recommendation for a first car ;)

PrimusKiob

hey guys as i said on my title... kinda wondering on what should i get as my first car... shortlisted a few candidates like nissan cefiro, honda civic and bmw 3 or 5 series... all in 2ndhand range between 20k to 50k... so please share ur wisdom la hehehe....

what im looking for in the cars is this :
1. performance around normal to medium la... engine around 1.8 to 2.5
2. fuel consumption around normal la
3. normal maintenance and parts easy to get within malaysia (to be more precise in Sabah n Sarawak area)
4. looks good la... youngster what haha..

im open to new ideas.. other cars can be also be recommended la... not too choosy but the top 3 is my most wanted la.. just wanted to know what the zerotohundred members think about my choice ;)

why dont you get a satria r3 its within 50k, 1.8 manual, good handling and performance, parts easy to get. if you are keen on performance. or else a cefiro 2.5 v6 for space and comfort.

Judging from the top 3 list, i don't think he's interested to get a local car. My suggestion is the 5 series. But wallet must be thick enough as parts might not be as cheap as a honda's.

Nissan Cefiro - Nice car, driftable, lots of aftermarket parts, the car is cheap, the parts is not cheap :wink:

Honda Civic
- '96 to 2000, nice lightweight car, lots of aftermarket parts, the car is not cheap, the parts is cheap
-2001 till now, very good looking car, some with warranty, the car is not cheap, the parts no comment :biggrin:

BMW 3 series - depends on the year,
old car - cheap to buy, quiet high on maintenance
new car- well.. u know it's a BMW afterall

5 series - depends on the year too

I dont wanna spoil the mood but am just wonderin, u do know that those Civics, Cefiros, 3 series etc (old cars) are mostly deal in "cash" right? No doubt those cars are good but u can hardly get a loan anymore. But if u have the money, by all means get it man!

I guess this would suit youngsters with Racing Blood :biggrin:
Yet is within your budget :top:

RM43K – Honda Integra DC2, one of the nicest car to me :)

Location, Kuching, Sarawak.

http://202.76.227.241/images/99/9909542723.jpg

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Integra+DC2+b18c+coupe+2+doors+auto+car+show-14014994.htm

Mohan Raj : thanks bro but like our brother V6TT86, im not exactly keen on getting a satria though.. i dont mind on getting a local car but a bit phobic about it... since well we know of the "reliability" of local cars... hehehe...

---------- Post added at 02:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:21 PM ----------

Nissan Cefiro - Nice car, driftable, lots of aftermarket parts, the car is cheap, the parts is not cheap :wink:

Honda Civic
- '96 to 2000, nice lightweight car, lots of aftermarket parts, the car is not cheap, the parts is cheap
-2001 till now, very good looking car, some with warranty, the car is not cheap, the parts no comment :biggrin:

BMW 3 series - depends on the year,
old car - cheap to buy, quiet high on maintenance
new car- well.. u know it's a BMW afterall

5 series - depends on the year too

D7zul thanks for the info man!! just a question.... for the Honda Civic, which one should i get? well judging by bmw and the market, i dont think id be able to afford the parts la... unless start working ody then can la hehehe....

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:24 PM ----------

yeah im aware of that bro fast learner... lol :) yea will be doing that pretty much soon :)

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:25 PM ----------

I guess this would suit youngsters with Racing Blood :biggrin:
Yet is within your budget :top:

RM43K – Honda Integra DC2, one of the nicest car to me :)

Location, Kuching, Sarawak.

http://202.76.227.241/images/99/9909542723.jpg

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Integra+DC2+b18c+coupe+2+doors+auto+car+show-14014994.htm

43K???? seriously?? damnnnnnnnn :P

Well, contact the owner to find out. :wink: Is stated in the AD as RM43K :top:

Good Luck!

My top 3
1) Kancil (dirt cheap to buy now, cheap petrol, cheap maintenance)
2) Myvi (not that cheap but ok la)
3) Saga (those BLM/FL etc. again cheap car and cheap to run)

Run those cars and save more money and get a medium range or something towards high range car after 5 years or so.

Petrol consumption for normal might differ from one to another. RM150 per week translates to RM600 per week. It might be normal to some depending on their ride but if you compare it to Kancil for example it can be one month worth of petrol.

Tyres. Need to look into this as well. It looks weird to have a super nice ride but with cap x tires right? Depending on the rims it might cost you in region of 700-thousands per piece.

Roadtax, who doesn't know how much it cost for those above 2k cc :)

Define cheap as in real world scenario then maybe can give more concrete advice. As for the parts, some like to run on all those original brand (Trust, HKS, AP, PMU etc) and some just run on normal stuff. 6 pot endless and 6 pot from DFT or some other brand I can't recall may perform differently and so do the price difference.

Why I gave you the first option. Cos then after 5 years you can have 2 cars. These cars (yes including beemer even the new ones) that you mentioned are such a baby that needs tender loving care so you will need to have a spare car.

thanks mate!!!

---------- Post added at 03:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:41 PM ----------

My top 3
1) Kancil (dirt cheap to buy now, cheap petrol, cheap maintenance)
2) Myvi (not that cheap but ok la)
3) Saga (those BLM/FL etc. again cheap car and cheap to run)

Run those cars and save more money and get a medium range or something towards high range car after 5 years or so.

Petrol consumption for normal might differ from one to another. RM150 per week translates to RM600 per week. It might be normal to some depending on their ride but if you compare it to Kancil for example it can be one month worth of petrol.

Tyres. Need to look into this as well. It looks weird to have a super nice ride but with cap x tires right? Depending on the rims it might cost you in region of 700-thousands per piece.

Roadtax, who doesn't know how much it cost for those above 2k cc :)

Define cheap as in real world scenario then maybe can give more concrete advice. As for the parts, some like to run on all those original brand (Trust, HKS, AP, PMU etc) and some just run on normal stuff. 6 pot endless and 6 pot from DFT or some other brand I can't recall may perform differently and so do the price difference.

Why I gave you the first option. Cos then after 5 years you can have 2 cars. These cars (yes including beemer even the new ones) that you mentioned are such a baby that needs tender loving care so you will need to have a spare car.

hey bro thanks for your recommendation.. i dont know dude... i drove all 3 cars and im not exactly loving the car at all.. yeah thought about getting it but still not my best choice... anyways i will consider the choices... how about a viva?

seen a lot of those lately, hows the feel of the car?

---------- Post added at 04:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:23 PM ----------

i agree too go for sgti or sr3....

sorry for my ignorance bro, but ur referring to satria right? ehe...

Honda Accord - comfortable, looks good, performance parts available easily (if you are into it), falls within your budget, can still get loan (if you need it).

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Accord+2+3VTEC+Auto+Full+Loan-14106033.htm

or if you can afford a little more, I'll suggest this:

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Accord+EURO+06-14149910.htm

Cefiro is also not bad actually. I think you can get A33 around that price.

hey guys as i said on my title... kinda wondering on what should i get as my first car... shortlisted a few candidates like nissan cefiro, honda civic and bmw 3 or 5 series... all in 2ndhand range between 20k to 50k... so please share ur wisdom la hehehe....

what im looking for in the cars is this :
1. performance around normal to medium la... engine around 1.8 to 2.5
2. fuel consumption around normal la
3. normal maintenance and parts easy to get within malaysia (to be more precise in Sabah n Sarawak area)
4. looks good la... youngster what haha..

im open to new ideas.. other cars can be also be recommended la... not too choosy but the top 3 is my most wanted la.. just wanted to know what the zerotohundred members think about my choice ;)

Lancer MX?

Honda Accord - comfortable, looks good, performance parts available easily (if you are into it), falls within your budget, can still get loan (if you need it).

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Accord+2+3VTEC+Auto+Full+Loan-14106033.htm

or if you can afford a little more, I'll suggest this:

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Accord+EURO+06-14149910.htm

Cefiro is also not bad actually. I think you can get A33 around that price.

thanks for the info bro!! yeah im more of a nissan fan.. but still do love honda too ;) any other recommendations bro? how about Honda Civic, what do u think?

---------- Post added at 02:08 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:06 AM ----------

Lancer MX?

Lancer MX? got more info on that car bro? thought of evo... but most of the cars i saw on carlist or mudah... really out of my budget... but havent thought of lancers though ;)

since it is ur 1st car..

i suggest get a KE70 original condition..

less than rm3k for the car & spend around rm2k for repairs..

RM5000 kautim :biggrin:

Bro how about proton perdana? The price is also dirt cheap nowadays.. if you can find a v6 manual it could be great!