What Have I Done..?!

• Thread starter azmir1
  • Start date
  • Replies 102
  • Views 8K
A

azmir1

Yup...I finally made the leap. After numerous presentation of the Business Case to the Financial Controller (aka The Wife), I managed to convince her just enough to let me get my...SKYLINE!

The road to success wasn't easy. This was my third attempt to get one, but it was worth the wait (so far). I'd always say "Good things come to those who spend...unwisely" :biggrin:

Anyways, I need some info from you good people out there. Hope you guys can help out:

1. Where's a good place to send this car for service/mods around Subang Jaya/Sunway/Shah Alam are? (specific garage)
2. I need to install alarm. What would you recommend and where?
3. I find that the brakes not so good. I'm thinking of installing braided hose. How much would a decent one cost and where can I get them?
4. There is a button that looks like a wiper windshield with squiggly lines across it next to the steering wheel. It lights up when pressed. What is this? :confused:
5. Where's a good place to get the car polished? Or does it not matter (like Car Care would do)?

OK. That's it for now. Will have more questions as I explore the car. Till then, I'll leave you with some pics. Btw, those night shots, my flash gave up on me so I had to use available lighting. Pardon the crappiness.

DSC_0976.jpg

DSC_0973.jpg

L1010688.jpg

L1010685.jpg

DSC_0983.jpg

DSC_0979.jpg

L1010692a.jpg

Cheers..

for ur number 4 question, the 'squiggly lines' button, its the rear windshield warmer (i think there's a name 4 it).. if u got 'kabus' at ur behind windshield, esp during cold days, turn it on lah..

btw congrats on getting a skyline.. :adore:
its not easy to convince a Financial Controller :biggrin:

Yup...I finally made the leap. After numerous presentation of the Business Case to the Financial Controller (aka The Wife), I managed to convince her just enough to let me get my...SKYLINE!

The road to success wasn't easy. This was my third attempt to get one, but it was worth the wait (so far). I'd always say "Good things come to those who spend...unwisely" :biggrin:

Anyways, I need some info from you good people out there. Hope you guys can help out:

1. Where's a good place to send this car for service/mods around Subang Jaya/Sunway/Shah Alam are? (specific garage)
3. I find that the brakes not so good. I'm thinking of installing braided hose. How much would a decent one cost and where can I get them?
4. There is a button that looks like a wiper windshield with squiggly lines across it next to the steering wheel. It lights up when pressed. What is this? :confused:
5. Where's a good place to get the car polished? Or does it not matter (like Car Care would do)?

OK. That's it for now. Will have more questions as I explore the car. Till then, I'll leave you with some pics. Btw, those night shots, my flash gave up on me so I had to use available lighting. Pardon the crappiness.

Cheers..

Sweeeeeet ride Azmir!! Nice. I did the same thing... but without going thru my missus. LOL.
Time to take it for a ride before doing any upgrades. Enjoy the sheer power and when you're over it, upgrade the performance a little then take it for a spin for sometime... little by little or step by step. You will enjoy every minute of it. thumbs up for ya! Looks like your muffler is good enough Azmir.

Last edited by a moderator:
That's definately one catchy color .... nice ... :adore:

DSC_0976.jpg

DSC_0973.jpg

L1010688.jpg

L1010685.jpg

DSC_0983.jpg

DSC_0979.jpg

L1010692a.jpg

Cheers..

Cool ride you got right there...welcome to the CLUB!!! :wavey: :wavey: :wavey:

DSC_0976.jpg

DSC_0973.jpg

L1010688.jpg

L1010685.jpg

DSC_0983.jpg

DSC_0979.jpg

L1010692a.jpg

Cheers..

Cool ride you got right there...welcome to the CLUB!!! :wavey: :wavey: :wavey:

wow...congrats! i wish that would happen to me...*getting a skyline*:adore:
blood sweat n tears paid off :top:

welcome to the DARKSIDE mate ... the SKY is the limit

by the way, are u from shah alam are?

question 1 : u might can try out blitz garage in sunway or auto enquiring at glenmarie...

question 2 : alarm system is up to ya preference..there are a few good one available..like
viper..clifford..etc...

question 3 : this question u might refer it with V-spec or other sifus..coz i'm just a newbie :P

question 4 : i believe this questions has been answered...

question 5 : for me, polish is depends on you..go to those 'classy polish' or normal one it's just
the same..most important is machine polish and how many layering..

hope my answers to help u a lil' bit..i'm just a newbie..anyway bro..welcome to skyline group :wavey:

Question 3: Endless VN9500 brake pads, Dot-4 brake fluid reflush, and braided lines as you wish. Maybe all up would set you back around 1k.

Ultimately, some Brembo's and rotors ... slightly bigger money ... :rolleyes:

That was great Azmir!! Nice colour..Lucky I have no Financial Controller,if not it's gonna be troble.

Cheer fro SKYLINE..

wai88: That's what you think .... Soon they will control your existing "toys" ... Next thing don't let me find you driving a Volvo wagon, or some MPV ... Hahahaha :biggrin:

Wahaha...That's still a long way to go.

We sholud protect our 'toys' and fight for it..:rofl:

Make her (or them, in some cases) believe (non-negotiable) before persuing further that the most she could be would be an Ah Nai ... Coz the No.1 wife would have to be the car ... :biggrin:

Question 3: Endless VN9500 brake pads, Dot-4 brake fluid reflush, and braided lines as you wish. Maybe all up would set you back around 1k.

Ultimately, some Brembo's and rotors ... slightly bigger money ... :rolleyes:

Eyong, 1k includes pads all round or just the front?

Also, how much would the Brembo alone cost?

Last, one stupid question, what's the pressure for the front and rear tires?

i thnk the first thing you should do is get the LMGT4 darkcoated with +12 offset or a set of TE37 time attack wheels! then baru figure about new brake pads and flushing your brake fluid.

:biggrin:

nice ride dude..
regarding ur questions, it all depends on ur taste actually. some poeple can afford to go to all the hot shot garages in sunway, some prefer a more moddest bengkel..i myself go to UMS in puchong. had my rb26 rebuild there the price is very reasonable n excellent workmanship. but its not the type of garage where theres tons of performance parts. but the mech ( Akentaro, who THINKS he is japanese) does only rb's n sr. so he is quite good with skylines.

for my point of view, the gtt brakes are quite good but depends on ur style of driving n braking. if ur the type who likes to drive in fast into a corner n do the last braking then prefered ur change to better disc as the ori disc will warp soon.. a set of aftermarket disc n performance pads would be adequate for street use..

nice ride dude..
regarding ur questions, it all depends on ur taste actually. some poeple can afford to go to all the hot shot garages in sunway, some prefer a more moddest bengkel..i myself go to UMS in puchong. had my rb26 rebuild there the price is very reasonable n excellent workmanship. but its not the type of garage where theres tons of performance parts. but the mech ( Akentaro, who THINKS he is japanese) does only rb's n sr. so he is quite good with skylines.

for my point of view, the gtt brakes are quite good but depends on ur style of driving n braking. if ur the type who likes to drive in fast into a corner n do the last braking then prefered ur change to better disc as the ori disc will warp soon.. a set of aftermarket disc n performance pads would be adequate for street use..

Dr D, I prefer to send my car to someone who knows what he's doing. Can you give me the address and location (landmarks etc)?

About the brakes, i found that I need to put in a lot of pressure to get the car to stop. Maybe I'm too "old"...hahahhaha...but I feel a bit unsafe. I was thinking of the braided hose, cuz i know it helped when used it on my Satria GSR way way way back when...

It's just that, N1 quoted like 700 for GTT brake hose... :)