Exhaust Rattling/Vibrating Sound

Since the additional clamp did not eliminate the sound, the shop has suggested to add a flex pipe as they have confirmed mine does not have it. Hopefully this solves it once and for all.

thats the 1st thing what bro l2s mentioned .. hehehe.. hope it solves it.

A lot have been saying that a small car by right won't need the flex pipe. However, no harm in putting it right? No side effects?

Yes this was what I suspect and told the shop too but they told me that if something is loose inside the muffler, whether it's cold or hot there will definitely be a sound. Hmm..

They welded an additional clamp to hold the exhaust pipes tighter and there's still the sound.

I noticed one thing though which is really weird, during night the sound will definitely happen while in the morning (I usually start moving around 7.30am), the sound is there but not as loud compared to night time. For night time, even if the car has been running for house (so I believe the exhaust system has been heated up), the sound will be there.

This leaves me wondering that it might not be related to the temperature. But heck, why is the sound more obvious at night even when the car has been running for hours already?

Bro i see you mentioned here when the exhaust system has been heated up he sound will be there? I might due to material expansion.. where the material expands when it's heated up and when all the holdings were holding very tight, it'll also cause the exhaust to vibrate as nothing acting as the vibrating absorber.. so i think it's advisable to add the flex pipe in between.. and by the way, have you done your tuning? Changing the exhaust system will actually affect on your car's idling where the outlet of the gasses is flowing at a different velocity.. thus it'll also cause the engine to vibrate a little because tuning out.. you try both of the above mentioned methods den see how?

---------- Post added at 12:06 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:03 PM ----------

A lot have been saying that a small car by right won't need the flex pipe. However, no harm in putting it right? No side effects?

No problem de la.. because they think small car's engine cannot generate such high vibration and under estimate a small cc engine could do... hehe.. anyway try the flex pipe.. no harm.. as my exhaust pipe fren also recommend to add in order to prolong your exhaust systems especially at the flange connections there..

I did changed my whole piping as well due to leaks and encountered the exact same sound after installation. Also happened randomly expecially in the morning and night. Guess what after a thorough observation, discovered the noise of metal hitting metal came from the contact from the pipe with the fuel tank. Brought it back and realign it so now no more sound. Check it out.

my car also have rattling sound because i'm running without the "nenas" flexible pipe..

Another option is ask the shop to take out the muffler and replace with another one.

After adding the flex pipe, the sound problem seems to be solved already after few days of observation. However, I'm not too sure if it's because of the flex pipe because they adjusted the pipe after finding out that it was quite close to the gearbox when I engage a gear. Anyway, as long as the problem is solved then I'm a happier driver now. :biggrin:

im having the same problem. i change full exhaust system for my myvi 1.5. i suspect that the extractor part hits the gearbox. this is weird because it only happen when morning and night. same situation as you, it happen when engine idling in gear d or r when the aircond compressor is off. when it kicks in, the vibration sound is gone but it came back when the compressor kicks out. i guess we have the same problem. i've been to the shop 4 times already. do you guys find the solution or the problem? its kinda annoying to live with that sound. ive tried everything and come up with the solution to increase the idling rpm a bit but dunno how to. :P seeking advice from the sifu.

increase in piping size? an increase in piping diameter would cause less movement space compared to original piping....so rubber supports cant stop movement before piping knocks on car body....

im having the same problem. i change full exhaust system for my myvi 1.5. i suspect that the extractor part hits the gearbox. this is weird because it only happen when morning and night. same situation as you, it happen when engine idling in gear d or r when the aircond compressor is off. when it kicks in, the vibration sound is gone but it came back when the compressor kicks out. i guess we have the same problem. i've been to the shop 4 times already. do you guys find the solution or the problem? its kinda annoying to live with that sound. ive tried everything and come up with the solution to increase the idling rpm a bit but dunno how to. :P seeking advice from the sifu.

1. probably your exhaust is built too close to the engine area, when it's cold, engine will vibrate more thus more rattling sound

2. exhaust system mounting - probably some parts of the system is in contact

3. exhaust gasket/sealant - this is the last thing i could think of, exhaust joints not tightened properly or could be hardened exhaust gasket sealant fell in to the piping and stuck inside muffler.
this has been a common issue to older gen 1.3 myvi stock exhaust system, but since you said you changed the whole thing into a new one, i could only say this is the last possible cause

I've experienced this. This usually happens in low rpm. Well the best thing to do is jack it with a haus (mind me if it is wrongly spelled) throttle in all rpm range to see if it hits in any rpm level. if not gear in with brakes on to push the rpm as low as possible, in certain rpm hits it will vibrates so ask the the mechanix to check below while you doing this..if the pipes is ok, then this might occurs in two parts the mufflers are slightly touching your bumpers or the pipes flange lips connecting to your extractor touches the gear box case, in my case this is what happen try to check on yours, because some exhaust makers have inaccurate measurements.