very dumb unfair !!! *angry

acaii

i've friends at cali, usa..known him for quit a long time..studied...
we both fresh IT graduate and he got USD1.8k a month there while i earned RM2.5k here..
we both single and staying at family house..

yesterday he brought JDM ori eg9 1994 wif only USD3k cash.!!!
i almost cried bacause of jealous..huhuhu..
my deposit alone can buy 2 eg9 car and without another 5 year debt there...!!!!
he said if he got another USD1k he manage to get accord 2.0...:'(

and he bullshit me to say our b16a cost double his car price...*sad

and guess what??? his father booked new civic for USD17k only...
and we malaysian hv to pay RM113k for same car...?????!!!

put aside cost of living, fuel,rent etc etc...i mean comparing their salaries and ours doesn't diff much but sadly they manage to get honda and enjoy it with lower dumb price...huhuhu..

what do u think..?

Bro,

WELcome to da fact of life in Malaysia. Well, hav u thought of looking 4 a job overthere? U will surely get a EK9 at unbelievable price. Best of all, the new honda civic Si.

you must remember one important thing, maintenance of cars
is very expensive there! Labour charges are not like Malaysia,
we can leave a car overnight, and theres no storage charges or
ridicoulous labour charges! AND price of petrol also varies daily,
so when you do break it down, plus minus, its about the same i think!

I was in NZ recently, and cost to change a timing belt after conversion is RM85/-
not including the belt yet! and they charge hourly........

We suffer coz of duties, gst, and whatever else our Govt & Distributors throw at us. Dont talk abt our foreign cars, what about our locally assembled vehicles??
why do we have to pay taxes on a locally produced car??....think abt it....

jus my 2cents worth....

u cant simply compare liek that bro..living and earning ya living ya life overseas is totally diff tahn woring and living at ur own country...

nobdoy is forcing u to be here...if u think u can survive and be hapy ther..go ahead dude..no oen is stopping u...

just my 2 cents!

One more thing is do u know how much income tax they paid each year? Compare it to Malaysia and u will feel better.

US got no mamak stalls to do regular TT sessions ler...:biggrin: ...summore their highway patrol is using chevy camaro, sure our honda kenot run wan....

its ok la to live here....
compared to iraq...
u wanna go drag oso scared at the finishing got periuk api....

r u sure ur fren bought a real JDM EG9???
because do u know wat's the things needed to get a JDM car in the states?
have u read the honda tuning magazines?

mostly ppl there convert their car to JDM spec. evrything....
u hav to be very very lucky to find a real JDM car there.....
haha, pls check with ur fren,

by the way, car prices there have always been like that,
so there's nothing to be jealous about or to show off about,
tell ur fren, if he can get a JDM EG9 with USD3k HERE, then only u ask him to show off.....haha.....

they only got place for CC (Coca Cola)....no TT......our hiway patrol using GTi....sure can run...

prImo said:
eh bro...they really do have JDM E-EG9 in states eh...?

xxxx said:
r u sure ur fren bought a real JDM EG9???
because do u know wat's the things needed to get a JDM car in the states?
have u read the honda tuning magazines?

that what he told me la bro...i know him very well..and i don't know if he lied to me..i'll ask him the photo's...:)

mynnDAWG said:
u cant simply compare liek that bro..living and earning ya living ya life overseas is totally diff tahn woring and living at ur own country...

nobdoy is forcing u to be here...if u think u can survive and be hapy ther..go ahead dude..no oen is stopping u...

mates, i didn't complained to be malaysian at all..as i said earlier, i'm not comparing their cost of life but only for car alone..

my point is, he earned as much as me but got car that wif way diff from us here...again, i'm not blaming our lovely gov..:p

devilangel said:
We suffer coz of duties, gst, and whatever else our Govt & Distributors throw at us. Dont talk abt our foreign cars, what about our locally assembled vehicles??
why do we have to pay taxes on a locally produced car??....think abt it....

yup, u got the point there...

I hope with new 'Dasar Automobil Negara' all car company are racing to lower their car price....

maybe lower than USD3K..hehehe..

mates, i'm happy and proud to be malaysian..:)
i'm not bashing our gov for that kind of protection but at least we know how long it will take to stabalize our car industries..*sigh
bottom line is we pay much more than it suppose to be...

if we married, we hv family, house and kids to look at...the everage malaysia will pay their house untill more than 50 year old..:(
and wif car price now, we seem living with debt for the rest of our live..
and everyone just follow that rules..

some say, no one should worry about the practises of players in the market.
coz the market is always fair...but the truth is we pay our car too much...

again, its only a forum and we're here to discuss and not to argue with each others...
i hope i'm not offending anyone in any other way because it wasn't my intention to..*cheer

semutapi said:
I hope with new 'Dasar Automobil Negara' all car company are racing to lower their car price....

maybe lower than USD3K..hehehe..

hehee...hopefully..
unfortunately these are the loop holes which the gov should hv forseen and addressed effectively from the start...

Cuti-Cuti Malaysia,,,,US and Malaysia is totally different bro,,Malaysia is Malaysia

acaii, if you graduated there then you should have known the car price there is cheap but labor of maintenance is steep. There's nothing to yell about it.

My first ride there was a 7years old 93 accord and it was USD4200 cash. EG9 is a rare find in the states if your friend does get one there.

devilangel said:
you must remember one important thing, maintenance of cars
is very expensive there! Labour charges are not like Malaysia,
we can leave a car overnight, and theres no storage charges or
ridicoulous labour charges! AND price of petrol also varies daily,
so when you do break it down, plus minus, its about the same i think!

how much does a swap in US cost? generally between USD 1800 (simple swap) - USD 5000 (more complicated with wirings & ancillaries redone)

in relative to cost of car ownership, americans do say its expensive.

how much does swap in malaysia cost? we know its between RM2,500 - RM12K
do you not think it relative? i mean cost of labour.

yes, acknowledge fuel fluctuates there but its by the gallon (1gallon = 3.785litres)
1 US gallon = fluctuates US1.79 - US3.50 ~ convert its very expensive but in relation to earning power?

info like these are in the US forums.

Write your reply...