advice needed for buying a modified car...

Yeah, sure is. Normally got 7 people including me at home. Festive season got more than 10 people...

Eh, don't go out of topic, faster continue about modified cars. :biggrin:

Any mods also on topic riiiight. Can you get japanese shocks to be serviced around here? I'm thinking of getting Jap brands for my suspension setup, but unsure of the servicing and reliability of used ones. :slug:

I'm not sure about this but I think servicing for shocks should be something most reputable workshops are capable of? My car is stock only.... :banghead:

ahhhh,finally have some time to reply,was busy whole day :D
actually no la,my english not that good la especially my grammar @.@ still learning the proper english lol...
anyway,so 4age in ae111 is a no go?civic is something higher than my budget now tho,about 35k right?since my budget now is 23k and below.
haha!maybe im alittle too obsessed with 300bhp :P hate myself for being a number guy :P trying to find a perfect balance(price/maintenance/performance/fuel) for my next ride tho,trying to spend what it worth.as some of you mention earlier one of the N/A mivec engine,what was that again?4g92 is it? anyway,goodnight guys,thanks for being so helpful wish i could do something in return :) peace out...

I'm not sure about this but I think servicing for shocks should be something most reputable workshops are capable of? My car is stock only.... :banghead:
Not too sure about that, you know how they say some shops dont use original parts, yada yada. :smoking:
actually no la,my english not that good la especially my grammar @.@ still learning the proper english lol...
anyway,so 4age in ae111 is a no go?civic is something higher than my budget now tho,about 35k right?since my budget now is 23k and below.
haha!maybe im alittle too obsessed with 300bhp :P hate myself for being a number guy :P trying to find a perfect balance(price/maintenance/performance/fuel) for my next ride tho,trying to spend what it worth.as some of you mention earlier one of the N/A mivec engine,what was that again?4g92 is it? anyway,goodnight guys,thanks for being so helpful wish i could do something in return :) peace out...
4G93 and 4G63 also has NA variants? Of course theres 4G92 as well. Heh.

I'm sure you'll be able to improve your english easily as it wasn't really bad.

4A-GE is fine but better remain it as NA. If you want to go for forced induction, the 4A-GZE is the more suitable choice than BOT to 4A-GE.

23k and below for Civic is possible if you are fine with older 1980s model like the EF Civic generation... Or probably some 4 door EG Civics as well.

Yes, the 1.6 litre NA MIVEC engine mentioned is 4G92 DOHC MIVEC. Most people here are helpful provided if you are genuinely seeking help and advice over here. I started out as a newbie over here as well and there are a lot of members that has given me advice throughout my time over here.

Not too sure about that, you know how they say some shops dont use original parts, yada yada. :smoking:

4G93 and 4G63 also has NA variants? Of course theres 4G92 as well. Heh.

Then leave the question about shocks to the sifus to answer later. :biggrin:

4G93 and 4G63 both have SOHC and DOHC NA variants. 4G63 SOHC NA can be found in early models of Perdana which is the SEI model.

Not rich enough to do so. Looked like got a lot of cars but mostly are cheap cars. :rofl:

Then easy to choose one and mod......hhahahhah:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:51 AM ----------

Get new ones loh! Local ones also okay nowadays and buy serviceable ones. My rear ones on the VR now transferred to my Hyundai which has gone slightly soft but used for 13 years already. Won't be able to handle VR power now but on the Hyundai just nice....:biggrin:

Then easy to choose one and mod......hhahahhah:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:51 AM ----------

Get new ones loh! Local ones also okay nowadays and buy serviceable ones. My rear ones on the VR now transferred to my Hyundai which has gone slightly soft but used for 13 years already. Won't be able to handle VR power now but on the Hyundai just nice....:biggrin:
Probably going for BC lor like that. :biggrin: See what I can get first...

A little information from a regular toyota here. Locally people generalized ae111 all together, for you to know first variant it's actually ae110 year 1996-1997, the actual ae111 ranged from 1998 to 2002. (Off the record ae111 with 4AGE still in production up to 2006 in South African).

So i can roughly tell you once you know the right person to go for, parts are actually widely available.

With 18k, you can find ae111 with 4age ready. With 20k you most find came along some aftermarket, jdm/usdm/euro whatever converted kit.

An alternative is getting stock ae111 and swap for 2zzge. Lovely NA 1.8 from zzt231. Lotus Exige adopted similar engine :) An easier to squeeze horses engine rather than 4age.

Turbo ey ? I do know local who slap 600whp on a 4agte. Anyway that does not suit your perfect balance(price/maintenance/performance/fuel)

Quite numerous adjustable service around, mostly will tell you first "TEIN SERVICE available" i do find this local mentality to worship Tein. Outcome of servicing relies on two things, their workmanship of re-installation and choices of gas for absorber. But of course, i could name you places depending which shock maker you have.

A little information from a regular toyota here. Locally people generalized ae111 all together, for you to know first variant it's actually ae110 year 1996-1997, the actual ae111 ranged from 1998 to 2002. (Off the record ae111 with 4AGE still in production up to 2006 in South African).

So i can roughly tell you once you know the right person to go for, parts are actually widely available.

With 18k, you can find ae111 with 4age ready. With 20k you most find came along some aftermarket, jdm/usdm/euro whatever converted kit.

An alternative is getting stock ae111 and swap for 2zzge. Lovely NA 1.8 from zzt231. Lotus Exige adopted similar engine :) An easier to squeeze horses engine rather than 4age.

Turbo ey ? I do know local who slap 600whp on a 4agte. Anyway that does not suit your perfect balance(price/maintenance/performance/fuel)

Quite numerous adjustable service around, mostly will tell you first "TEIN SERVICE available" i do find this local mentality to worship Tein. Outcome of servicing relies on two things, their workmanship of re-installation and choices of gas for absorber. But of course, i could name you places depending which shock maker you have.
I'm honestly thinking of either Zeal, Cusco or HKS. Probably ohlins too if I can.

Go to post #14
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/wheel-and-tyre/445226-titan-adjustable-suspension-very-bumpy-cant-find-a-better-result-with-them.html

After that come back and seriously put on a budget for a good one at least for not short-term. Suspension is not something like changing steering wheel or bodykit. If it is the wrong one for you, you get to suffer and withstand with all that uncomfortable. Until you get yours current sold or could afford different one.

Go to post #14
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/wheel-and-tyre/445226-titan-adjustable-suspension-very-bumpy-cant-find-a-better-result-with-them.html

After that come back and seriously put on a budget for a good one at least for not short-term. Suspension is not something like changing steering wheel or bodykit. If it is the wrong one for you, you get to suffer and withstand with all that uncomfortable. Until you get yours current sold or could afford different one.
So true. Suspension oh suspension. :slug:

Dear ts aka brian,
I am from melaka.sometimes i hang out at my friend's burger stall at CIMB Cheng.If u see a 1.8 waja,blm with rear arb, or pajero park there then drop by.maybe u can take me for a ride in yr new fast ride...hahah

if u want to get a modded car or any quite powerful 2nd hand car i do suggest going with someone that has in depth knowledge on that car.dont go with someone with so-so knowledge.

Dear ts aka brian,
I am from melaka.sometimes i hang out at my friend's burger stall at CIMB Cheng.If u see a 1.8 waja,blm with rear arb, or pajero park there then drop by.maybe u can take me for a ride in yr new fast ride...hahah

if u want to get a modded car or any quite powerful 2nd hand car i do suggest going with someone that has in depth knowledge on that car.dont go with someone with so-so knowledge.

How to see a BLM with rear ARB? :driver:

Dun worry,its back on stock spring so the white thing sticks out.
Plus,makes it easier for me to know its him
He will be bending over to look for the bar...hahaha

But might not be bro. brian, as it might be bro. issuzark.......:biggrin::biggrin:

Dear ts aka brian,

What is this? Location put Negeri Sembilan plak.

Dun worry,its back on stock spring so the white thing sticks out.
Plus,makes it easier for me to know its him
He will be bending over to look for the bar...hahaha

Oh man. Bend for what? :stupid: