4g91

Originally posted by alvin24@Apr 24 2005, 22:57
hmmm... eterna wan i not sure lar.

The lift height exactly how much i also forgot liauz... hahahaha. Remember the height difference only. Hahaha... sorry.
[snapback]923903[/snapback]​

hey 4g91 master, can i put the 1.8 block with 4g91 head? if can, how many power i gain?

can... reliability no guarantees... coz' the bore of the 4G91 and 4G93 is different... so who knows what might happen? Compression sickness, gasket leaks too easily... etc.

If u do get a 1.8 block... u'll be faster than a 4G91, but slower than a 4G93... my opinion, not much point. Might as well get a 4G93 complete engine and drop in... else u'll be suffering driving a 1.8 with a 4G91 gearbox anywayz coz' the ratios are too close... nice for dragging yes, but when u're cruising, its pretty suffering coz' ur revs are going to be pretty high.

But anywayz... mods are more on personal preference lar. If you think it'll satisfy u, then by all means go ahead. There's no "ONE" ultimate way to mod cars... everyone has their own ideas, opinions and priority list when it comes to modding cars. Go with which u think is best for u

Originally posted by alvin24@Apr 24 2005, 22:57
hmmm... eterna wan i not sure lar.

The lift height exactly how much i also forgot liauz... hahahaha. Remember the height difference only. Hahaha... sorry.
[snapback]923903[/snapback]​

is ok, thanks anyway... :)

Originally posted by alvin24@Apr 25 2005, 01:31
can... reliability no guarantees... coz' the bore of the 4G91 and 4G93 is different... so who knows what might happen? Compression sickness, gasket leaks too easily... etc.

If u do get a 1.8 block... u'll be faster than a 4G91, but slower than a 4G93... my opinion, not much point. Might as well get a 4G93 complete engine and drop in... else u'll be suffering driving a 1.8 with a 4G91 gearbox anywayz coz' the ratios are too close... nice for dragging yes, but when u're cruising, its pretty suffering coz' ur revs are going to be pretty high.

But anywayz... mods are more on personal preference lar. If you think it'll satisfy u, then by all means go ahead. There's no "ONE" ultimate way to mod cars... everyone has their own ideas, opinions and priority list when it comes to modding cars. Go with which u think is best for u
[snapback]924254[/snapback]​

Thank for ur comments & advice! So if I decide to combine the 1.8 blocks with 4g91 head probably what parts I must change & what part I can remain like gearbox, piston, valve & etc. beside that any problem will be encounter & its solutions. Pls advice & give comment to me.

* May I know is there any 4g91 club in Malaysia? I want to join!

I still think plonking in a comeplete 4G93 engine would be better. More reliable, and u might end up spending about the same or just slightly more.

IF u were to REALLY wanna just plonk in a 1.8 block... you're going to have to purchase a complete block with pistons, conrods, everything inside the block lah! Coz' nothing in your 4G91 block u can use in your 4G93 block... as I've mentioned, the bore size is different. Extractor also u might have to change, coz' i think 4G91 extractor won't fit the now higher block. Then u gotta pay for installation which is quite expensive coz u're sorta like doing this semi-overhaul. NEw gasket set.

You'll also have to worry about your now 1.8 fueling... so have to go for rechip ECU or at least an SAFC. When all is done how much already man u've spent? Oh yes, not to mention you're probably going to have to get a 1.8 flywheel and clutch... coz' else ur 4G91's one might slip. Do take note that none of the removed items are hot items in the market, so even if u sell it cheap cheap, nobody might wanna buy.

Compression ratio might lari... and one of the more famous problems for this kinda conversion would be leaking black oil, or blowing the gasket.

Might as well go for complete 4G93, which is usually around 3k... plonk it in and sell off your 4G91... probably can compensate for the installation cash. So u'll just end up spending around 3k.

Worth it or not... u ownself think lah.

Originally posted by alvin24@Apr 25 2005, 11:07
I still think plonking in a comeplete 4G93 engine would be better. More reliable, and u might end up spending about the same or just slightly more.

IF u were to REALLY wanna just plonk in a 1.8 block... you're going to have to purchase a complete block with pistons, conrods, everything inside the block lah! Coz' nothing in your 4G91 block u can use in your 4G93 block... as I've mentioned, the bore size is different. Extractor also u might have to change, coz' i think 4G91 extractor won't fit the now higher block. Then u gotta pay for installation which is quite expensive coz u're sorta like doing this semi-overhaul. NEw gasket set.

You'll also have to worry about your now 1.8 fueling... so have to go for rechip ECU or at least an SAFC. When all is done how much already man u've spent? Oh yes, not to mention you're probably going to have to get a 1.8 flywheel and clutch... coz' else ur 4G91's one might slip. Do take note that none of the removed items are hot items in the market, so even if u sell it cheap cheap, nobody might wanna buy.

Compression ratio might lari... and one of the more famous problems for this kinda conversion would be leaking black oil, or blowing the gasket.

Might as well go for complete 4G93, which is usually around 3k... plonk it in and sell off your 4G91... probably can compensate for the installation cash. So u'll just end up spending around 3k.

Worth it or not... u ownself think lah.
[snapback]925025[/snapback]​

thank!!

so if i just remain the stock 4g91, how can i mod to achieve higher hp? i heard that some of you can go until 190hp!!!!!!! is it true? if i just want to achieve 130-140 hp with 4g91, what should i do & how much i need to spend?

pls advice!!!!!

I think the 190hp 4G91 is a myth... of all my years playing car, i've never seen an n/a mod till get double the hp! vtecs also can't do it... how u expect a 4g91 to achieve that?

anywayz... to reach 130-140hp on a 4G91 on engine can be reached easily with a couple of thousands spent inside the car. To achieve 130-140 on wheel, u're probably going to have to go over the 10k budget line. 4G91 ori has 115hp on engine... which just so happens to be quite accurate. Plonk in high cams, pnp head, fully balanced engine, lower the compression by adding a 0.4-0.5mm metal gasket, and retune the fueling with electronics... i think u could just about touch 140hp on engine.

Wanna mod car, its best to work with your budget...

nolar... dun say me until like that lar... i just tell what i know. =)

alvin sifu!
i read from others topic
that u say the 1.3 and 1.5 gear box is with the same ratio is it true???

if it is true than is the ratio for 4G91 and 1.3 the same??
will have any different in pick up and top speed!

because if i used back my 1.3 GB will help me to save alot of money about RM 600 leh so good!

badguy....same 1 leh....even if lets say not same....wat u get from the 1.3 is shorter ratio..=more pick up...

4G91 GB is sama ratio with 4G93 1.8 sohc version ...
have a guy upgrade his 91 engine into 93 ... all the parts was remain, included ecu, air flow sensor all ..
the result is : good fuel consumption( 12sen per km ), power as same as 93 complete convertion. compare with 93 ecu, the different is 2nd gear with low rpm can feel a little jeking, other than this ... no issue at all .. myself plan to upgrade with this method too .. save and fast to 130ps on wheel ........

badguy,
Sure u can use back ur 1.3 gearbox and save cash... but then 4G91 manual gearbox comes with clutch pump mar... if not mistaken 1.3 gearbox is running on cable right? Ratio is the same yes, but your clutch will be stiffer loh coz' running on cable... and u can't use racing clutch, else your firewall will crack in time... that or ur clutch cable will putus every now and then.

4G91 has the same ratio as a 4G13 and 4G15, you dun have to believe me, u can always check your gearbox ratio on your own (starts with F5M21... 1.6/1.8 gearbox starts with F5M22)... :) :)

Originally posted by boyzone@Apr 25 2005, 20:41
4G91 GB is sama ratio with 4G93 1.8 sohc version ...
have a guy upgrade his 91 engine into 93 ... all the parts was remain, included ecu, air flow sensor all ..
the result is : good fuel consumption( 12sen per km ), power as same as 93 complete convertion. compare with 93 ecu, the different is 2nd gear with low rpm can feel a little jeking, other than this ... no issue at all .. myself plan to upgrade with this method too .. save and fast to 130ps on wheel ........
[snapback]926720[/snapback]​

Impossible...
The rojak engine surely won't last, won't get good fuel consumption (without knocking) and would be no where near the power of a properly transplanted 4G93.

Alvin,

If i'm not mistaken the 4g91 gbox have both variant, cable and hydraulic.. in term of ratio i'm not sure .. however the ratio of the gbox is not determined by the front code.. even though it comes from the same family, the four letter code is the code for its the ratio.. eg F5M211 XXXX.. mine is F5M222 VRZG.. its from a 1.6 gbox family but ratio is equal or closer than a 1.3 (denoted by the VRZG code).. i presume it is from a Mivec..

Btw, no point having the lower engine transplanted into your car because you will have to reregister as it is diff already (since the block carry the engine serial no).. unless u r planning to do it underground.. but still not worth as transplanting the whole engine would be cheaper and more reliable (if u can register it in the first place)..

Did i hear sombody askin bout a club?? hmm, why not we start one then.. i think we will get a good response.. :unsure:

I'm just giving a guideline la dude... 1.3, 1.5 using SAME gearbox so will get the SAME starting number which is F5M21..... and they do share the SAME ratios. The ratios are of course determined by the full code lar, else there wouldn't have need to be any more than just the first 5 code letter/alphabets now would there? But i'm just trying to tell the difference between 1.3/1.5 and 1.6 is that one is F5M21 and the other F5M22... get it? Coz' i forgot the full code name mar...

And if not mistaken all 4G91 comes with hydraulic clutch... so far i've never seen a 4G91 halfcut thats cable. Of course just because i've never seen it doesn't mean there isn't one... but seriously, i've never seen one or heard about a cable clutch 4G91 halfcut.

Originally posted by tajulsans@Apr 25 2005, 23:24
Alvin,

If i'm not mistaken the 4g91 gbox have both variant, cable and hydraulic.. in term of ratio i'm not sure .. however the ratio of the gbox is not determined by the front code.. even though it comes from the same family, the four letter code is the code for its the ratio.. eg F5M211 XXXX.. mine is F5M222 VRZG.. its from a 1.6 gbox family but ratio is equal or closer than a 1.3 (denoted by the VRZG code).. i presume it is from a Mivec..

Btw, no point having the lower engine transplanted into your car because you will have to reregister as it is diff already (since the block carry the engine serial no).. unless u r planning to do it underground.. but still not worth as transplanting the whole engine would be cheaper and more reliable (if u can register it in the first place)..

Did i hear sombody askin bout a club?? hmm, why not we start one then.. i think we will get a good response.. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif alt='unsure.gif' />
[snapback]927178[/snapback]​

hi tajulsans.. i think yr gb is mivec lar... b'cos there was zth member who try to con me by selling 4wheel gb saying its LSD... when we meet my foremen he told me tht its not LSD.... n ask me look for gb with code 222, cos that cums from mivec ... n is gud for 4G91....
abt the club thing i agree wit... lets start 1 asap...cheers

mivec oso close ratio gearbox.. of coz' good mar! hehehez... dun see much of a point of having LSD on 4G91 though... our engine not THAT powerful till need LSD mar.

club club all wanna start meh? I aledi in dunno how many clubs man! Hahaha... just have a 4G91 yum cha session first, den oni we see where to go on from there lar. =)

Hi Guys :) ,

I'm new here. Pls ' tunjuk ajar'. When I read this forum, i feel very proud to be one of 4g91's member. I really can't believe that 4g91 can produce 140 bhp.

For 4g91's sifu,
I want to ask u about the mod that i can make to upgrade my 4g91. If i change my cam shaft to cam shaft 1.8 + adjustable cam pulley and change my extractor to extractor 1.8 Gti. This mod can upgrade my 4g91 performance? How much it will cost me? :rolleyes:

I ask one mech regarding upgrading my ECU combox.He said that it will give a pickup and save fuel. Cost aroud RM500.For your opinion, upgrade the ECU can make changes or not?
What else i need to mod to get the power of 4g91 to be 140 bhp? But in the same time try to save some FC? :P

Thank you everybody for support 4g91.