RX7 FD market survey

tom's

Alo guys.......i'm planning to get a car soon once i sold my car(within 2 weeks)
and FD is 1 of my choices........i dunno much about rx7......can someone show some lights.......hahaha

If anyone seen any for sale hope u dun mind telling me.....i saw some in star n motor trader but so far haven't visit any of them yet.....

Alvin
012-2249991

Do u have a spare everyday car to use??? If u don't then I'd suggest u get one if u're gonna buy an RX7. These babies don't like jams, heat and petrol mileage. If it's for leisure only then welcome to the club. I know that some people will disagree with me but this is my input-la so guys don't kill me at the track day ah!:mouth_closed:

rx7

Alo guys.......i'm planning to get a car soon once i sold my car(within 2 weeks)
and FD is 1 of my choices........i dunno much about rx7......can someone show some lights.......hahaha

If anyone seen any for sale hope u dun mind telling me.....i saw some in star n motor trader but so far haven't visit any of them yet.....

Alvin
012-2249991

just dont pay more than 50k for "92 rx7 with all the cooling parts!

em...I willing to pay for my 2nd Fd if anybody willing to let go within 50k....

just dont pay more than 50k for "92 rx7 with all the cooling parts!

Good things not cheap ~ Cheap things not good.

You buy at 50k then you spend another 30k buying junkyard parts which will last 6 months if you're lucky. After that you'll come to this forum and ask for help. We'll remind you what a cheapskate you were in the first place!! ;)

Sounds like in your face!!!! but i agree......

phat7 said:

Lotsa people hoping to drag down the values of used performance cars by arbitrarily pulling figures out of the thin air.

Maybe hoping to bring it down to a level that they can finally afford?

Thing about these cars are that they are rare, and it's really come to the point that it's a seller's market. At the age they are at, the poorly looked after ones have already been consigned to the scrap heap while the ones that are still running will be able to command a value that, while some may say is not commensurate with their age, can be justifiable by the owner.

Never let people lowball you when you have something special to sell, especially not when it's something as special as an RX-7.

Yup.....i agree wif theseira..... U need a spare car...... When i bought y previous FD i decided a month later that i need a 2nd car. Soooo, i got myself a Civic EK for everyday use...... The fuel consumption (cost) in a month alone can pay for a second car......

I was glad i bought a second car anywayz, coz........ my FD spent half of its life with me in the workshop !!!!!!!!! Mostly getting the engine rebuilt/ swapped and 3 other times with broken rear diff. ....................... If memory serves me right, i went thru 3 rebuilts and 3 swaps (engine kosong)........ 6 in all...................

Now i drive an Rx8 and being very carefull with the engine and transmission.......... And....... hahahaha....... i have a spare car for this osso............

phat7 is correct... cheap thing no good... good thing no cheap...

although i'm not selling mine, but easily, if i were selling my price will be 75K and above asking price... those well maintained cars are around that price....

get a 50K car and you spend the rest of your time in workshop, not because u play too much, it's u got a crap car...

effie's case.... let the forum know how many clutch plate you finished in a year time....:P

imagine how hard he play :P bwahahahah effie, cheers........ you're the man !!!

even bare minimum stock to the max car also shouldn't be less than 60 K..... 50 K can... go get a FD shell only.. get engine kosong... and start your transplant... that should set you off a 40 to 50 K bill... TPT for car completion.. 1 year la :P before u 1st put your throttle on it.

Last edited by a moderator:
U could buy my FC for that kinda price and still have lotsa change to go drinking with the RE club members.:_:

There's a Black Mark 5 1991 model FC being advertised in Motor Trader that's really tempting to buy....... Im a sucker for the last batch FC's...... I especially like the front factory spoiler/ splitter.......... It would make a nice project car......

But, i think i'll be patient and save enuff moolah to get myself an R34 GTR V-Spec II......... I don't think id end up selling my 8 though....... The biggest regret in my life (pertaining to cars), would be selling my FD....!!!!! Man, i wish i could turn back time....... 2 months after selling my FD (back in 2000), i was like...WTF...... WHAT have i done....... !!!!

Never will i make that mistake again !!!!

haha....

The sad fact is that the Rx7s retention of value directly commensurates with people's perceptions of the rotary.

Due to the bad vibes/misconceptions/ignorance, the myth of unreliability and fragile nature of the rotary further confounds and feeds this value's downward spiral.

On a selfish personal level, I actually prefer it that way as it makes the car a whole lot more affordable and rare. Good Bang for buck and on top of that, you actually get to collect them.

The rotary is different and alternative, I am different and alternative. Keep it that way....

Armed with healthy and good advice, the FD will be the best car you've ever bought in your life (for under RM100K). Arm yourself with shitty input however dooms you to the most painful purchase you could ever put on yourself.

So choose your path wisely....please also keep in mind that a high price may not necessarily mean you're in for a good thing. It might seem like one, look like one, feel like one but is not.

A good/high-er price is a good indication of a the condition and general state of a car. It however is not a guarantee or warranty. Don't let stupid things like bodykits, rims and silly meters mislead you into thinking that you're getting value. A messed up engine and its ancillaries are so going to negate those cool Defis that came with the car.....believe me.

I'd rather a stonking good stock to the bone FD than a pimped up and painted over red herring.

so. choose wisely.

P.s. Im waiting for more RX8s to blow their engines so that I can get me one at cheap! HAHAHA

i m agreed with you, not all high-er price FD with "good condition".

a friend of mine, bought it around 8x,xxx 1 years ago, drove less than 10 times, then blown engine...

how long a good condition rotary engine can stand? 3 years? 5 years?

so, buy it with your own risk. or keep at least another 10k spare in bank for your lovely car will break down anytime (touch wood).

finally, go for the price you afford with.

haha....

The sad fact is that the Rx7s retention of value directly commensurates with people's perceptions of the rotary.

Due to the bad vibes/misconceptions/ignorance, the myth of unreliability and fragile nature of the rotary further confounds and feeds this value's downward spiral.

On a selfish personal level, I actually prefer it that way as it makes the car a whole lot more affordable and rare. Good Bang for buck and on top of that, you actually get to collect them.

The rotary is different and alternative, I am different and alternative. Keep it that way....

Armed with healthy and good advice, the FD will be the best car you've ever bought in your life (for under RM100K). Arm yourself with shitty input however dooms you to the most painful purchase you could ever put on yourself.

So choose your path wisely....please also keep in mind that a high price may not necessarily mean you're in for a good thing. It might seem like one, look like one, feel like one but is not.

A good/high-er price is a good indication of a the condition and general state of a car. It however is not a guarantee or warranty. Don't let stupid things like bodykits, rims and silly meters mislead you into thinking that you're getting value. A messed up engine and its ancillaries are so going to negate those cool Defis that came with the car.....believe me.

I'd rather a stonking good stock to the bone FD than a pimped up and painted over red herring.

so. choose wisely.

P.s. Im waiting for more RX8s to blow their engines so that I can get me one at cheap! HAHAHA

A high price doesn't absolve the buyer from making all the necessary checks to ascertain the health of the car. The onus is really on the buyer to check, check, and when he's satisfied, to check again.

A high price only infers that the owner is either confident enough that his or her car will be able to justify the ask, or at least deluded enough to try. If it's the latter, it should be readily obvious.

Personally, I think with used cars, it's always a case of hope for the best but prepare for the worst. So instead of buying what you can afford, buy what you can afford to run and fix.

I have seen the following cheap FDs advertise on motor trader:-

*****- Nice bodykit. Big intercooler. Interior parts are bad shape. Engine needs overhaul. Cash price at 55k without the engine. But the serious problem is that this RX7 never pass thru JPJ or Pustakom. The RX7 had previously serious accident and claimed total loss b4 from insurance. The current body parts and shell are transplanted from a track car (not a joined car, a complete shell from Japan). I used to tender this RX7 in 2005 but never succeed.

*****- AT, stock standrad engine but has over heat problems. Although it is an old bodykit but I like the spoiler and side mirror. I think it is from R-Magic??? I will buy it if it is a manual.

***** - AT gearbox failure, need to convert it to manual, bodywork needs restore, need to repaint the whole car. No bumper lights also bad interior parts. Asking for 68k after the conversion. Without the conversion is 60k. Car is now in Ah Choi workshop, my mechanic took me there.

yes I'm still looking for cheap fd, willing to spend 10k to restore it in good condition.

Wow, FBI ah? You go and korek all their past history, not bad huh...

I have seen the following cheap FDs advertise on motor trader:-

*****- Nice bodykit. Big intercooler. Interior parts are bad shape. Engine needs overhaul. Cash price at 55k without the engine. But the serious problem is that this RX7 never pass thru JPJ or Pustakom. The RX7 had previously serious accident and claimed total loss b4 from insurance. The current body parts and shell are transplanted from a track car (not a joined car, a complete shell from Japan). I used to tender this RX7 in 2005 but never succeed.

*****- AT, stock standrad engine but has over heat problems. Although it is an old bodykit but I like the spoiler and side mirror. I think it is from R-Magic??? I will buy it if it is a manual.

***** - AT gearbox failure, need to convert it to manual, bodywork needs restore, need to repaint the whole car. No bumper lights also bad interior parts. Asking for 68k after the conversion. Without the conversion is 60k. Car is now in Ah Choi workshop, my mechanic took me there.

yes I'm still looking for cheap fd, willing to spend 10k to restore it in good condition.

Dash....I hope you do get an FD and join the club. Good to have members who are enthusiastic as yourself. Good on you mate.:shades_smile:

wow! after done reading this topic,... now im scared.. coz im planing to get fd3s in 4 - 5 months or so just waiting to sell my satria coz no settlement left with the bank. Come to think of it,..mmmm,..effie's rite,..i think i'm gonna keep my satria for everyday usage and fd3s for weekend car... wish me luck guys..heheheh

daily use also can if u can take the loud exhaust note and uncomfortable ride quality also difficult to get out of the car.

Write your reply...