Why Do You Spend $$$ To Mod Your Car?

try not to stereotype modders especially those who are featured in the car magazines, claiming crazy horsepower gains whether it's a national car or modded japanese cars.

i have known some of them and their road behaviour even humbles myself. they are law abiding citizens with once-a-blue-moon throttle pedal jammed to open wide. :P

some of them are much more responsible on the road...maybe they dont want to risk damaging their rims/engine/bodykit whatsoever... :lol:

So you mean there're some cars can survive a head-on collision at 160++km/h??

My point is: Don't drive too fast no matter what car you drive.
[snapback]918343[/snapback]​
[/quote]

No, but at least you will have less chance of losing control in the 1st place and ur chances to survive is still higher

it's their car, it's their money, it's their life, do what they like.

everybody has their own opinion to everything,
one man's food is another man's poison,
each to his own..

Happy modding ! ;)

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Apr 22 2005, 13:54
try not to stereotype modders especially those who are featured in the car magazines, claiming crazy horsepower gains whether it's a national car or modded japanese cars.

i have known some of them and their road behaviour even humbles myself. they are law abiding citizens with once-a-blue-moon throttle pedal jammed to open wide. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />

some of them are much more responsible on the road...maybe they dont want to risk damaging their rims/engine/bodykit whatsoever... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]918344[/snapback]​

hahah u are right, most of them are for showcar purposes therefore they do wan to wreck their cars unnecessarily. I have nothin against these kinda ppl.Only those who mod kau kau and think they are Superman on the road....

i agree with NOskill, dont drive too fast even sports car! can easily harm others responsible driver. they are innocent. THink of your family mar... :D

Craverz, cheers for u. u are right. some ppl spent more then the car value. is totally not worth. my fren driving iswara, he spent double his car value to mod on PA system. Huh...but that 1 can take it out. should be no problem.

for me, every modders should have their limit. thats it. B)

Originally posted by gti88@Apr 22 2005, 14:03
it's their car, it's their money, it's their life, do what they like.

everybody has their own opinion to everything,
one man's food is another man's poison,
each to his own..

Happy modding ! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' />
[snapback]918368[/snapback]​

hahah that's the use of this forum la, to voiz out ur opinion hahaha :lol:

Craverz, guess that if i really wanna mod, i will od bodykit and new colour only lah just to differentiate my car should it b stolen so that police can help track it easily. dun think me will dare to open engine bay and mod turbo whatsoever, after my warranty gone. mY classmate mod his waja to evo engine, 3 mths later, the car engine blowed up and the chop shop dun want to help repair at all. So his car 'pai leng' at home only now depreciating for nothin hehehehe.

Dun think I oso gonna spend money to mod too much coz when sell that time kenot get back.

yeah, there is no market value when u sell of your mod car... :)

hmm , i do enjoy modding cars but safety come first !! moreover that is ppl's money ma , dun k wat they do to their precious la . well , everyone has their own hobby or interest ... if u dun like to mod cars , its ok ... but dun go n simply say ppl wasting time n money on these modding stuff . there is only one word to me in modifying my baby ... da word is "SATISFACTION"

cheer-Zz ...

yeah, me too. SATISFACTION!

but, want satisfy also got limit mar...right? :P
im not stereotype those moders, just share something is realistic. :)

nicteh :
hmm , there is alwayz a limit for everything . well , wat u said was true . juz mod watever dat u can afford . let urself control ur money , not ur money control u ... datz very important ... my parentz thought me dat

juz my 2centz :D :D

hahah my ex-schoolmate who drives a fully mod Vios(sponsored by magazines) always say that when u spend money to mod car, especially the exterior the police sure stop and kacau u 1.

That's the downside of modifying to bodykits and spray, so now dun really know what to mod liao :(

If i can spend 100k to mod , i might as well sell off the Wira and use all the money 2 buy a used Impreza(that the previous owner have spent a huge sum alredi) and drive around or buy a gentleman car like the BMW 3-series hahaha :P

Da best is to buy used/recond car that the 1st owner haf spend alot already and u only buying at normal market price for stock standard wif full service recordz of coz

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Apr 22 2005, 12:05
majority of people will say that we modders are wasting our time and money for something called a CAR.

those who hate us modders must have something else that they like...

it's called a hobby.

we, the minorities do the things we do, because we are smart enough to appreciate it.

it's our way of life, and it's our right to spend on what we want.
[snapback]918085[/snapback]​

:lol: this one makes the most sense. H-O-B-B-Y.

Alot of people think car modders are wasting money, yeah.. i get that from my friend also. They say its pointless. I say if Kuching finally have a race track i'll probably yank out the rear seat they say i'm crazy, how to bring people around?

Clearly that "car" give them an impresion of being a "comuting tool". they see it as tools to get you around town and do stuff for you. somehow its similar to those who see stamps as collectable items and the rest of the people sees them as another "thing" you stick on the envelop so that the nice postman will deliver it for you. how we car enthusiast look at cars you all know, some want performance and some want attention.

comparing we car enthusiast/modders with the rest of the majority "driver" is like comparing gals who like wear heavy makeup and buy a set of outfit every 2 days and those majority who don't do so.

well.. easiest way to put it is that we enjoy doing so, even if it cost an arm or a leg. IMHO when we enjoy doing something, money isn't an object anymore, sommore people might work harder (in an honest way, hopefully) to gain more money so they can spend it on what they like. If people say that mod cars are just a waste of time and money or pointless, ask them what they like and then say it is pointless too. because modding cars might be pointless to them, what they like might be pointless to us too. if they say mod cars are ilegal, we can tell them that its posible to mod car legally.. who say its ilegal anyway? as long as you don't go pass the limit.

well, just my humble rm0.02. this question had been floating around my mind for quite a while also...