Never-ending Weird Sound, Evo IX

misalignment of the belting with the other pulley? maybe..

The first thing coming on my mind is misalignment of the belting with the other pulley...

http://excelforfree.com/

Which one bro? The airplane sound u meant?
misalign? That would cause either component running with the serpentine belt to not function, yes? Or it can be notice easily when pulley running, and zick zacking?

For those who owned e9, pls share if your engine sounds similar to mine, exclude downpipe sound. The engine rev sound abit funny and it has been there since first day til now.

---------- Post added at 09:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 PM ----------

sounds like supercharger...

Lol... So my mivec has been transformed into supercharger..hahahah...

Bro clanzkiller, your thread have been hijacked already, you're now like Gaddafi, we have taken over your place, hahaa..

We also got problem maa, slowboy is looking for a new turbo, I'm looking for a new cam setup, pangyau wanna joyride my car, drift_devil pulak wants you to come over to his place etc2...

I think you should open another thread la, hahhaa...

p/s: "mitsu_san" from evolutionm sounds familiar?.. he thought that you live around the airport area...well that's me :proud:

Waa bro, ure a good joker hahahahahahah...

TS,

my ix have been on s1 for more than 2 yrs now.. sad 2 say i've yet to achieve an airplane sound or any of that sort..

so my 1sen worth, if u said that it only happen after the upgrades.. u might wana try goin back to the place u had it done and let them know.. if they can't figure it out, then perhaps its time to head for a 2nd professional opinion?

r11,

if i had a chance to turn back time, i would've gone for the s2.. springs and head studs would be good too..

and yeah, don't really see the need of internal upgrades unless u have the cash to burn or you're planning for long term.. which i believe is inevitable hohoho ;)

otherwise, imho stock internals are good for 500bhp/400whp.. on a stock frame turbo, dun really see the need of hittin 8k n above rpm.. with your turbo setup and all i believe you're aiming for power under the curve rather then top end.. trust me at 4000+ to 7000+ rpm u should already be smiling..

and bro, i must agree your figures are kinda low.. i was hitting 330+ on my stock turbo last time but it was with cams though.. on a dynojet as well.. might wana ponder on this ;)

gud luck in the quest of power my ix brotha's :)

Kekeke....Don't go for Tomei ARMS 7960
You have CBRD BBK,BBK-Full,HKS GT II 7460,Forced Performance FP HTA White,White 71 HTA,Green,Red and Black
Apparently Forced Performance is going to introduce Ball Bearing turbo for their entire lineup of EVO Bolt in turbo
Nowadays technology have gotten to a pace where you can keep stock appearing turbo and make upward of 6xxwhp:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 07:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

You are making 300whp/288wtq with Dynojet on Tomei ARMS?
That is a bit low
What kind of boost and RON?
Your setup even as it seat should pull you much over 300whp

Why the tomei isnt good? I will asked tong turbo if they can upgrade the journal bearing to the ball bearings on Arms, if it can make the wheels spool faster.

the max boost just 1.35 bar on 97, as this Arms can go up to 1.6. The tuner said due to reliability. the last word before I left the dyno house was "WTF!!!" >>>> (Wow That's Fun)

TS,

r11,

if i had a chance to turn back time, i would've gone for the s2.. springs and head studs would be good too..

and yeah, don't really see the need of internal upgrades unless u have the cash to burn or you're planning for long term.. which i believe is inevitable hohoho ;)

otherwise, imho stock internals are good for 500bhp/400whp.. on a stock frame turbo, dun really see the need of hittin 8k n above rpm.. with your turbo setup and all i believe you're aiming for power under the curve rather then top end.. trust me at 4000+ to 7000+ rpm u should already be smiling..

and bro, i must agree your figures are kinda low.. i was hitting 330+ on my stock turbo last time but it was with cams though.. on a dynojet as well.. might wana ponder on this ;)

gud luck in the quest of power my ix brotha's :)

Yes, according to the Dragstar, the S2 will be arrived on the 3rd week of sept. now I think I have to reconsider for the internal parts tho', hurm...

You think it's kinda low? I think its SUPERLOW, even my grandmom can tune better than D*****D :banghead:

Why the tomei isnt good? I will asked tong turbo if they can upgrade the journal bearing to the ball bearings on Arms, if it can make the wheels spool faster.

the max boost just 1.35 bar on 97, as this Arms can go up to 1.6. The tuner said due to reliability. the last word before I left the dyno house was "WTF!!!" >>>> (Wow That's Fun)

Yes, according to the Dragstar, the S2 will be arrived on the 3rd week of sept. now I think I have to reconsider for the internal parts tho', hurm...

You think it's kinda low? I think its SUPERLOW, even my grandmom can tune better than D*****D :banghead:

:) have fun with the s2.. hopefully u find a good tuner not tooner.. :driver:

TS,

my ix have been on s1 for more than 2 yrs now.. sad 2 say i've yet to achieve an airplane sound or any of that sort..

so my 1sen worth, if u said that it only happen after the upgrades.. u might wana try goin back to the place u had it done and let them know.. if they can't figure it out, then perhaps its time to head for a 2nd professional opinion?

Is not the cam that make sounds, is other part. Suspected is something within the serpentine belt. And the most suspicious is the Power steering pump. I diagnose it again just now morning using screw driver and touched on the ps pump, while my ears on the handle of the screw driver, i can hear the noise inside, and when i switch to the PS hose, the sound even louder...?

The Tomei is not good cause it don't offer much power over stock turbo
Hmm...no need to go Ball Bearing
The reason why FP develop Ball Bearing turbo is because the have some failure
Reason for failure might be bearing related
To band aid this,they release a statement regarding which oil to use(High Zinc Content stuff) to help protect the turbo bearing
Err stock EVO is 1.4bar already!!!
Do you have Walbro 255LPH Fuel Pump??

that's the first thing I've changed..
else like injector, fuel rail, fpr remain stock.

The 'tooner' set max boost 1.35 on my boost ctroller HKS evc cos he said the defi is showing 1.45 already.:confused:

Ok I'm fade up.. I try to do the bleeding myself follow by some instruction in evolutionm and yes, there is bubble coming out from the reservoir. But it seems like I've been doing it for 2 hours, few crank and steering turn then wait for the bubble to burst and do again. Interval of 15 minits. And everytime after bleed, sure got bubble so when should i stop? Thought it will really solve but no, is still the same..
Fluid level increase decrease is lesser compared before, but the fking sound stil there

clanzkiller,

U need to be patient. If you claim the wierd sound came form Power Steering (PS)
You may refer to my older thread since it happened to me.
Maybe you need to change the PS hoses also due to aging by time.
I bleed the fluids by manualy and took me ages to remove the bubble.
If using machine much easier and possible to reduce air in the PS tank.
The wierd sound gone after few days driving after the changing fuilds & now no problem.
Reminder: use the correct fluids...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...ng-squeak-after-changing-steering-fluids.html

Hope this might help you out...

tumpang thread..mine car oso got weird sound..at front beside driver side..at door or at fender got sound tak "tak 'tak when i drive..then at back oso got sound.which shop can do for me ah...adoi hehe.if u all know can text me sms 0176410859 thanks..but when i wash my car at "bawah chasis car.." mean kena naik at higher place then see under car then wash..the sound all gone. issit bushing kong?

that's the first thing I've changed..
else like injector, fuel rail, fpr remain stock.

The 'tooner' set max boost 1.35 on my boost ctroller HKS evc cos he said the defi is showing 1.45 already.:confused:

Even with stock injector you car can make more then 310whp easily
Such tough luck
Time to find a new tuner i guess?

clanzkiller,

U need to be patient. If you claim the wierd sound came form Power Steering (PS)
You may refer to my older thread since it happened to me.
Maybe you need to change the PS hoses also due to aging by time.
I bleed the fluids by manualy and took me ages to remove the bubble.
If using machine much easier and possible to reduce air in the PS tank.
The wierd sound gone after few days driving after the changing fuilds & now no problem.
Reminder: use the correct fluids...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...ng-squeak-after-changing-steering-fluids.html

Hope this might help you out...

Thanks for the concern bro. Checked through your thread, it might help by reflashing the PS oil and change a new one. But i haven't try it yet. Cause i supposed mine is the OEM fluid cause i haven't change the PS oil since i bought the car, but might be the japanese guy or the dealer has serviced for me? not sure though.
The PS hose, the noise even louder compared to the PS pump. And the hose cost 300++?
By the way, i've made a visit on DD_05 just now, and YESSS, we solved the airplane sound!!! Is caused by the wrong sizing of serpentine/fan belt being use/change.
Previously before i found out it is worned, the car is equipped with 1800. So my mech ordered a same 1800 and put it in, and the sound appear.
So went to DD_05 workshop, and same trying to figure out the sound culprit, and DD_05 said it might be the sizing of the belt, so he took an used belt, left by someone (THANKS FOR YOUR BELT, but i dunno who is that :(, i think he is a zth user also). and tested his 1790, and the sound GONE!

So now i'm waiting for the belt dealer to exchange another new one to me and see how's it goes.

tumpang thread..mine car oso got weird sound..at front beside driver side..at door or at fender got sound tak "tak 'tak when i drive..then at back oso got sound.which shop can do for me ah...adoi hehe.if u all know can text me sms 0176410859 thanks..but when i wash my car at "bawah chasis car.." mean kena naik at higher place then see under car then wash..the sound all gone. issit bushing kong?

tak tak tak..very familiar, post video if possible. Sounds like mine before i change the serpentine/fan belt. It is due to worned serpentine/fan belt, and after change, tak tak tak sound gone, but airplane sound appear.

Izzit it appear, when car stop, release handbrake, press clutch, engaged first gear, slowly release clutch to make the car roll abit, and while the rpm dropping slowly, the sound will appear?
Or, you're on 2nd gear, slow for a bump, press clutch, press brake, pass bump, and release clutch back, and press throttle, the sound appear? (within 5-10km/h, within 500-1500rpm)

Even with stock injector you car can make more then 310whp easily
Such tough luck
Time to find a new tuner i guess?

+1. stock injector can go to 320 without any problem. :)

clanzkiller,

If you use order from OEM, the hoses is about that cost.
I just use the similar type & size but source it at 4WD shop much cheeper.

Yo Cousie~ Finally the sounds issue rectify and hope u get the Belt exchange from the Dealer..

p/s: Dun forget my Nasi Kandar + Teh O Ice Limau... hehehe........

Whistle/Airplane sound solved, now more problem coming up...wtf man...

First, normal temp fan is not working/running. But AC Fan running well.

Second, First time happened during a rain, was driving around 40-80km/h due to heavy rain in the city, then suddenly the sound appear, i thought it was the water that splash underneath the car. But second time it appear on the same day, the rain has gone, but water still on the road, and i can confirm that i didn't drove through a water path, and the sound appear like 5 secs and gone. So i don't bother.

Until few days back, i drove my car like 40km, cruising between 180-220km/h, and then i slow down cause is arriving soon, then suddenly the noise appeared, it sounded like some metal lose, scrapping each other, aa shit i duno how to describe.
I tried to locate the sound, it sounds like from the radio panel in the middle, but i can feel the vibration on the car floor. And i try to accelerate to increase the speed a little, like 2k-3k rpm, then the sound gone, so i release throttle, drop til 2k rpm and the sound appear again. So i just re-accelerate and the sound gone. A little rain that time, just a little.
Till today, i cold start my car, and i can hear the same sound but slightly soft a bit for 3-5sec just after ignition. Then gone.
I checked through other forum, it seems like the resonator hitting with the driveshaft, and commonly happened during rain! Other then that???

Third There is a SINGLE 'TICK' sound from the engine, whenever i stop the engine, key out, alarm on. And suddenly 'TICK'. And again, but couldn't tell the time it will occur, sometimes after 5 minutes, sometimes 10 minutes. The best part is, after 1 hour of cooling down, the sound will still appear.
I pop up my hood just now, to check the FAN, while engine running, and i heard the sound too!