Why do you like to mod your cars?

I just want to keep my hands from rusting by doing practical work. Treat it as a work out because can sweat a lot when meddling with cars but these days will get a few leg muscle cramp or my back ache when bend over a long time over the engine...Hahahaha

if I'm not DIYing on cars. Then I will go find other stuff in the house to DIY...like plumbing, house wiring..etc..just to kill time but I do all these when I'm alone in the house or when I'm on baby sitting duty....

I just want to keep my hands from rusting by doing practical work. Treat it as a work out because can sweat a lot when meddling with cars but these days will get a few leg muscle cramp or my back ache when bend over a long time over the engine...Hahahaha

if I'm not DIYing on cars. Then I will go find other stuff in the house to DIY...like plumbing, house wiring..etc..just to kill time but I do all these when I'm alone in the house or when I'm on baby sitting duty....

ha! ha! Car DIY have to put aside. I just completed my water tank project with electric pump. With current water rationing water cannot reach my double storey house water tank in the roof. Bought additional tank for ground floor then pump it up with electric pump....:driver:

vr2turbo, open a new thread on house DIY la....I also wanna learn. :proud:

I try to do that, that is why my VR no emblem, no logo, no branding, only the BIG exhaust gives it away.....:hmmmm:

Haha... read your DIY article way back, intended to ask the same question. then i got busy and totally forgot.. :stupid:

when i do remember a few days ago, forgot your nickname edy :banghead:

luck have it, you responded here :love:

thanks bro, will do it after my shift cycle is ended. this is beneficial to a kancil where aircon is not that cold on a hot day

Yup, hot day is not that cold indeed. Only at night is cold enough. Intend to try since is a affordable DIY.

hmm..well by right it shouldnt because if it is then we dont need to compressor to bring it up to superheated state in order to enable heat rejection to the ambient.

So should we wrap both or liquid line (cold) will do?

SF, our plastidip sifu Pocket Rocket told me that better wrap the lines with aluminum foil then only wrap with the aircond insulator.

Should be the other way round wor...wrap the insulation then wrap with foil. The foil will act as vapor barrier and also radiant heat reflector

Both lines or only the cold one bro? Those wrap garlic bread kind of foil?

KY wrap the cold line first. This is the low pressure line so if more heat goes into it and it exceeds the "superheat" design temp, the compressor will not work as efficient. Then wrap the hot line which is the high pressure line, called the "subcooled", if it feels colder than yr engine bay.

Oh ya, actually if the load is too low, there is a risk of liquid going into compressor and shorten its lifespan. But in our climate that seldom happens coz its freaking hot !

vr2turbo, open a new thread on house DIY la....I also wanna learn. :proud:

I say, did not take pictures woh! because is house DIY and not car.....I can open new thread but can only show complete pictures. Maybe can post some before pictures using my spare accessories....:driver:

Should be the other way round wor...wrap the insulation then wrap with foil. The foil will act as vapor barrier and also radiant heat reflector

KY wrap the cold line first. This is the low pressure line so if more heat goes into it and it exceeds the "superheat" design temp, the compressor will not work as efficient. Then wrap the hot line which is the high pressure line, called the "subcooled", if it feels colder than yr engine bay.

Oh ya, actually if the load is too low, there is a risk of liquid going into compressor and shorten its lifespan. But in our climate that seldom happens coz its freaking hot !

could be also, need to re-confirm with him.

---------- Post added at 10:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:12 AM ----------

Both lines or only the cold one bro? Those wrap garlic bread kind of foil?

both lines kua. yeah that type of alluminium foil.

U mean the high pressure line colder than my engine bay? How to tell which is hotter?

could be also, need to re-confirm with him.

both lines kua. yeah that type of alluminium foil.

Now I'm Confused by 2 Confucius :confused:

SF, the cold line you will see water condensation on the pipe one...

---------- Post added at 12:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:15 PM ----------

Suddenly become thread on how to mod house, haha. Can learn something new here. :biggrin:

Labour for doing house is not cheap be it fixing or installing...that's why if can DIY, just DIY.

SF, the cold line you will see water condensation on the pipe one...

Labour for doing house is not cheap be it fixing or installing...that's why if can DIY, just DIY.

Nowadays such man hard to find nowadays. :adore::adore:

Ya know that bro, just wondering whether need to wrap the hot pipe as well earlier.
Will wrap the cold one for now.

Danz I found Air Cond Sifu Cvkit reply to Pocket Rocket.

attachment.php

• Picture 2.png
    Picture 2.png
    69.2 KB · Views: 232