vtec sound

Ivan..dat one very subjective hooo...got ppl used Border still can pass thru. mine one last time used s-flow oso kena hehehhehe...if you want very loud vtec sound, straight flow is the answere. S-flow won't help so much.

Nyahahaha.. here's a border user that never kena yet... (O_O)

Want to try fight VTEC noiseah.. I think mine quite loud and audible..

Too bad my car is SLOWER than it sounds.. hahahaha..

I think spoon and border almost similar in noise.. so that's one choice you have.

Another reason might be if you didn't remove your catalytic converter for a straight pipe.. the cat does reduce a lot of noise.

budin99 said:
Ivan..dat one very subjective hooo...got ppl used Border still can pass thru. mine one last time used s-flow oso kena hehehhehe...if you want very loud vtec sound, straight flow is the answere. S-flow won't help so much.

remeber one , wif friend do the dyno test..........
the tec kick in very clearly from engin....... not muffler.........
i compare my friend wif mine .... my one not really clear........ but power was better him few hp lo........

i know the muffler sound will change,but the actual sound explo.... is from engin...
actually . i ask alot ppl.... Gt at sunway, they also cant give me the answer........
ha ha .... maybe i too sensitive to this......:regular_smile: , s -flow i tried before ( jasma) lagi teruk....... non sound at all.......... , anyway,thanz

I am assuming most of you guys using 1 "bullet" piping, i m using two bullet with straight piping, idle n low RPM is not that noisy, when vtec engage its noticeable,

anyway, just wondering how much roughly power loss if using 2 bullet? (for normal b16a engine)

IVAN TAN,
i assume ur EG9=manual,right?coz if its an auto,case close ler...autos r like dat 1...but having 152whp,i think urs is a manual ler....n yes,152whp 4 a stock std engine is actually VERY healthy...assuming u encounter 15% power loss,it shud read 144.5whp only..down frm 170atc hp....so,if u got no CEL,ur power is good..i dun c y ur vtec sound is not loud like wat u sed..n ur using HKS SPF oredy...
i'm baffled...

UKDMEK4,
wei,pakai DOHC VTEC but mau 2 bullet=GAGAL TAK HENGAT u know?!.....apara lu....kasi malu sama kaum seDOHC VTEC sj.....chait!!!

SataniC,
wei,dat unker ar i tell u?if he @ least got a TURBOH MOV pong i dok marah sgt u know??d anak gajah still setok setanded lar..ngua ngua ngua!
n guess wat?i think IVAN TAN can d VERY VERY good frens w ahmelican,dun u think so?heheheheh

Shiro..dat guy used imit Border when go to Puspakom last time. Lepas wooo..keh keh keh..dats wai i said very subjective. heh heh heh

UKDMEK4,

I used 1 bullet only. no noise come in to the cabin in normal driving. quite ok I think as I am a family man too (with 2 kid at the back). i noticed dat the exaust shop put bullet that used wire mesh instead of fiber type bullet. I think made in batu berendam one..heh heh heh..

akuma said:
UKDMEK4,
wei,pakai DOHC VTEC but mau 2 bullet=GAGAL TAK HENGAT u know?!.....apara lu....kasi malu sama kaum seDOHC VTEC sj.....chait!!!

I am using tanabe ultra medallion,most ppl say it is LOUD, since when i bought it it comes together with 2 bullet so i just install it la.. at least my car x 'ear-catching' less ppl eyeing.. heheheh

Maybe u're using auto cams.......try checking them........auto cams make very slow noise... mine is auto with manual cams........it makes more noise when vtec bukak compared to normal autos i've been in........

aalto said:
Maybe u're using auto cams.......try checking them........auto cams make very slow noise... mine is auto with manual cams........it makes more noise when vtec bukak compared to normal autos i've been in........
waa..alto..can kawin manual cam to auto cam => more vtec noise when buka..how bout power got improve or x?? :shades_smile:

i agree wif aalto. check ur cam.
actually this problem happened to my friend last time.
ur next choice is changing ur valve spring. m not very sure the
result, but at least u try maa..

Can laa......Power a little bit better......sounds garang like manual......but sometimes when u rembat engine check light will go on (usually at high rpm).....but i dont mind it....it goes off after u stop & start ure engine back again......the comp box gets confused a little coz of the cams.....

auto cam can be used in manual cam ahh? herrm maybe the degree is difference.

budin99 said:
Shiro..dat guy used imit Border when go to Puspakom last time. Lepas wooo..keh keh keh..dats wai i said very subjective. heh heh heh

Same here.. I passed my puspakom test with a border as well...

Though I plonked in the silencer.. :P

Auto cam can also be used in manual..........but what for?.......manual cam has higher profile......u downgrade if u use auto cams......maybe ivans car was auto originally then the last owner convert to manual but didnt change cams......

aalto said:
Auto cam can also be used in manual..........but what for?.......manual cam has higher profile......u downgrade if u use auto cams......maybe ivans car was auto originally then the last owner convert to manual but didnt change cams......

YES , aalto, my car was auto las time, last owner convert to manual, but i oledi change the cam to manual cam ........ ( foreman said la) that time still can heard the sound....... dont know why........ become more silent.......... maybe something wrong ......... wif my vtec......... wait for the problem occur. lo......... very tired to check somemore.............

i dunno how to explain... but my sense is ur type of 'this thing' (shape like small vertical cylinder together with vtec solenoid sensor) is small type... there are models which bigger... sumtimes they call 'vtec sound'... big n small will effect the patern of vtec sound...