All type of sound from my car... help !

Hi, i own a 2008 satria neo 1.6 non-cps manual.

until recently (few months back) i start to hear all kind of sound coming from my car, i try to describe it as much as possible, hope sifu can help me diagnose what is the problem

1) when decelerate/ let go of pedal after moving, can hear "whining" sound, i suspect is my transmission problem, or maybe my engine?

2) actually when accelerate, also have this like "engine cannot breath" sound, which also sounded something like whining above (1), but decelerate the sound will be even louder...

3) when try to accelerate with a higher gear (for example suppose to be in 2nd gear but instead i have it in 3rd gear), there will be like loud sound something like loose bolt, clinging sound...i suspect is transmission also?

thanks in advance !

Description is not enough to judge it really. best is to bring it to reputable mechanic. or u can record the sound in youtube and share it.

Anyway as proton owner before, all noises are normal for proton cars. bread and butter of the brand Proton. deswai i chg to Honda and no much noise occured. my honda is 18 yrs old but still lesser noise than my wiralution that is younger. go figure.

Didn't performed "better" in real world, not in any subjective or objective manner.
I thought a lightened crank pulley makes the engine more eager to rev. At least, that's my butt dyno feel when I replaced.

I didnt re-balance the crankshaft.Have engine vibration at idle and few years down the road despite minimal usage, has had to replace ac compressor, alternator. God knows what else is coming soon.

I thought a lightened crank pulley makes the engine more eager to rev. At least, that's my butt dyno feel when I replaced.

I didnt re-balance the crankshaft.Have engine vibration at idle and few years down the road despite minimal usage, has had to replace ac compressor, alternator. God knows what else is coming soon.
I thought Ixeo was talking about the mountings?

hey guys, workshop still cannot figure out what is with all the sound....

just want to ask if i were to go for engine overhaul, how much would it cost me?

also, any recommended workshop? klang valley that is

hey guys, workshop still cannot figure out what is with all the sound....

just want to ask if i were to go for engine overhaul, how much would it cost me?

also, any recommended workshop? klang valley that is
Get 2nd opinion from another workshop, before doing overhaul

I can only think of the 1.8 campro stroker kit when he mentioned abt overhaul. That will be worth the time stripping down the engine.
1.8 is legal might as well swap engine, stroke if possible go 2.0L......hhahahhahhaha

Let experts explain
https://machv.com/pages/tip-11-crank-pulleys

Under drive pulley for a supercharged car I understand. Lightened pulley for NA is pointless for street driving. In-line 4 engines aren’t smooth, I believe the harmonic dampeners do something else manufacturers won’t include it.

Get 2nd opinion from another workshop, before doing overhaul

This is the best advice. I got a good mechanic out in the woods in Sungai Buloh if you want.

But he can’t do wiring and electrical — basic only. He’s a mechanic.

This is the best advice. I got a good mechanic out in the woods in Sungai Buloh if you want.

But he can’t do wiring and electrical — basic only. He’s a mechanic.
Most mechanic don't do wiring, simple one then yes. Major wiring problem always sent to wire man......lol

Stock OEM.

Trust me.

Why?

I changed to aftermarket one after all the hype. Then I changed back. true story.

Agreed, i am one of those guys who've changed back to stock after 2-3 months on lighten crank pulley, endless problem !

Guys,
allow me to ride on this thread as i am having this problem with my blm.

Recently i hear 'kluk2' sound on my blm. It happen during initial movement when load is transferred to the back. Its very faint that the radio needs to be switched off before the sound can be heard. Its like a metal to metal sound. A quick inspection reveal that the 2 bottom engine mounting is torn thus i replaced all for last sunday.

Car felt like new but the noise is still there and can hear more clearly as the new mounting seems to lower noise coming from the engine. Lower arm is new (less than 1 yr and its ori Proton), no significant free play on tie rod and absorber link to arb. I am starting to think its the caliper pin. How do i check the pin?

Guys,
allow me to ride on this thread as i am having this problem with my blm.

Recently i hear 'kluk2' sound on my blm. It happen during initial movement when load is transferred to the back. Its very faint that the radio needs to be switched off before the sound can be heard. Its like a metal to metal sound. A quick inspection reveal that the 2 bottom engine mounting is torn thus i replaced all for last sunday.

Car felt like new but the noise is still there and can hear more clearly as the new mounting seems to lower noise coming from the engine. Lower arm is new (less than 1 yr and its ori Proton), no significant free play on tie rod and absorber link to arb. I am starting to think its the caliper pin. How do i check the pin?
Jack it up and hit the tires with base of your fist, it will give some noises if the caliper pins already worn out. But the noises from that is more like lite rattling sound. Your knocking noise can also come from worn antiroll bar bushings so the ARB might have up/down movement and touches some of other parts or lower arms. That was the case for my Swift.

Write your reply...