Universal Air filter

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
Hi guys :D ,
Anyone know is that universal air filter like K&N or APexi (Open-Pod) can match with the carburetor engine? for your information, im driving wira 1.5 stock engine. Thanks for the suggestion. B)

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
thanks guys. But, i heard somebody said is not ideal if use open pod air filter for carburetor engine.Because the suction is not big enough,is that true?
Another Q is, if compare open pod AND just plug in like Original air filter but w/ K&N, which 1 is the best?

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
about the "not ideal" statement,i'm not sure but i do not know ne1 with a similar prob.

to compare drop in and open pod?i would say open pod.less restrictions and you could add a heat sheild to get better cold air suction.

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
oic,thanks L2TurboFool.U know where can i get the carbie pipe ad K&N filter in good price.?

prodigy

just wanna get some opinion, is it true that open pod filters should be fitted to manual cars because on auto cars, there will be a certain lag thats noticeable. but when the rev rises, u'll feel the difference. went to N1 and this guy suggest that i install a drop in filter instead of open pod filter for auto cars. in my opinion, drop in filters is equivalent to not installing it coz the difference is negligible.

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
i went for N1 b4,i think their workmanship is not skillful enough.coz my fren lowered his car using tein spring coil,got sound.Even thought they try to fix it for few times.

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
Originally posted by nicteh@Feb 1 2005, 08:20
i went for N1 b4,i think their workmanship is not skillful enough.coz my fren lowered his car using tein spring coil,got sound.Even thought they try to fix it for few times.
maybe the guys who did the job were not experienced.newbies

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
but,they fix it and try, fix n try at least 4 times, also cannot. i wait there till geram liao...then they recommend my fren buy tein rubbber to make it no sound.then paid again, STILL got sound. huh...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi everyone...
i saw for carb car there r 2 types of open pod

one is big size one.. big round thing install above your carb..
another one is like u said above.. do piping and install open pod filter..

which one is better?

the big one.. got a lot of surface area
sure less restriction right?

nicteh

Jan 27, 2005
i heard they said if round one(replace OEM filter) it only sucks from engine air,which mean hot air.

If open Open(Universal) will be better,coz it sucks from cold air. But, must find a piping.

Sam,u also driving carb engine?