VVT Pulley

BudakSiol!

-

Based on the old threads, it seems refurbishment/recondition of the VVT Pulley is the best way to eliminate the famous 20V diesel sound and also to make sure your VVT engagement is in tip top condition.

Questions to users of this refurbished VVT Pulley though, after months/years of using it does the refurbished VVT Pulley still functions to engage the VVT and does the diesel sound appears back again? I guess in summary after refurbishing the VVT Puilley, has it lasted you till now or the diesel sound came back and engagement of VVT been an issue again? Thanks.

Jul 17, 2006
Interesting question.

Also curious of the above and is it worth buying a new vvt pulley or refurbish? And where can we find new ori vvt pulleys?

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
done this... and use it for more closed to 2 years without the sound coming back...
now on the second refurbished pulley after some issue on the TODA intake pulley...
have to activate back the VVT...:bawling:

i do recommend this...:congrats:

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
once a wise man said...when you service the VVT pulley, it's better to install a VVT light indicator... :P

Jul 17, 2006
Meg omen: where did u refurbish ya bro?

Chinozie: are u that wise man? Heheh

20V Trumpeteer

Jan 2, 2010
Kedah
0501024: dont disturb chinozie business lor..he juz wanna sell his product ony...let us support him ler.....huhuhuhuhu:driver:

later who knows when he become a big entrepreneur next....gud luck ya

Jul 17, 2006
lol. sry sry :P

Back to topic, any idea where to find a new VVT pulley?
and if want to refurbish, who can do it?

feipepe

May 12, 2010
balakong
hi to everyone sifu,
may i know how could u know our VVT pully is in good condition or not? have any symptom to check it?normally the interval time for the VVT pully is how many millage?

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
last quote by Trial... new from Japan around RM1.3K...
not sure whether Wing Hin has them...

refurbish... HAZ Garage...:proud:

20V Trumpeteer

Jan 2, 2010
Kedah
I've heard the new vvt pulley ori one bout RM800 at Win Hin...dont know they have ready stock or need to order:dontknow:

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
VVT pulley lasts about 100,000km, not sure where I read bout it. Its time to change it when the "diesel sound" is noticeable after the engine is fully warmed up. If the sound doesnt bother you, just leave it as is... as long as VVT is working fine and you "get the feeling"

feipepe

May 12, 2010
balakong
oooic...meant that when heard the sound like diesel "tak tak". but last time my silvertop got very lousy the diesel sound. after that i tries to adjust the distributer angle..now become ok liao...shall this angle distributor is also the factor influence the life-time VVT?
some more, if the VVT totally malfunctional, what is the effect? except have the diesel sound "tak tak"?

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
VVT pulley lasts about 100,000km, not sure where I read bout it. Its time to change it when the "diesel sound" is noticeable after the engine is fully warmed up. If the sound doesnt bother you, just leave it as is... as long as VVT is working fine and you "get the feeling"
yup...
but the only thing you won't notice is the VVT lag and earlier close...
due to the position of the pulley...
well.. maybe something to ponder about...:hmmmm: