Why do you like to mod your cars?

modding is like snding your wife to slimming center.....

for some they works perfectly...

some may get the result but amount of money drained is too damm high...

some may didnt even get the result they want

:biggrin: :rofl:

Now your turn did not read....:biggrin:

modding is like snding your wife to slimming center.....

for some they works perfectly...

some may get the result but amount of money drained is too damm high...

some may didnt even get the result they want

:biggrin: :rofl:

Which why they said, why get a girl (car) to mod instead when you can actually better off get a model (performance car) :rofl:

Since I am quite free, I'll write a little bit on why do i like to mod my car.

I am a fan of science, especially physics. I've been following F1 since I was 5 years old when my Dad was a fan. Then I started to watch MotoGP but not for long. So the "car thing" is already inside me even before I got my driving license.

During teenager time, I believe many of you also have this feeling i.e. to be better, to go faster, to be greater. And we often want what the others have. But with limited $$ and resources, we usually make lemonade with whatever lemon we have. Modify loud exhaust, lower the car, install bling bling lights, accessories, ICE, etc etc so that our car looks different than the others and hope that chicks would dig in. Whatever I add to the car, I felt improvement. Of course some were placebo effect, some were not. So the mindset of modifying a car grew in me.

So I grew up and with more knowledge of how thing works and now that I have better purchasing authority, the trend of modifying a car lives on and it got stronger. Before I bought my turtle, I had test driven a few cars before. The moment I test drive the turtle, I already had a few things in mind that I have to do with the car. I changed the suspension and add in some bars to make the car more, well, drivable. Changed the speakers and did NVH insulation so my ears will be intact when Im driving it, and also did some aesthetic modifications so I dont pull the door of another car which is exactly the same model and colour.

From there, little bit by little bit, I want to improve my car so I will not get bored. Imagine driving the same thing everyday, its like eating the same meal everyday. So even if I am driving a hypercar, I will still mod it. Its already in the genes.

Well because of this

• demotivation.us_Boys-never-actually-grow-up-Their-toys-just-get-bigger-and-more-expensive_138113.jpg
    demotivation.us_Boys-never-actually-grow-up-Their-toys-just-get-bigger-and-more-expensive_138113.jpg
    118.5 KB · Views: 112
hahahaahahahaha....getting back at him.......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:41 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Should be the torque improvement, only thing I can think off that can improve FC is better torque not power.

Not that I know off, VR and Evo all 2.0. That is the 4G63T engine.
But actually VR changed to 6A12TT (engine of Perdana) and the 2.5L Super VR4

The one I mentioned was a old Lancer. This one.
http://media.caranddriver.com/ez/images/features/09q3/overseas_desires_peugeot_205_gti_mitsubishi_lancer_ex_1800_gsr_turbo_intercooler-car_news/gallery/mitsubishi_lancer_ex_1800_gsr_turbo_intercooler_race_car_photo_20/2852836-1-eng-US/image_cd_gallery.jpg

Hehe, stock Perdana is 6A12 without TT la but before this was 4G63 SOHC. The 2.5 Super VR-4 is the last VR-4 isnt it? With 6A13TT or sometimes people called it Galant VRG... That one looks quite nice.

The Wira is a seriously inefficient car. Even manual GB loss is massive. Anyway, lighten, PNP correctly, oversize the pistons and generally make everything move more freely whilst increasing torque will do wonders for the go-fast-pedal. You'll press less so you get to go further. I never get anything less than 420km, and that's if I'm a complete idiot and red-line every single day as often as possible. On average I get 450km. Highway can easily touch 550km if I maintain 110km/h... which again is kinda hard if you're driving alone. But compared to some other Wiras I know, they got VTEC-like mid-to-high power, mine's all low to mid.

SOHC ftw.

420km is very good already for Wira. Even the Avanza 1.5 auto at my home can't achieve such figures.

Mine only can feel the power after going over 3000rpm to 5000rpm. So, that's considered as mid?

[/COLOR]
My friend buy Subaru STi but still mod....:driver:

Wah... what else not enough with STi?[/QUOTE]

People who buy Skyline GT-R, Lancer Evolution also mod, haha. :biggrin:
In fact, I think these cars are more suited to mod compared to ordinary cars. They have better chassis, better engine internals and better handling. These cars can gain a lot of power if modded and yet, the chassis still can withstand the stress from those extra power.

Since I am quite free, I'll write a little bit on why do i like to mod my car.

I am a fan of science, especially physics. I've been following F1 since I was 5 years old when my Dad was a fan. Then I started to watch MotoGP but not for long. So the "car thing" is already inside me even before I got my driving license.

During teenager time, I believe many of you also have this feeling i.e. to be better, to go faster, to be greater. And we often want what the others have. But with limited $$ and resources, we usually make lemonade with whatever lemon we have. Modify loud exhaust, lower the car, install bling bling lights, accessories, ICE, etc etc so that our car looks different than the others and hope that chicks would dig in. Whatever I add to the car, I felt improvement. Of course some were placebo effect, some were not. So the mindset of modifying a car grew in me.

So I grew up and with more knowledge of how thing works and now that I have better purchasing authority, the trend of modifying a car lives on and it got stronger. Before I bought my turtle, I had test driven a few cars before. The moment I test drive the turtle, I already had a few things in mind that I have to do with the car. I changed the suspension and add in some bars to make the car more, well, drivable. Changed the speakers and did NVH insulation so my ears will be intact when Im driving it, and also did some aesthetic modifications so I dont pull the door of another car which is exactly the same model and colour.

From there, little bit by little bit, I want to improve my car so I will not get bored. Imagine driving the same thing everyday, its like eating the same meal everyday. So even if I am driving a hypercar, I will still mod it. Its already in the genes.

Interesting story here. Thanks for sharing it.

The one I mentioned was a old Lancer. This one.
http://media.caranddriver.com/ez/images/features/09q3/overseas_desires_peugeot_205_gti_mitsubishi_lancer_ex_1800_gsr_turbo_intercooler-car_news/gallery/mitsubishi_lancer_ex_1800_gsr_turbo_intercooler_race_car_photo_20/2852836-1-eng-US/image_cd_gallery.jpg

Hehe, stock Perdana is 6A12 without TT la but before this was 4G63 SOHC. The 2.5 Super VR-4 is the last VR-4 isnt it? With 6A13TT or sometimes people called it Galant VRG... That one looks quite nice.

Nope, this is Lancer range....
Mitsubishi Lancer - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Yup, VRG, wanted to look for one but very little in Malaysia. VR body and engine changed to Super VR4, however the 4G63T engine developed into the Evos....:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:27 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Wah... what else not enough with STi?

STi is nothing, people with Ferrari also mod more power.....:driver:

Yup, VRG, wanted to look for one but very little in Malaysia. VR body and engine changed to Super VR4, however the 4G63T engine developed into the Evos....:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:27 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Twin turbo murcielago mmmm.
Diablo with LS engine twin turbo. Mmm...

I'm not saying about VR for the rally thingy. I mean, earlier you mentioned "Yup, VR4 were the first to be used in the Rally, then followed by Evo 1 onwards...." So I thought you mean VR4 was the first Mitsubishi to be used in Rally, haha.

Yeah, VRG is quite rare. Some people even convert Perdana front into VRG front which I think is illegal.. Ori VR-4 EC5A is even more rare than VRG.

Hehe, those who mod Ferrari usually mod it with things that came from famous tuning companies like Novitec Rosso. Can't just simply go to some random workshop to mod.

lazy to read the whole thread :biggrin:

the main concerns for my mod was
  1. prolonging its lifespan, it was my blown engine (reaching 300k in less than 5 years) makes me wanna change to Daihatsu L5 engine in the first place...
  2. add a bit of excitement into it.. like better ride/handling and of course decent power upgrades
  3. want to be a sleeper to fool 95% of the cars on the road

what I would give to have the resources to resto-mod my kancil like Singer does it to their water-cooled Porsche 911

Silly me, right? but ultimately that's my goal... hope has the enough time hehe

fyi, for those who does not recognize Singer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihhFf-9wLHs

*ehem* even if i got hold on supermodel (*supercar) ehem* i will still mod it in some way to get it suits me the best :listen:

That supermodel, you only mod it and try to make it better on bed only :rofl: Keep revving it hard to hear the engine moan... Sorry I mean roar. Enjoying the loud noise and body greatly
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Well like I said, coz not enough money to get a performance car, so just get a normal car and try to make it a bit better. What to do, poor me.:bawling:
Your normal car aint cheap and slow :rofl:

lazy to read the whole thread :biggrin:

the main concerns for my mod was
  1. prolonging its lifespan, it was my blown engine (reaching 300k in less than 5 years) makes me wanna change to Daihatsu L5 engine in the first place...
  2. add a bit of excitement into it.. like better ride/handling and of course decent power upgrades
  3. want to be a sleeper to fool 95% of the cars on the road

what I would give to have the resources to resto-mod my kancil like Singer does it to their water-cooled Porsche 911

Silly me, right? but ultimately that's my goal... hope has the enough time hehe

fyi, for those who does not recognize Singer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihhFf-9wLHs

Sleeper is a good idea. Especially those big car bullies always bully mousedeer...smoke them kaw kaw... :love:

Ohya,

And I mod my car to get better air conditioning system too :biggrin:

IMG_4994_zps6c2ae43e.jpg

This is the reason we like to mod our car...to make it better to drive and to be in. :burnout:

Ohya,

And I mod my car to get better air conditioning system too :biggrin:

IMG_4994_zps6c2ae43e.jpg

This is the reason we like to mod our car...to make it better to drive and to be in. :burnout:

finally found you :love:

wanna know, does the wrap need to be full piping? or just leave the pipes that flows into the condenser to be unwrap?

finally found you :love:

wanna know, does the wrap need to be full piping? or just leave the pipes that flows into the condenser to be unwrap?

you must have been stalking me for awhile now :rofl::rofl:

There are 2 lines i.e. gas line and liquid line. The one coming out from the condenser is the liquid line. By right we should insulate both although gas line is usually hot. This is because if the temperature in the engine bay is hotter than the gas line pipe, heat will go in and compressor will have to work more to reject the extra amount of heat. But insulating the cold liquid condensing line is more important because the temperature difference between engine bay and the pipe is high. You can actually feel that the condensate line is cold. There is no harm wrapping both, just like the usual household air conditioner copper tube.

Haha... read your DIY article way back, intended to ask the same question. then i got busy and totally forgot.. :stupid:

when i do remember a few days ago, forgot your nickname edy :banghead:

luck have it, you responded here :love:

thanks bro, will do it after my shift cycle is ended. this is beneficial to a kancil where aircon is not that cold on a hot day

I have touch the hot line before and it is definitely hotter then engine temperature woh!:hmmmm:

hmm..well by right it shouldnt because if it is then we dont need to compressor to bring it up to superheated state in order to enable heat rejection to the ambient.