Wastegate ????

Lynx210

Hi frens......

For our B8 (180 or 210) if want to change a wastegate how to justify the size ???? Can pls gv advice ??? Thanks...... ;)

depends on what turbo u are using and how much u are boosting

very subjective question developed from personal taste

DRFT ,
Thanks for reply .... ;)

Ok let say im using B8 210 Very ori n like to booost up to 0.9 now only 0.6 so what size or what type ?????

Is that mean any type????
But they said not Thailand made why??????
38mm if use bigger is that meancan boost more ??

maybe u can ask NiJ, the other day talked to him and he mention some size but i forgot liao... sorry cant help. KK and recommendation?? i m also interested! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by jonhzc83@Mar 1 2005, 21:27
maybe u can ask NiJ, the other day talked to him and he mention some size but i forgot liao... sorry cant help. KK and recommendation?? i m also interested! :rolleyes:
hi dude,

same as me HKS 40mm.. who interested go see the model in BSA ...

i think 35-40mm is good enough for our 1.8cc car..

Originally posted by tkk+Mar 2 2005, 15:56 -->
QUOTE (tkk @ Mar 2 2005, 15:56 )
--QuoteBegin-jonhzc83
@Mar 1 2005, 21:27

hi dude,

i think 35-40mm is good enough for our 1.8cc car.. [/b][/quote]
It's that mean dun care how many bar v boosting ??? Just bout this 1.8 cc v can use 35-40+mm ??? :blink:

Originally posted by Lynx210+Mar 2 2005, 17:20 -->
QUOTE (Lynx210 @ Mar 2 2005, 17:20 )
Originally posted by tkk@Mar 2 2005, 15:56
--QuoteBegin-jonhzc83

hi dude,

It's that mean dun care how many bar v boosting ??? Just bout this 1.8 cc v can use 35-40+mm ??? :blink: [/b][/quote]
brother... how many boost you want to run first?

HKS 40mm can go up to 400hp. ;)

how much is a second hand wastegate HKS model.. the same as yours??? and also how much is the installation fees???

Originally posted by tkk+Mar 2 2005, 22:16 -->
QUOTE (tkk @ Mar 2 2005, 22:16 )
Originally posted by Lynx210@Mar 2 2005, 17:20
--QuoteBegin-jonhzc83

hi dude,

It's that mean dun care how many bar v boosting ??? Just bout this 1.8 cc v can use 35-40+mm ??? :blink:

HKS 40mm can go up to 400hp. ;) [/b][/quote]
will there be any turbo lag... if an external wastegate is installed??? i know the responds when the turbo kicks in will be very much compare to an internal wastegate or actuator... but before it kicks in... any lag??

Originally posted by jonhzc83+Mar 2 2005, 23:20 -->
QUOTE (jonhzc83 @ Mar 2 2005, 23:20 )
Originally posted by tkk@Mar 2 2005, 22:16
--QuoteBegin-jonhzc83

hi dude,

HKS 40mm can go up to 400hp. ;)

will there be any turbo lag... if an external wastegate is installed??? i know the responds when the turbo kicks in will be very much compare to an internal wastegate or actuator... but before it kicks in... any lag?? [/b][/quote]
always lag gua.... now also lag.... boost reponse should be quicker and if ure wastegate is properly sized
it will decrease spool up time and prevent boost creeping......

Originally posted by tkk+Mar 2 2005, 22:16 -->
QUOTE (tkk @ Mar 2 2005, 22:16 )
--QuoteBegin-jonhzc83

hi dude,

HKS 40mm can go up to 400hp. ;) [/b][/quote]
So if i plan to boost 1.4 max 1.2 nor 1.0 low so 40 mm can ah ?????? My sifu Mr TKK???? :unsure: :unsure: :unsure:

Wastegate or BOV ?
If you are talking about the stock turbo with internal wastegate on your engine , You would only need to port out your internal wastegate on the turbo . I would think that the ported wastegate port exhaust flow would be cheaper and better way to go . .9 Bar is do-able . But i do like to warn you that most stock turbos efficiency run out about about 1Bar .

If you already have a after-market turbo , than you would like to get an upgraded external wastegate . I would choose the wastegate on the type of turbo and the amount of boost you would be running . For a 1.8 engine a good turbo would be a Garrett GT28 series BB turbo. With that turbo running medium to high boost . A 38 or a 40 mm wastegate would be recommended (with high boost , you would get a harder spring for the wastegate) Tial makes nice wastegate and medium range prices .

Please take care thou . General rule of thumb , if you are aiming for a 20%-50% power up stock turbo engine will do fine . If you are aiming for power levels above 70% . Plus upgrade your engine to match .

Remember Piston , Con-rods and crankshaft , main components first .

ps; Take everything with a pinch of salt , everything i said is from my point of view :) Drive safe

Originally posted by SomeGuy_sg@Mar 12 2005, 04:22
Wastegate or BOV ?
If you are talking about the stock turbo with internal wastegate on your engine , You would only need to port out your internal wastegate on the turbo . I would think that the ported wastegate port exhaust flow would be cheaper and better way to go . .9 Bar is do-able . But i do like to warn you that most stock turbos efficiency run out about about 1Bar .

If you already have a after-market turbo , than you would like to get an upgraded external wastegate . I would choose the wastegate on the type of turbo and the amount of boost you would be running . For a 1.8 engine a good turbo would be a Garrett GT28 series BB turbo. With that turbo running medium to high boost . A 38 or a 40 mm wastegate would be recommended (with high boost , you would get a harder spring for the wastegate) Tial makes nice wastegate and medium range prices .

Please take care thou . General rule of thumb , if you are aiming for a 20%-50% power up stock turbo engine will do fine . If you are aiming for power levels above 70% . Plus upgrade your engine to match .

ps; Take everything with a pinch of salt , everything i said is from my point of view :) Drive safe
good info... agree with you brother.. ;)

Originally posted by tkk+Mar 13 2005, 00:19 -->
QUOTE(tkk @ Mar 13 2005, 00:19 )
--QuoteBegin-SomeGuy_sg
@Mar 12 2005, 04:22
Wastegate or BOV ?

[snapback]812429[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

to what i know... B8 210 engines comes with forged pistons and harden con rods and crankshaft!! so ori engine can boost up high?? Kolo told me 210 engine can go up to 450++bhp without a problem using stock engine components!! rite KK?

:lol:
Originally posted by jonhzc83+Mar 20 2005, 22:54 -->
QUOTE(jonhzc83 @ Mar 20 2005, 22:54 )
Originally posted by tkk@Mar 13 2005, 00:19
--QuoteBegin-SomeGuy_sg
Wastegate or BOV ?

to what i know... B8 210 engines comes with forged pistons and harden con rods and crankshaft!! so ori engine can boost up high?? Kolo told me 210 engine can go up to 450++bhp without a problem using stock engine components!! rite KK?
[snapback]825444[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

i think u heard wrongly la bro...... i think he said 350...... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by jonhzc83+Mar 20 2005, 22:54 -->
QUOTE(jonhzc83 @ Mar 20 2005, 22:54 )
--QuoteBegin-SomeGuy_sg
Wastegate or BOV ?

[/b][/quote]

so far kolo tested b8180 engine up to 350bhp was ok.

Thanks for all sifu giving all gooooooooooood info
So if let say with210 stock boost up 1.2 bar do v need wastegate ?????
Originally posted by tkk+Mar 21 2005, 10:00 -->
QUOTE(tkk @ Mar 21 2005, 10:00 )
Originally posted by jonhzc83@Mar 20 2005, 22:54
--QuoteBegin-SomeGuy_sg
Wastegate or BOV ?

so far kolo tested b8180 engine up to 350bhp was ok.
[snapback]826380[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]