I guess... the only way is to audit one and fell it ...

Back to your requirement, below 2Km above 100rms, not so big size, I guess Xetec amp is the answer loh ...
As is great but the size is a bit wider .. unless u go for the newer model but obviously cost more loh!

Hi, don't just asking amp around RM2K always ask that amp can macth with your comp & describe your comp also laa...all member give you opinion but at the end you regret it coz not suitable with your comp..

devil, the xetec amp still in our market kaa? I tot no longer..coz last time I'm not remmember who laa told me...the distributor/agent (Audioactive) has been stop import it...

devil said:
Tru 4 x 65 is a great amp.
however, it is only 4 x 65 RMS.
I know this baby is under rated, but no matter how under rated, it definately will not go above 100RMS.
Some guru more into clean RMS then higher RMS.
Yet, some indicated more power = more head room...
I guess... the only way is to audit one and fell it ...

Back to your requirement, below 2Km above 100rms, not so big size, I guess Xetec amp is the answer loh ...
As is great but the size is a bit wider .. unless u go for the newer model but obviously cost more loh!

devil: Ya man, we gotto listen to really know how good it is. Rated power is not everything. After coming across so many amplifiers with small power ratings (to today's standards) such as 40w x 2, 50w x 2, 50w x 4 etc. but easily out-perform other amps (in terms of sound quality, control and yes, power) rated 2-3 times higher RMS, I have told myself not to be deceived by power ratings alone.

Sometimes, it's almost too good to be true if you can find an amp that has a high power rating, yet sound great in SQ and reasonably cheap? It's like finding a high bhp car, looks good and solid in quality and cheap. Kinda tough unless the manufacturer is trying to do some charity or something.

oldskolboyz said:
Hi, don't just asking amp around RM2K always ask that amp can macth with your comp & describe your comp also laa...all member give you opinion but at the end you regret it coz not suitable with your comp..

devil, the xetec amp still in our market kaa? I tot no longer..coz last time I'm not remmember who laa told me...the distributor/agent (Audioactive) has been stop import it...

That's an extremely good point. Find an amp to match the comp's character.

Stricken: Which series of MB Quart are you running?

Juno: A tube Butler matches your DLS quite nicely. A forumer, friend Bert has two units of the TDB2150 for sale at RM2100 each. Do PM him.

oldskolboyz said:

I think got leh! I m sure KF or SQ should have it. I hv been away from msia for months ..... So, ask around loh.. hehe!

calvinhpk said:
Tru 4.65 is not a very long amp la....
dimension about 13" x 11" x 3"
the long and big one is TO3
anyway....juz to let u know....i chose a/d/s/ rather than the 4.65...and no regret.... :D

tats already too long for my kcar :biggrin:

hey guys, Auto-world have 1 guy selling his ZAPCO amp with RM2500 (brand new).

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?summary=1&Forum=ap343624697&access=1&status=1&subject=High+End+Zapco+Competition+Amp

Thanks for the recommendation mnkh27. However, I was thinking of getting something with 4 ch . Read the review on the Butler - quite remarkable.

mnkh0027 said:
devil: Ya man, we gotto listen to really know how good it is.

mike,
is like those report on some girls huh ..
reveiw indicated she is good .. until you try it personally, you won't know how accomandating she will be huh? :P

I have a unit of http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=970074#post970074 - 50 x 4 amp for sale.

hi guys..

thanks for all ur input.. my comps are MB quarts but seriously dunno what model .... i bought it for around RM800+ early this yr when i was very blurr on ICE matters ... wud like to upgrade to better speakers in the near future...so.. just going for amp + sub now

Someone told me that MB Quarts are similar to Focals in the sense that they are both a bit bright/harsh sounding and shud be partnered with 'warmer' amps..... is this true?

JonC said:
I have a unit of http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=970074#post970074 - 50 x 4 amp for sale.
Jon,

How abt ur 350.2,u r going to sell also..How much..??

Oooo like tat aa, I think Orion G5 XTR900.2,vs DLS 12', RS Audio 12', Bravox 12', Rainbow 12', Alpine type R 12' ....try ask mnkh27..did he still keeping stock for Orion G5 XTR900.2...before raya that time he offer me 1 but I can not take it coz raya it coming....by this year end I will chase him for that stuff looorr coz got bonus oledi ...haa haa :rock:

If u looking for sub-amp...i have a slightly Used Orion HCCA250G5 for sale....
2x50W @ 4ohm
1x200W @ 4ohm
1x400W @ 2ohm
1x800W @ 1ohm..

rating at 12V

whizac said:
Jon,

How abt ur 350.2,u r going to sell also..How much..??

Will sell it abit later as i have a symbilink balance line converter that is on its way back from the US.... will sell it together with the 350.2

JonC said:
Will sell it abit later as i have a symbilink balance line converter that is on its way back from the US.... will sell it together with the 350.2
I got feeling the item arrived liao .. go contact the logistic company :D

Dear all...

Just wanna let u know that i've finally installed it!! :rock:
Finally decided on Tehnichi, got the Xetec 4 ch amp with PHD comps and PHD 10" subwoofer plus soundproofing 2 doors.

I'm very happy with the sound and the installation, very nice and neat :smile: :smile: :smile:

All in all spent RM5350.

Thanks for all ur input- cheers :dancing2: