Modifications That Dont Work

vr2turbo said exactly what I wanted to say. My review will be completely based on the manufacturers confidence of their product. I can't wait to get my car back. I really really want to try that Hercules fuel additive thingy.

And larger spark results in cleaner burning? I have my doubts on this. If say you have a bottle of petrol with an open end, you introduce a spark to that open end and you'll get instantaneous combustion of the entire bottle burning the fuel almost instantly. If I were to thrown in a lighted bonfire stick into the bottle it'll blow up the whole thing the same way. Ever seen those Youtube vids where they show a car filling up and because of a cellphone it ignites the petrol in the tank? It spits out a small fireball before the whole thing just vaporizes.

So if you ask me, I don't think it really makes a difference. If it results in a higher burning temperature - then yes that will might make a difference. But that's my opinion... eh wait. I just read what I typed and I think the higher burning temp is the same thing as what I was referring to.

Uh..

Aiya.

But if test turn out negative, business down the drain woh! so product must be good if to be tested by bro, Izso....

But it still benefit us :biggrin: heck care their business hahaha..

vr2turbo said exactly what I wanted to say. My review will be completely based on the manufacturers confidence of their product. I can't wait to get my car back. I really really want to try that Hercules fuel additive thingy.

And larger spark results in cleaner burning? I have my doubts on this. If say you have a bottle of petrol with an open end, you introduce a spark to that open end and you'll get instantaneous combustion of the entire bottle burning the fuel almost instantly. If I were to thrown in a lighted bonfire stick into the bottle it'll blow up the whole thing the same way. Ever seen those Youtube vids where they show a car filling up and because of a cellphone it ignites the petrol in the tank? It spits out a small fireball before the whole thing just vaporizes.

So if you ask me, I don't think it really makes a difference. If it results in a higher burning temperature - then yes that will might make a difference. But that's my opinion... eh wait. I just read what I typed and I think the higher burning temp is the same thing as what I was referring to.

Uh..

Aiya.

Actually it does give a more efficient burning...known it from my studies on "internal combustion engine" last time in Uni. the book lend to junior and gone :mad::mad: it's in one of the chapter. Fuel burn faster as the spark has higher heat and energy intensity. It will be until an extend that it couldn't burn much more faster. Coz when fuel plus air plus spark, the fuel ignites from the point of spark and spread like an explosion. So with higher energy intensity, it burns more efficient.

A nearly dead spark plug still give sparks, but at the same time give us problem as well. It's actually the flame propagation rate that determines all the efficiency.

Many way to it to burn better, not only sparking. Some method is to mix the air/fuel ratio well as in swirling, finer injection, breaking fuel droplet to finer particles, and so on. How it is done, whether it will work?:hmmmm:

Yeah but the other methods...don't know how to do hahaha..:rofl:

Yalah.. boils down to what I said also lor - higher heat then yes - better combustion. But just because it's a bigger spark doesn't mean you have higher heat. Aiya.. I dunno la. Without an actual test bed and measuring equipment it'll be just hearsay.

location of spark plug plays an important role too right? and also, a wider (not just bigger) spark equals a more efficient burn. right?

It is something like giving the spark plug a bigger spark, but there were questions raise like, does bigger spark burns the fuel better? The air fuel just need the spark to ignite, so whether bigger is better or the same?
Having said that, (this was years ago) I had a friend whose brother is an engineer so he setup an electronic booster or something to increase the spark of the spark plug. Fitted on, drove about 3 miles then call in for help. Car died so upon checking the plugs electrode melted....:hmmmm::biggrin:

Try using matches or Cricket or Zippo lighting a fireworks each. Will the 'boom' sound/looks different?
Nope...

location of spark plug plays an important role too right? and also, a wider (not just bigger) spark equals a more efficient burn. right?

Location then yes, right on top for twin cam design. Wider? not too sure, but plug manufacturer are trying to make the spark more open, means facing the air fuel mixture rather then being blocked by the ground electrode.
Design like V cut central electrode (NGK) pushing the spark to the side. U design ground electrodes (Denso) same reason, sharp headed ground electrode (Bosch) (Denso), split ground electrode (Splitfire), then 2, 3 and 4 ground electrodes, opens up the spark directly and so on.
Which is better?:confused:

Then again different material used, and that is another story........:hmmmm:

Location then yes, right on top for twin cam design. Wider? not too sure, but plug manufacturer are trying to make the spark more open, means facing the air fuel mixture rather then being blocked by the ground electrode.
Design like V cut central electrode (NGK) pushing the spark to the side. U design ground electrodes (Denso) same reason, sharp headed ground electrode (Bosch) (Denso), split ground electrode (Splitfire), then 2, 3 and 4 ground electrodes, opens up the spark directly and so on.
Which is better?:confused:

Then again different material used, and that is another story........:hmmmm:

I've used a variety of plugs, 4-grounds, sharp headed, etc. The most expensive plugs I've used is the Brisk brand. Honestly speaking the only difference I can physically feel is how much smoother the revving becomes. Not as harsh or rough. But having said that it doesn't translate into better power or better FC, a new set of stock NGKs driven a week compared to Denso Iridiums don't differ in FC, only difference is feel. Power is pretty much the same and everything else is the same.

Cost vs effectiveness - would you prefer to buy a set of RM150+ plugs that supposedly last 100,000km or just change RM35 plugs every 8,000km service (or shorter intervals)? Personally I'd go for the fresh plugs option.

I've used a variety of plugs, 4-grounds, sharp headed, etc. The most expensive plugs I've used is the Brisk brand. Honestly speaking the only difference I can physically feel is how much smoother the revving becomes. Not as harsh or rough. But having said that it doesn't translate into better power or better FC, a new set of stock NGKs driven a week compared to Denso Iridiums don't differ in FC, only difference is feel. Power is pretty much the same and everything else is the same.

Cost vs effectiveness - would you prefer to buy a set of RM150+ plugs that supposedly last 100,000km or just change RM35 plugs every 8,000km service (or shorter intervals)? Personally I'd go for the fresh plugs option.

Same here. Was doing those test last time, that is why read about the plugs. I had Denso Iridium before too and after that set blew, back to normal plugs, but for VR now on platinum, which are slightly more expensive only. The other car only normal plugs...

i tried Bosch super-4 (or something) it had 4 errrrr arms? after that, changed to a regular-shaped plug, not much difference but it is smoother coz its newer, thats all.

Yup, call Super 4, with 4 ground electrodes. Now they have Platinum Iridium Fusion, also 4 electrodes but more expensive.....:biggrin:

I'm currently running on iridiums. I would say that the acceleration is a lot smoother. Power wise I don't think so. Maybe it only add up 3nm to the torque, I don't know. I'm pretty satisfied the time I installed it. FC wise...very minimal difference which I really don't know if it is the plug or my driving habits. But I did not change my driving habits. I would let this one out and even if it saves fuel, it is somehow negligible.

IF the plugs really can last 100,000km I wouldn't mind spending on it. It is cheaper in the long run and smoother ride. But if it doesn't live up to or even close to 100,000km, I wouldn't use it. I have only running 5k on the iridium plugs...lets see if they are worth it hehe. Will ask my mechanic to inspect them when it reaches 10,000km

It is something like giving the spark plug a bigger spark, but there were questions raise like, does bigger spark burns the fuel better? The air fuel just need the spark to ignite, so whether bigger is better or the same?
Having said that, (this was years ago) I had a friend whose brother is an engineer so he setup an electronic booster or something to increase the spark of the spark plug. Fitted on, drove about 3 miles then call in for help. Car died so upon checking the plugs electrode melted....:hmmmm::biggrin:

What about iridium spark plugs but without any ignition booster. more sparks but is it really helps in improving engine's fc?

still in dispute... but it lead to one of my valve broke.... using the fusion plugs barely 3 months

Should not, unless your valve hit the plugs?

---------- Post added at 08:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:25 AM ----------

I'm currently running on iridiums. I would say that the acceleration is a lot smoother. Power wise I don't think so. Maybe it only add up 3nm to the torque, I don't know. I'm pretty satisfied the time I installed it. FC wise...very minimal difference which I really don't know if it is the plug or my driving habits. But I did not change my driving habits. I would let this one out and even if it saves fuel, it is somehow negligible.

IF the plugs really can last 100,000km I wouldn't mind spending on it. It is cheaper in the long run and smoother ride. But if it doesn't live up to or even close to 100,000km, I wouldn't use it. I have only running 5k on the iridium plugs...lets see if they are worth it hehe. Will ask my mechanic to inspect them when it reaches 10,000km

Another thing is the Iridium burns cleaner, not much cleaning needed. Probably they can last because Iridium is very tough material, but mine got shorted some how and misfire at higher RPM so got to change them. Even if they last 100k km, resistance may build up on the central electrode, as the tip is only iridium...

---------- Post added at 08:29 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:28 AM ----------

What about iridium spark plugs but without any ignition booster. more sparks but is it really helps in improving engine's fc?

So far even the other brothers who have replied here does not have improvement in FC including me....

i personally prefer iridium plugs.
it is very long lasting, installed and forgot about it.i tink i use it up till now is 3 years. :biggrin:

Taikor Vr2, we can still clean the electrodes right? Hmmm...wait till my iridiums reaches 10k, I'll snap pic and post it here hehe...see if there any sign of deteriorating. My engine is stock so I assume the plugs are in neutral ground for testing haha

It's because I'm the only Daihatsu L502 turbo engine in my group that have valve pecah issue. at first our pomen say that I'm stubborn enough to use Bosch fusion whereas others use NGK/Denso Iridium ones

then along the way we heard 2 other same engine user have the same issue. when investigated, they also use the same plugs like me....

as I said, it still in dispute... although now I'm using NGK normal plugs :adore:
Should not, unless your valve hit the plugs?