Modifications That Dont Work

my friend use autolite splitfire in his daihasu GTti engine.
guess what.. same problem as u.. 1 of plug ground 'kaki' melted/putus. resulting in chipped valve.

maybe Japanese engine doesnt like US plug.. haha..

It's because I'm the only Daihatsu L502 turbo engine in my group that have valve pecah issue. at first our pomen say that I'm stubborn enough to use Bosch fusion whereas others use NGK/Denso Iridium ones

then along the way we heard 2 other same engine user have the same issue. when investigated, they also use the same plugs like me....

as I said, it still in dispute... although now I'm using NGK normal plugs :adore:

Oh! a few have same problems using same type of plugs. What was the reason you think the valve broke? At one time, was interested to try the plugs but did not because expensive, so now, lucky in a way did not use....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:18 PM ----------

i personally prefer iridium plugs.
it is very long lasting, installed and forgot about it.i tink i use it up till now is 3 years. :biggrin:

It is better to take them out to clean once in a while. Leaving the plugs intact too long, carbon build up can jam them up, then becomes hard to remove...

---------- Post added at 08:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:20 PM ----------

Taikor Vr2, we can still clean the electrodes right? Hmmm...wait till my iridiums reaches 10k, I'll snap pic and post it here hehe...see if there any sign of deteriorating. My engine is stock so I assume the plugs are in neutral ground for testing haha

Yes, can clean them. Which Iridium brand are you using? NGK have 0.6mm tip and Denso ones are 0.4mm. They are so small you can't tell if they are deteriorating...:biggrin:
Anyway, Iridium are tough material, therefore unlikely there will be wear that fast.

I'm using denso... Actually..any significant difference between the brands?

Their normal Iridium are 0.4mm point whereas NGK ones are 0.6mm. Their write up mention more concentration of firing power to smaller tip giving better spark..how far it is true?

Even if it is true, how far is it noticeable? :rolleyes:

I'm using denso... Actually..any significant difference between the brands?
Price.

:biggrin:

Personally feel wise all the same. Performance wise all the same. Longetivity wise I found Bosch platinum iridium to be lacking. The most longest lasting plug for me was Denso Iridium but even that died at 80,000km for me but having said that it's not bad. But close to the end of life I noticed a considerable drop in power and even swapping over to stock plugs made a difference.

Even if it is true, how far is it noticeable? :rolleyes:

Like bro. Izso mentioned, I doubt can feel the difference between the two....

---------- Post added at 08:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:23 AM ----------

Price.

:biggrin:

Personally feel wise all the same. Performance wise all the same. Longetivity wise I found Bosch platinum iridium to be lacking. The most longest lasting plug for me was Denso Iridium but even that died at 80,000km for me but having said that it's not bad. But close to the end of life I noticed a considerable drop in power and even swapping over to stock plugs made a difference.

If lasting, platinum are also good, so much cheaper then Iridium...

yup.....how much different? can the price offset justify the performance gain???? for me nope....not worth it....

for me it is more important selecting perfect spark plug heat range and perfect plug gap adjustment...instead of what metal dium/tip type selection.....

It is better to take them out to clean once in a while. Leaving the plugs intact too long, carbon build up can jam them up, then becomes hard to remove...

my foreman always advise me, if its not broken dun bother.
if something is wrong then i shud just replace it.
cant really recall his advise but it was something about might ruin the plugs groove (might overtighten) and ignition coils are really sensitive.
last time he only gapped it for me.it looks fine.

cant really recall his advise but it was something about might ruin the plugs groove (might overtighten) and ignition coils are really sensitive.
old skool mechanics always say that.

Personally I hate that.

I prefer preventative maintenance rather than broken-only-fix scenarios. There's nothing wrong with removing plugs all the time, you're not going to spoil the threads if you know how much force is needed to tighten them. Use a torque wrench if so worried la. But he's right about sensitive ignition coils. Mine is so bloody useless...3 changed already. Wish I had money for MSD.

So, your foreman does not clean plugs one?....:biggrin:

I have cleaned my plugs countless times. When fitting back that is why must follows instruction carefully. First, must use hand to fit and screw in. Can use the plug tool but turn by hand only and not the wrench. After it is tighten by hand then only use wrench. Some will need another quarter turn and some half and that is all. Don't tighten until very tight....

yup.....how much different? can the price offset justify the performance gain???? for me nope....not worth it....

for me it is more important selecting perfect spark plug heat range and perfect plug gap adjustment...instead of what metal dium/tip type selection.....

My thinking is different. As I mentioned, I don't install the iridiums for performance. Any added hp or torque would just be a bonus. Normal ori spark plug cost around 30 bucks and iridiums 150 bucks. That's x5. Lets say we change our plugs every 10,000km. We will equal the iridium cost after 5 changes I.e. 60,000km (add the 10,000km of the new plug after the fifth change). Iridiums are said to last minimum 50,000km, max 100,000km. Bro Izso tried and got around 80,000km, means 20,000km more than using normal plugs.

And we get smoother acceleration. So why not? Kinda worth it...if platinum can giv smoother acceleration like iridiums, I would use that as it is cheaper hehe

old skool mechanics always say that.

Personally I hate that.

I prefer preventative maintenance rather than broken-only-fix scenarios. There's nothing wrong with removing plugs all the time, you're not going to spoil the threads if you know how much force is needed to tighten them. Use a torque wrench if so worried la. But he's right about sensitive ignition coils. Mine is so bloody useless...3 changed already. Wish I had money for MSD.

Very agree. Prevent is better than cure. It is the mechanic that is important. If he is good, there wouldn't be any problem putting something on and off. Coz when something fails, it might causes other parts to fail too before we realize.

For durability, Platinum are good also and much cheaper and your normal plugs use for 10k km only? I use for 30k km woh!

since we're in the subject of spark plugs... does anyone here use the VK version of denso irridiums?

izzit tougher than the IK?

one of my friend using wira with evo3 hafkat (unmodified) for more than 7 years, gone thru top overhaul once but still using denso VK plugs that came from the hafkat....

...just wanna verify je

Yup, the VK model are call Iridium Tough Spark Plugs......suppose to last much longer.....

For durability, Platinum are good also and much cheaper and your normal plugs use for 10k km only? I use for 30k km woh!

Erm..perodua service interval for spark plugs are 10,000km for normal plugs. If use iridiums, then they will check the plugs. If damaged then only need changing. That's how the SC near my house do lar..not sure bout other SC.

My wira...the normal ori proton plugs only top out at 15,000km max, then there will be sign of damages on the plus...so usually would only run 10,000 - 15,000km.

My thinking is different. As I mentioned, I don't install the iridiums for performance. Any added hp or torque would just be a bonus. Normal ori spark plug cost around 30 bucks and iridiums 150 bucks. That's x5. Lets say we change our plugs every 10,000km. We will equal the iridium cost after 5 changes I.e. 60,000km (add the 10,000km of the new plug after the fifth change). Iridiums are said to last minimum 50,000km, max 100,000km. Bro Izso tried and got around 80,000km, means 20,000km more than using normal plugs.

And we get smoother acceleration. So why not? Kinda worth it...if platinum can giv smoother acceleration like iridiums, I would use that as it is cheaper hehe

Very agree. Prevent is better than cure. It is the mechanic that is important. If he is good, there wouldn't be any problem putting something on and off. Coz when something fails, it might causes other parts to fail too before we realize.

its weird because i've never changed my plug since last 160 000km....seriously.... :hmmmm:

(*since my last top overhaul due to overheating)

its weird because i've never changed my plug since last 160 000km....seriously.... :hmmmm:

Copper plug running for 160,000km?? :confused: have you taken out the plugs and see what's the condition before? I mean recently

Erm..perodua service interval for spark plugs are 10,000km for normal plugs. If use iridiums, then they will check the plugs. If damaged then only need changing. That's how the SC near my house do lar..not sure bout other SC.

My wira...the normal ori proton plugs only top out at 15,000km max, then there will be sign of damages on the plus...so usually would only run 10,000 - 15,000km.

Oh! SC change according to schedule one. Mine is on my own schedule....ha! ha!
My wife's China SUV they just recently change the plugs at 30k km. The plugs are Bosch 3 ground electrodes model but Made in China ones. Some more SC ask want to change or not....ha! ha!:rofl:

---------- Post added at 12:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:11 PM ----------

Wah! that is even longer than the Iridium.....:rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 12:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:12 PM ----------

Copper plug running for 160,000km?? :confused: have you taken out the plugs and see what's the condition before? I mean recently

Center electrode rounded, or ground electrode wear off....
plug2_zps25fe0757.jpg

plug1_zps05161c6c.jpg

Joking only.....:rofl: