guys, does that mean a surbo is useless too? thr are many claims that it improves
1. response together with torque
2. fuel consumption
3. helps prolong engine life
but the thing is, i've nvr heard of the surbo is heavily modded cars. do advice thanks
Those are cock... I've on heard it on ads.. None from first hand experience which says it's good... All my friend is using it, quite good. My uncle improves on fuel consumption... All also my who my who... Non say I'm using it... Fuhhh damn 7 good...
I never tried surbo... But my friend tried and he said it is bullshit also...
But... Previously all we thought is that is spins the intake air. But when I visited the surbo website, they said there is a way to activate it. It's not just normal driving. Something like you have to accelerate, then let go, then accelerate again. And it will create boost. But to me, still bullshit because how does that thing boost by creating more restriction in the intake? :stupid:
Anyways, Anyone care to try and report? I am curious too.
When air runs in helical motion, of course there's a certain momentum that the air will create. But, it's not sufficient to produce possitive pressure on the manifold. Lagipon, once it hits the throttle, all momentum ends..
yeah thats what i thought too. i heard that upgrading to a better throttle body together with the aid of a surbo and a fine remap tunning is really satisfying. and also cutting the speed limiter.. dunno how true is this but yet again im really curious.. anyone who knows or have a point of view, do share :)
U'll achieve better satisfaction by doing the 2 above and eliminate the surbo. Frankly, u'll already feel the difference in terms of power n fc by tuning/mapping alone.
Throttle body cannot be simply upgraded. Too big size is worst than small size...
My experience is:
I use to drive a wira 1.3. It was originally carb engine but I converted it into EFI. The power was a little low from what I expect from an EFI. and when you press the throttle harder, there's this fierce and quite nice induction roar. I asked the mechanic why? He said wira EFI got 2 generations. The first generation is the one with a big throttle body, which is the one I got (unfortunately). So when we press the throttle beyond a certain point, it roar sexy like a race engine, because the throttle body is big. But the low end torque really sucked. Really. Feels like it roars but won't move. Then he said the 2nd gen EFI is silent. The throttle body is just right and the response is good.
The reason it because the throttle body is too oversized thus causing the intake air velocity to slow down dramatically at the throttle body. :slug:
There's actually 3 version. MMC with map sensor, MMC with MAF sensor and the VDO. The latest version is of course silent, it's driven by wire.
Large TB is an upgrade in overall performance. Of course it has to come along with right tuned map and proper tps adjustment.
Go look in the 4G15 Proton thread, got 3 psycho fellas mod their intake manifolds and installed twin TBs.. so macam vtec.. two stage acceleration.. hehe..quite cool actually
Nah... It's been there in aus and new Zealand long before here. I don't deny it's cool too. But other than the sound, hp improvement is not as effective as the visual improvement... Just personal experience. Even on 4 throttle 4G9X. But yes in terms of throttle response.
i have to say, the only reason why Surbo is selling in Malaysia is because it damaged quite a number of cars in Singapore, and the so called "Doctor" who created this product has tried to avoid the backlash. Go onto yahoo.com.sg and do a local search, you might still be able to find forummers complaining about it but this was about 7 YEARS AGO, so dunno if still got or not.
In my opinion, also because Malaysian are more innocent and easier to conn...
what about the electronic fan attached to the between the air filter and the air filter pipe? what about this item, pros and cons?
At wide open throttle, I can guaranty u that the air Suction from ur naturally aspirated engine is Much more than what the pc fan can supply. The pc fan will only restrict the air. What it's trying to do is to blow air into the to the manifold at a rated throttle position. More air than required will cause lean combustion. Also, u'll feel lighter on ur wheel. And it'll work negatively as the fan that suppose to produce force air, instead becomes a restriction.