What Have I Done..?!

• Thread starter azmir1
  • Start date
  • Replies 102
  • Views 8K
Satigue. Yeap, Hypercoat is the distributor. Their 'master' detailer used to work on my ex-car many years ago. Superb work.

[PIMPIN];3733117 said:
Eh guys, I was being serious. I have never given this much thought and I know its dangerous but I did not consider running different pressures for high speed runs. :adore:

unless ur doing 300 for a period of time (i highly doubt that on malaysian roads) it'll be ok. it is only when u attend trackdays or drags that u need to actually reduce tyre pressures accordingly...

Yeah, I don't get to hold it at 300 for long cause the scenery seems to fly so fast! LOL

Usually I keep it to more sane speeds like 240-260:rofl:

In all seriousness, thanks for the info - I feel more at ease now.

What rating? Y? ZR?

Y rating = 300km/h

I understand that the rating means that the tire is capable of 300km/h for up to 1 hour. Is this true?

Correct me if I am wrong, but normally one would run a slightly higher pressure on track to optimize the tire capabilities ... I do know, the pressure would go up upon increasing tire temp but underinflating would never get your tires hard enough to work the suspensions. That's my thoughts though. And normally out track session would last max, 5-8 laps before pitting. Don't think many have tried more than 10-15 laps at one go?

Other thing is, the recommended max pressure stated on the tire sidewall would indicate cold, unless others have different thoughts?

1. Where's a good place to send this car for service/mods around Subang Jaya/Sunway/Shah Alam are? (specific garage)

I'm going to recommend a place which has done all my cars, even my parents cars - both audio and alarm systems. I believe in their workmanship and after sales support. Look for Peter Chong at CV Audio in Damansara Utama.

Tell him Razlan sent you. He's very thorough and always has the time for your questions, queries and special requests. But remember, a proper comprehensive alarm system does not come cheap. All those alarm systems going for RM899 lah or whatever do not offer you the protection you need. Spend a bit more, you will thank me for it.

If you want someone to hold your hand, I can come down to CV with you and introduce you lah hahah :banghead:

[PIMPIN];3734536 said:
I'm going to recommend a place which has done all my cars, even my parents cars - both audio and alarm systems. I believe in their workmanship and after sales support. Look for Peter Chong at CV Audio in Damansara Utama.

Tell him Razlan sent you. He's very thorough and always has the time for your questions, queries and special requests. But remember, a proper comprehensive alarm system does not come cheap. All those alarm systems going for RM899 lah or whatever do not offer you the protection you need. Spend a bit more, you will thank me for it.

If you want someone to hold your hand, I can come down to CV with you and introduce you lah hahah :banghead:

Hey...another friend of mine also recommended the same place. Actually i'm going there tomorrow.

No need to hold hand....but thanks for the offer though. :biggrin:

Welcome to the FUN club Azmir.

CV AUto is a good place for alarms and audio systems, my regular place too. Just be prepared to grab a chair and sit down to enjoy hours of explanation on a particular alarms setup. He will be your perfect buddy thru out the entire installation.

Start with all maintenance fluid change...drive it for a few weeks to get to know the car better first.

Tire pressure depends on what tyre yours is fitted with, from my experience with soft sidewalls will be around 34-36 psi and harder sidewalls will be 32-34 psi mainly for town driving. If for the usual Blast i will up 2 psi all round for sharper handling.

Hope this helps in you enjoying your wild ride. Cheers bro!!

Welcome to the FUN club Azmir.

CV AUto is a good place for alarms and audio systems, my regular place too. Just be prepared to grab a chair and sit down to enjoy hours of explanation on a particular alarms setup. He will be your perfect buddy thru out the entire installation.

Start with all maintenance fluid change...drive it for a few weeks to get to know the car better first.

Tire pressure depends on what tyre yours is fitted with, from my experience with soft sidewalls will be around 34-36 psi and harder sidewalls will be 32-34 psi mainly for town driving. If for the usual Blast i will up 2 psi all round for sharper handling.

Hope this helps in you enjoying your wild ride. Cheers bro!!

DM, thanks for the input....to all of u really. I'm quite terkezuttt with the response and support of the ppl in this community. I hope to meet up with some of you for TT someday. :wavey:

Anyways, I've got another question for y'all. Last night, my wife complained that I drive too slow (the kids were't in the car) and she questioned the point of buying such a beast if I wasn't gonna break speed limits. She said she tension. hahahahahahahah...

So, when we were driving to UPM, I put the pedal to the metal, but I kept an eye on the oil temp. I've read in this forum before (n I even asked Dr D last night) that the temp should range about 80-90, however, mine showed 100-105 (about 1.5 clicks from 70). Is this normal?

Cheers....

Correct me if I am wrong, but normally one would run a slightly higher pressure on track to optimize the tire capabilities ... I do know, the pressure would go up upon increasing tire temp but underinflating would never get your tires hard enough to work the suspensions. That's my thoughts though. And normally out track session would last max, 5-8 laps before pitting. Don't think many have tried more than 10-15 laps at one go?

Other thing is, the recommended max pressure stated on the tire sidewall would indicate cold, unless others have different thoughts?
i've driven my Z out in trackday once only so my experience on underinflating the tyres are limited to 15inch n 16inch tyres cos when i was active participating in trackdays 3-5 years ago, my car n most other cars that i drive were using 15 n 16inchers.

for the small size tyres, we seldom use street tyres in trackdays cos semislicks n full slicks are cheap. and for these kind of rubbers, the inflation rate is quite high as it goes up to operating temperature.

so yeah, maybe for biggie tyres like 17,18 or 19inchers, the necessity is to inflate the tyres instead of reducing the pressure. my Z is almost ready for trackdays so i will definitely report any positive/negative changes on overinflating/underinflating the tyres during trackdays... wanna try it for myself. thanks for ur feedback bro

azmir, that's normal if you are not running an aftermarket oil cooler. Time to put that into your shopping list. :P

haha...got reason to tell wifey if wana go faster, have to install oil cooler.....she will approve yr budget....:biggrin:

Satigue...oil cooler approved. The wife wants me to drive without having to worry about oil temp.

Anyways, went to few places in Sunway today in search of one, but they don't have any that is a direct fit. All they have is a universal one.

Then I checked out this exhaust shop, can't remember the name, but I know the owner is Jaafar or something like that. They have 2 exhausts for GTT, one is Trust (titanium) and one is Blitz. There was this uncle (he seems old to me) who drives a white GTT and he asked the salesman to bring down the Trust unit.

Goddamn that thing is light as a feather!!! The Blitz felt so much heavier. I wonder how heavy is the stock system on my car?

I left the store wondering what is the difference between an aftermarket brand and a custom made piping? Anyone here has their exhaust custom made?

Anyways...the uncle bought the Trust exhaust. Damn...

I also visited this polish/waxing shop near the loji. FYI, he said Skyline needs 4 coating, using Meguiars. However, he said that Meguiars wax cannot tahan (after 3-4 wash, gone oredi). So, he recommended AutoGlym as the wax. Price is 400. Just thought I'd share the info.

Hi azmir, came across your post.. im doing mobile car detailing and purely using AutoGlym products. Do contact me if you're interested. 012-6929644. Kevin. thanks. i run 7 days a week, and anywhere your car is.

azmir1,very supportive wife u got....*envy*. btw, how come yr car still being advertisted by the dealer on motortrader? or izit a different car?

I stumbled upon the car when it first got here. According to the dealer, I was the first one who had enquired about it. Next thing I knew, there's a red sports car on my porch..hehehe

Anyway, the ad was already put in before I came. It was scheduled to come out 2 weeks after. Thus the ad in MT.

Oic..U were fast & desperate for the car....:biggrin: btw, how much u got the car for?

Write your reply...