Air Filter Comparison..

Angelz

guys.. :huh: i was just wonderin whether
1) a open pod air filter with CAI and heat shield
2) the drop in cartridge type

would produce more power... :unsure: btw its for a carburetor engine.. thanks.. =p

i also in this doubt right now, dunno which 1 to choose...

open type need more $$$ lo... and more sounds... B)

drop in type quite ok actually... last month hypertune got a review of Pipercorss drop in type, the engine tested at N1 and have 4.6ps increase... not bad...

btw, what the different of hp and ps?

;)

pipercross drop in selling rm200 at kakimotor....is it washable/reuseable like K&N?

though K&N drop in will be much expensive ;)

sigh...duno which to choose

Anyone using Apexi Air Filter? Comments? Price?
http://www.apexi.co.jp/products/suction/power_intake/shouhin.jpg

i'm using apexi airfilter....
new user also
almost 3-4 weeks old
all i can say i'm not used to open pod... so fking loud!!!!!!!!!
urgghhh
everytime i release the peddle my engine will cough out the extra air
and i can hear VROOOM PSHHH VROOOM PSHHH
at first its fun but after a while its irritating... dunno is it just my car...
i dunno bout performance coz i've neva used this engine with stock filter before...
price i got it was 290 with bracket and installation etcetc.
i see in N1 racing was rm200 just for the filter alone :)
good luck!

I got the Apexi air filter in Penang for RM180, RM30 for bracket. Still using stock air ram. Will get one of those metal ones after i get the heat-shield up.

Power wise, i dont' see much diff cause my goddamn car has no pickup :unsure: , but after the 3.5k mark, the kick comes in (bukan macam Vtec kick la)

If u asked me, go for it, but if you want a quiet and drive, don't get it :P

metal air ram not so good wor. you want cold air to go into ur engine, ahveing a metal air ram would allow the heat from the engine bay to be conducted to the intake air

Originally posted by noir@Mar 5 2004, 10:04 AM
I got the Apexi air filter in Penang for RM180, RM30 for bracket. Still using stock air ram. Will get one of those metal ones after i get the heat-shield up.

Power wise, i dont' see much diff cause my goddamn car has no pickup :unsure: , but after the 3.5k mark, the kick comes in (bukan macam Vtec kick la)

If u asked me, go for it, but if you want a quiet and drive, don't get it :P
noir,
where did you get your Apexi Air Filter from?

APEXi Power Intake is one of the best.

It has very good filtration plus air flow.

There was a benchmark done on Supra 2JZ... the APEXi performs the best B)

i think its the nosiest too...
i sumhow got a clue that apexi airfilter was good coz i read a comparison sumwhere before...
poor me gotto put up with the pshhhhhh sound

anyone heard brand "Quik-Flo"...produced locally....but already stop long time ago.. heard tat it was produce by Sungai Buluh WRC...
i use b4.....very nice.....it was something like Pipercross..... :)

i used this APEXi filter b4 .. now changed to M's K&N which is bigger .. felt K&N performed better than APEXi .. maybe becoz my car requires more air than most ???? and also maybe coz this K&N is bigger ??? power drop felt was quite significant ..
if your wanna go the open pod way .. better get your exhaust system done too to feel the max performance .. otherwise just sitck with stock or drop til budget allows for both exhaust and open pod ...

this of coz will increase the noise level very very significantly .. :lol:

I am oso in the middle of dilemma now. wanna to get a drop in filter but dunno which brand to choose from. Pipercross or K&N ??

Originally posted by satriaguy@Mar 5 2004, 11:55 AM
I am oso in the middle of dilemma now. wanna to get a drop in filter but dunno which brand to choose from. Pipercross or K&N ??
yo satriaguy...

i also in the same boat with u...

dunno which to choose from...

pipercross? k&n?

like choosing coca-cola and pepsi.... :lol:

mee too...wan to go buy together?

K&N is actually expensive than pipercross

btw is pipercross washable? million miles guarantee like K&N?

what is the price you are getting ? Below are the price i was quoted

K&N RM 280
PiperCross RM 200

same

and the pipercross cleaner kit is rm85..juz call them

so pipercross gonna cost rm285