Need techy advice

Unsacred8002

Hello everyone.

Need a techy advice on my EG8 setup. Currently running '92 EG8 with B16A halfcut from '94 EG6(black dash). My current setup was Open Pod K&N air filter, ITR headers with 2.3" pipe, mid bullet and 5Zigen Fireball muffler, NGK R08 with NGK Iridium and rechipped P30 ECU(9k Cut, No TopSpeed Limiter, done by previous owner).

So now, since everything else was standard kilang, which intake suits me most? Im thinkin about OEM replacement which is ITR intake. Or CTR. How was ITR compared to Skunk2 intake in terms of performance and price? And for Camshaft, im thinkin of CTR camshaft. IF i do the replacement, would it effect my block? If im usin ITR intake+CTR csmshaft, do i have to change my pistons too? Another thing, how about my exhaust pipe diameter? Is 2" good for B16A? Cuz my current 2.3" i've taken it from my fren, PnP to my EG from his B16B EG.

My driving style? Buka VTEC sminggu skali. Hehehe.

Hi bro, seems you mentioned 'just open vtec once per week', your current setting is good enough.

Ya.. But if i go for ITR intake, is dat good for OEM replacement? I find dat my low torque 1k-3k seems heavy but rockin on4k until cut. Skunk2 was so expensive .

Since you have the open port air filter and this will reduce your low rev torque but increase the high rev torque.

Oh.. Izit? How about my current exhaust setup? Bfore I put this 2.3"pipe, I'm usin the old EG8 auto piping. Dunno the diameter, but it feel smooth on cruisin, although when VTEC engage it was not so loud as it is now. Lots of my fren recommended 2" pipe for B16A.

Yup, 2 inch piping just for us to 'layan' the smoothness of cruising and sometimes can 'prangggg' as we want.
The set up is almost manufacturing standard. But if you want more, normally people will use 2.3 or 2.5 like me.

Normal driving modd - standard set up + enhanced drop in filter + aftermarket full set piping + others (based on personal demand)
Mild modd - Open pod + enhanced TB + high-cam plus adjustable cam pulley + Trusted brand header and full set piping + re-chipped ECU/standalone ECU + VAFC/Vtec controller + NGK/others ignition system + fuel regulator + racing clutch + 2 layer radiator + others
:smokin:

Normal driving modd - standard set up + enhanced drop in filter + aftermarket full set piping + others (based on personal demand)
Mild modd - Open pod + enhanced TB + high-cam plus adjustable cam pulley + Trusted brand header and full set piping + re-chipped ECU/standalone ECU + VAFC/Vtec controller + NGK/others ignition system + fuel regulator + racing clutch + 2 layer radiator + others

If dat mild drivin mod, i will roughly say minimum 20k cost. Hohoho. Im planning for E-Manage later.

Hondata.. Ya.. Dat is 1 of d most reliable. Few of my fen use it. Over here in Kuching, the prob is a few people know how to properly tune Hondata. Not like in KL der. Dats y im goin for E-Manage. Price issue also. Hehehe.:rock:

Haha, but if the tuner over there can tune via e-manage professionally, the result will ne similar with hondata as well.

Yeah. As i said, a few only could do it. Hehe. If they are available. I always go to aMad's Garage in Kuching. Have a dyno test also over there. Beside, the owner quite good with wideband commander. And also a VTEC freak. Own 2 EK9 just for drag purpose. But always go for his green EG6 for competition. AE86 for his drift. :biggrin:

He must be the 'otai' over there lah... Btw, nice to meet you bro...:smokin:

Nice to meet u too bro. Salute from Kuching's Honda Brotherhood. Hehe.. Its really great to see VTEC scenes are getting so popular these day. I wish to see ur Honda's scene over der, get to noe Hondarian from each state. In Kuching, so far Honda caught a lot of attention, from the supporters n even haters. Haha. Esp from those 4A's guys. Cuz majority of 4A's are smoked by B's here. Hahaha. But the spirit of motorsport especially VTEC scenes are positively growing over here.

Cheers bro, I used to have 1 EG8 same as yours. Mild modded but sold few years ago...:bawling:

if cash for hondata is an issue... u should look into crome....same level as the Hondata S100...and if not mistaken more options than e-manage....and crome is cheap... Avantech does it for RM550 inclusive of 1 hour dyno rental.

its basically a custom chip...so u dont need add ons like piggybacks and also no need to tap wires etc.

its wat im using right now and it managed to sort out my ignition issues... got a much smoother dyno graph and even gained 15whp over spoon chip+vafc for my B20.

if no tuner there... perhaps u could try n find KL tuners and see if they are willing to fly there for u... of course u pay for hotel and flight on top of the charges for crome itself. discuss with that tuner about it...who knows..mebbe get lucky :D

< C R O M E >

if cash for hondata is an issue... u should look into crome....same level as the Hondata S100...and if not mistaken more options than e-manage....and crome is cheap... Avantech does it for RM550 inclusive of 1 hour dyno rental.

its basically a custom chip...so u dont need add ons like piggybacks and also no need to tap wires etc.

its wat im using right now and it managed to sort out my ignition issues... got a much smoother dyno graph and even gained 15whp over spoon chip+vafc for my B20.

if no tuner there... perhaps u could try n find KL tuners and see if they are willing to fly there for u... of course u pay for hotel and flight on top of the charges for crome itself. discuss with that tuner about it...who knows..mebbe get lucky :D

< C R O M E >[/QUOTE

Bro mADmAN.
About the Crome, my question is:
1) How does it work? Izit remapping the base map on ECU?
2) Can it does multi profile mapping? For example below 3kRpm is different profile, above 3k Rpm is another different profile.
3) Since it doesnt need piggybacking, can i done it on my rechipped old P08 ECU? I had 1 ECU from my old auto D15B Vtec.

---------- Post added at 07:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:39 AM ----------

Already changed to family car - Exora Bold... But still very miss VTEC sound... 'The Power Of Dream'

Hehe.. its ok bro. At least u still have those passion. Im also married wit 3 kids, but luckily my wife do love Honda. Now saving money to buy her EF(she's askin for EG3@EG6 axualy). Mana blh lawan tauke o. Hehe. Ya.. U're definitely correct on dat VTEC sound. The best Jap's NA sound i ever heard. Short shift on 1st gear, den juz cruise it all along on d 2nd gear until it reach the sweet point. There u go, d wonderful VTEC crossover song cuttin thru from 5800-8500. Simply wonderful.. Prrraaannngggg...