Air Filter Comparison..

dolly, good point there. But the restrictions caused by flexible rubbler ram might be as bad as heated metal air ram.

andykow, I'm from Penang, bkt mertajam. Got the Apexi from shop named 99, a local we-sell-all kinda shop.

Originally posted by bryan90s@Mar 5 2004, 04:19 PM
same

and the pipercross cleaner kit is rm85..juz call them

so pipercross gonna cost rm285
bryan,

does they provide helping ppl wash filter 1? like Speedwork got help ppl wash the filter for RM8....

any pipercross service center? :D

they do...but i think is cheaper if we wash by ourself whenever we feel is dirty

plus i dun live near to kakimotor....i guess better buy the kit

wat i know was open pod more to pick up....
drop in is more to top end..correct me if im wrong...

guys no need to think of others filter lah...best advice use blitz the latest 1 silver color no need to change sponge or use oil to clean it...jz blow it by air gun...

guys how about apexi superflow open pod airfilter? performance the same as powerflow? or powerflow better?
is the sound produced after changing the stock air filters to open pod really that annoying?
i mean as in long distance journey....will the sound really annoys u?
how about the fuel consumptions?
will the maintainance of the car increases dramatically?
and do i have to send my car to re-tune after changing from stock to openpod?
thanx in advance for clearing my doubts B)

Originally posted by skyline_maniac@Mar 5 2004, 06:18 PM
guys how about apexi superflow open pod airfilter? performance the same as powerflow? or powerflow better?
is the sound produced after changing the stock air filters to open pod really that annoying?
i mean as in long distance journey....will the sound really annoys u?
how about the fuel consumptions?
will the maintainance of the car increases dramatically?
and do i have to send my car to re-tune after changing from stock to openpod?
thanx in advance for clearing my doubts B)
Hi, so far i had try out K&N on my stock kancil. I was very suprise while the K&N putting on. The engine sound totally change. I did scared some motorbikes going slow infront of my car sometimes. :P More power for pick-up but no top-end.
while i travel from PG to KL with K&N filter.....after the last gear....the sound will not so annoys my ears lar......ok for me. (I hate lound) :P
After 3 months, then i try APEXi 's Power Intake. My engine sound change again become more bassy....and more power compare with that K&N. :o But ofcoz is more expensive. :lol:
Yes, fuel comsumption ofcoz will increase. Can felt that my petrol going down faster than stock. My friends advice me after changing accessories....better go for re-tune my engine. :rolleyes:

This is all i learned from different ppls and different forums. correct me if i was wrong. :lol:

heard that BLITZ open pod filter is good.. i'm using one.. n it doesnt generate loud sounds like K&N open pod.. not bad for me.. what do u guys think??

Originally posted by DmC@Mar 5 2004, 08:34 PM
heard that BLITZ open pod filter is good.. i'm using one.. n it doesnt generate loud sounds like K&N open pod.. not bad for me.. what do u guys think??
How was your BLITZ open port Air Filter look like ?? May post pic here ? :P :lol: :lol:

slk850,
sure.. no prob.. i'll post up the pics tomorrow k??

Blitz SUS last time I read the review about it, it was the second worse behind HKS SPF, worse filtration and less hp gain. It's made of stainless steel mesh, so the filtration is not good. Tends to get hot some more.

p/s : slk850.... i tot APEXi is cheaper than K&N. :blink:

Im using the Apexi power intake filter... but without heat shields. My cousin says with the heat shield there's alot of difference when the engine gets hot, but how much does a proper one like hotbits cost?

As far as I know Apexi's filter is cheaper than K&N's ler... K&N have much larger sizes though

hotbits ah, last time when I bought my k&n fron speedworks, Terence told me arond 200 bugs. Just DIY lar, mine is 80% hotbits look-a-like what.

200 for a piece of cut out metal? Lan jiao... what material to DIY? (or link please?) ;)

hhmm... cos of filter makes engine sounds very noisy..? err.. but i tot if u dun tekan hard then no sound wan..? hehe..

aiyer... damn... anyone know where to get apexi powerflow../superflow cheap..?? which wan better ah? =p

Take APEXi Power Intake, is the best filteration and give more power. Sound also very bassy..... :lol:

Originally posted by Angelz@Mar 7 2004, 02:02 PM
hhmm... cos of filter makes engine sounds very noisy..? err.. but i tot if u dun tekan hard then no sound wan..? hehe..

aiyer... damn... anyone know where to get apexi powerflow../superflow cheap..?? which wan better ah? =p
got APEXi powerflow/superflow meh?

I tot it's APEXi Power Intake nia...

HKS Super Powerflow got laa..

Originally posted by JasperSSP@Mar 7 2004, 10:23 PM
another bigger pic.
:o Woow.......nice !! JasperSSP Speedwork's job for that heat shield ? very nice !!!!!

Check the comparison here

http://mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/

;)