DC5 Advice

lol... no ccard o... ATM card only.. haha..
saw a used Mugen ecu, rm3k+ ok ma? or better save more $ go for hondata? coz no much budget now..:bawling::bawling:

rm3k++ i think a little bit pricy. better save more money and go for hondata instead.

yks-----if ur car is stock, better go for other mods first. Exhaust and intake stuff like that. Then opt for Hondata.

actually i need recommendation not brands haha. anyway thx boss :biggrin:

Mugen N1 or J's Racing both also 70mm and its good for performance nut loud like crazy
if you wan somethings loud when v-tech kick in looking for kakimotor/5 zigen fireball might a good idea

Mugen N1 or J's Racing both also 70mm and its good for performance nut loud like crazy
if you wan somethings loud when v-tech kick in looking for kakimotor/5 zigen fireball might a good idea

u r rite loo...border max 304 is always in loud mode! sometimes u cant even hear when the vtec kicks in.

5 zigen fireball is a good choice! and cheap too.

thx subcon for dat vid. mugen n1 shud be cool for me.
anyway to describe the sound of 5zigen fireball ? or probably almost the same with others ..

thx subcon for dat vid. mugen n1 shud be cool for me.
anyway to describe the sound of 5zigen fireball ? or probably almost the same with others ..

i think if im not mistaken one of our member here (hasukyo) is using the mugen n1. perhaps he can describes better...

so. if used kakimoto N1 catback from halfcut for rm1000. is it reasonable.

I just bought the DC5 R about 3 months ago and I think it’s a good buy. For me the fuel consumption is good. The stock suspension quite stiff but I think should be no problem for daily commute.

DC5 R + track day = better than sex

But, IMHO if you have more budgets, then better go with the new civic type R

i will add more later.

Whats the difference of performance betwwen dc5r and fd2r? (tot the engine is the same, but do the gear ratios same too?)

Which handling is better? ( in term of track use)

cheers!!

fd2r is proven by honda to be better. go get it then i can tumpang drive. ... somebody will answer it better..:sleep:

i think if im not mistaken one of our member here (hasukyo) is using the mugen n1. perhaps he can describes better...

no la subcon, i'm not using mugen n1, using spoon n1 type tail silencer , muffler only ..cold start idling quite loud but after that not that loud.when vtec kicks in oso cant notice but after i use gruppem then baru syiok!
hehehe..

mugen n1 hard to find and very expensive i think, if twin loop many la, last time i saw at amoil, mugen n1 nearly 6k !

i want hondata but too expensive!

Guys guys guys guys :biggrin:

Fobs:
Please, do bring the Evo 7 to the track ..... i love Evo's :thefinger:
And you're right about 1 thing ......... NA tuning is BLOODY expensive!
RM10,000 for 10whp is right for NA
RM 10,000 for a turbo ......... my god, can get about 100whp ........ life's a b*tch :thefinger:

YKS228:
Adrian, you've been missing for quite some time :biggrin: what monster project have you been up to?

don't bother with a mugen ECU, it's a waste of money. as it is non tunable. in fact, it doesn't suit most aftermarket camshafts even.....

most tuner's will recommend this path: Intake, Extractor, Exhaust to start with.
me, I went different path , i went for handling first , then only the intake and exhaust.
try whacking the car around, see what you feel needs the most attention first :biggrin:
there was one idiot, his first few mods were: low-temperature thermostat, fan-switch and radiator cap !!!!! :biggrin:

but seriously, decide from the start how much comfort you want, the more extreme the mod, the less drivable it is.

my car now ............... i hate driving it to work ...... in fact, i find myself hating my car most of the time!!!!!! :biggrin:

Undermine:
Terry ! welcome to the forum!
you're kind of famous, i ran into some buddies of yours the other day. Jerry & Rick , both DC5 owners, you remember them?

Subcon:
bro :biggrin: the source told me not to tell people publicly ............. i'll tell you later when i see you:biggrin:
only for serious purchasers..........

Prasath:
the j's racing 70RR has inner diameter of 70mm , full titanium construct, single resonator/muffler and comes with a de-cat pipe. doesn't really fit other extractors like toda's, if not mistaken.

Kari-Ayam:
DC5R's and FD2R's are quite identical in terms of the engine, except for a few facts, as i previously mentioned earlier in this thread.
1) Intake manifold design
2) Extractor Manifold design
3) surface of pistons has slightly higher compression

the othe parts are identical, right down to the item part code, if not mistaken.

Haksuyo:
mate, Hondata is relatively cheap, if you compare to the tuning :biggrin:

Whats the difference of performance betwwen dc5r and fd2r? (tot the engine is the same, but do the gear ratios same too?)

Which handling is better? ( in term of track use)

cheers!!

Honda claims the FD2R's body is 50% more rigid than the previous DC5 Type R, and in back to back tests the FD2R was on average 1 second quicker than the DC5R at the Tsukuba Circuit.

i chose DC5R over FD2R simply bcoz of two reasons
i)DC5R is much cheaper so that i have more money to mod
ii)I always wanted a coupe

so choose wisely!:biggrin:

Subcon- so do u have any idea who will be joining us? looks like none of them are interested.

i will go n see look see look.. hehe
wat time u guys go?

adrian,

just bring a crash helmet incase we manage to poison you to participate! apa brand pun ok!

i'll be coming from kajang so we meet first at KLIA tol plaza 1.30 pm sharp!

only 3 people confirmed rite now!

i) prasath - participant
ii) subcon - co-pilot
iii)yks228 - look first n then participate:biggrin:

adrian- why look look only.... lets burn the track man....

raja- abang raja tak datang ke?:biggrin::biggrin:

bb1 man- halo brother! hows life? forget dc5 kakis already ar?

vagabond- tim ur coming for the track day?