Avoiding an accident in an emergency situation

zeddd, dat was a good comment. taking time to know our ride is one of the key to drive safely, no matter how fast u r driving :)

you're just too fast into that corner... slow in, fast out bro... you were too fast in, the intertia that u carry with you from your straight line speed prior to the turn will force you into an understeer if you brake or decellerate.. since you didn't have enough acceleration to counter the inertia.. off course you were headed outside.. newton's law:X-:

hi,

Agree with what you said. Inertia....... or other way to tell them.....is weight transfer from one side to the other.........

Tips

Basic way to Tackle a corner !

1. Brake in Straight line only.......before you enter the corner or start turning your steering wheel.

2. Mininmum steering input

3. No braking in corner at all, if you need to slow down.....just release the accerlerator.

4. Accerlerate smoothly after Apex............

That's the right way to tackle a corner.................

If you need to do any thing other than the above......... you must be a real pro to do it, if not you'll will be in trouble !!

God created physics, newton defined them. Need to learn about car physics.. a fundamental not many race-driver-wannabes are aware of. And the best (or the only?) place to learn is the race track. You'll have plenty of room for errors. On the highway? Nope. No second chance. Used to take my family car for free runs at BT3 track, and i heard people telling me "rosak la kereta buat-pegi-kerja bawak pegi track!" but I still think that it's worse if you do it on the roads, endangering other people's lives and yours. Still remember BT3 days, hard braking from 180km/h on shell straight to enter "turn sepuluh" - wow!!:_:

BT3, wow your memories still fresh! I think me too. I call it Turn 10 overthere. I used to go BT3 for the sat nite fever without miss. Just driving my stock standard car and always started from the last and ended up......... i was real happy with my results.

Got chanced to see so many cars make mistake, spin, flew to the gravel, caught fire, overturn etc. Sometimes i just wanted to say big thank you to them. Because from a very short period of time i learn so much. Do Not make mistake like them. Thanks god!

I think we got great guys here. I hope the boys will go to SIC more often, or they can take up some driving course which available now. Not like the olden days it was so difficult !!!

Cheers!

SC-A1 said:

BT3, wow your memories still fresh! I think me too. I call it Turn 10 overthere. I used to go BT3 for the sat nite fever without miss. Just driving my stock standard car and always started from the last and ended up......... i was real happy with my results.

Got chanced to see so many cars make mistake, spin, flew to the gravel, caught fire, overturn etc. Sometimes i just wanted to say big thank you to them. Because from a very short period of time i learn so much. Do Not make mistake like them. Thanks god!

I think we got great guys here. I hope the boys will go to SIC more often, or they can take up some driving course which available now. Not like the olden days it was so difficult !!!

Cheers!

turn 12 (Lucas - fast corner) lagi saspen... pedal to the floor, flat out in 4th gear, don't ever lift that foot off the throttle... or your car will start to buang outwards... hmm still remember those lovely days..

bt3 is still the best track that we had in klang valley..... nice ride around the track and close to the heart of our city.

sigh...... some people thought building house is better than keeping those street racer off the road....

the other best part is after the race........ own race back to kl start from the toll booth

now we got better track but unfortunately it so far fr kl.... sighh...
thats why harpoon convert the runway to be his track... kekkeke

I would like to say something oso, but chris already explained it perfectly, especially driving on the right lane w/h overtaking any vehicle on left..

I understand the feeling when we got tailgated n flashed from behind when cruising along the h/ways.. on the speed limit. Irritating rite? "what? u think u r the only one who pay road-tax aah? Up to me lah..i'm following the speed limit.." And then when we got overtaken, we will chase the car up like there's no tomorrow..

There are ppl who can afford to pay summons and don't care of other ppl lives on the road. Keeping this to my mind, i always driving on the left lane and only go right for overtaking, then back to left, no matter what speed. Always check ur rear view mirror for 'speeding bullets' from behind - they can be behind you in split seconds (especially cars from our friendly neighbour..) Make sure u have ample time to overtake and back to the left lane.

Sound like an old papa giving advise before handing over his car keys to a newly jpj-proven son, rite? hahaha.. but when u always driving ur wife and kids around with u, u will (gradually) learn to be a defensive, not offensive driver.. I know it's hard to get rid of this 'Juan-Pablo Montoya' inside us when we are behind the wheel.. 'been there.

hattech-v said:
now we got better track but unfortunately it so far fr kl.... sighh...
thats why harpoon convert the runway to be his track... kekkeke

SIC is for the big boys.. last time when we had BT3, we had a choice - SIC for the big boys in their Porche GT3R, and BT3 for the weekend thrill seekers in kancils, wiras and hondas... now? hmm unless you hava a track car, gotta really give it a thought before taking your car to SIC... :sad_smile:

tortis96 said:
if for me... i will shift down gear, from gear 5 to gear 3 and start pumping my brakes... i was testing my h22a with my friend that day at cyberjaya. i was going more than 180kmh and was reaching my condo already. i notice when i touch the brakes, the car was like going to spin already. but lucky i m using good brake pads.

HanJackaL said:
Thanks for replies and flames my friends!! =)
And guys,how come even at the slightest corner,if i tap my brakes at 160KM/H+,i can feel back of my car sliding a bit?Is that normal?When i say slight corner, i mean the tunnel on Penchala link...almost at end of tunnel got a bit of winding road.
Thanks again guys..keep the flames and comments up!

when u brake in a very high speed corner and the car feels loose at the rear,
this happen bcos of aerodynamics, not enough downforce.

chris2000 said:
Just my two cents...

My 1st advise is to attend some Advance Defensive Driving Course like those offered by http://www.aadasb.com . You will be amazed with so much you learn and you can actually practise and experience how emergency brake and skid feels rather then really waiting for real emergency to practise your skill.

"The BMW could easily overtake us from the left since the roads had totally no cars on it but he didnt..he just kept on tail gating and flashing"

To tell you the thruth, i don't think the BMW wanted to tail gate you on purpose! If it was me or many more other experience driver, they would have done the same. The right lane is an overtaking lane. So if i'm coming real fast or faster than the front car ahead, I would have also flash my lights to warn the car ahead that fast car coming and move to the left. This actually promote safe overtaking. If all fast driver just go zig zag left right to overtake cars, this is where the danger and accident happen. And when the fast car comes near and you still not moving, we will still not cut to the left even though no cars as it is dangerous for fast cars to overtake on the left as the car ahead may also suddenly swerve left to make way. So I think the BMW DID NOT DO it on purpose to show power or what not!

"Then suddenly,even though roads were clear,the BMW jammed brake twice."

What do you expect a driver to do, when he approaches a corner? Of course brake right if speed is high! This is again a driver problem and error. Lack of driving concentration and anticipation! THe BMW driver may have just felt that he is too fast for the corner or he may not be comfortable with taking the corner at 180KM/H. He may have just brake once and then felt that he is still too fast so just brake again.

Again it was a driver error for over reacting to the car ahead because you were tailing without having any anticipation of what the drivers might do or conditions of surrounding. All this accident could have been avoided if you had been properly taught or attended proper advance driving courses.

"i dont blame my friend since he is not used to my car.He only been driving a 1.5 Stock standard wira special edition.So i guess he learnt a lesson not to tail gate during cornering."

If your friend is only driven a normal low power car, I wouldn't had let him drive your powerful EK at that kind of speed!!! I think its just insane to let someone drive a more powerful car than he may able to control!

"My damages are surprisingly quite minimal...Cost about Rm1.5k to fix."

I think you were just DAMN LUCKY man.. I have seen so many cars crashed onto the barriers along the highway to genting.

"But anyway, my question is this : When someone jam brake on you during a corner,what do you do?"

I felt it should have been an avoidance. Try to steer away with minimal steering movement and not jolt your steering hard to one side as it will just induce massive understeer or oversteer. Never jam your brakes in the corner as this will 100% cause your car to oversteer and spin like what your friend did!

"Or if you are taking one of those big high speed corners at a high speed and suddenly a Kancil cuts into your lane at 80 KM/H..how to avoid an accident?"

Again if you are in concentration and aware of your surroundings, you could have seen that the kancil might want to cut out, so way ahead if you know you are coming fast, you should have flash your lights to warn him fast car coming, like what the BMW did to u.

"lets discuss about how to avoid an accident in an emergency situation when you are speeding so that we can save the holes in our pockets and avoid injury."

Sometime it is very hard to explain all this situations to anyone. Even if you have the theory or what not, how to correct skid and this and that, ALL this are just therioes we talk about among friends, and will never be able to test or try until that real emergency situation!

And also i'm spending so much time to type all this, is because i just hope it may acknowledge one or two people in this forum and prompt them all this that could have save someone from a major accident or their life. Just sharing some of things i learn in life and in advance defensive driving courses from http://www.aadasb.com

Happy Driving!!

Sorry bro....I'd like to add/ask something "It spinned 1 more time and my friend manage to regain control to stop by the side of road.The BMW driver stopped about 2 KM ahead and turned on his hazard lights.But he drove off as soon as we got off the car instead of talking about the damages.I dont know why he did that for..."
My question is why in the hell the BM driver drove away??? If me in that situation I'll be stopping my car and talking about my damages....but he/she just 'cabut'....why bro...can u explain that...I think if u also u'll be stopping ur car...izit???Must be something wrong there....after all Hans r stopping his car edi....if u said that the BM is not tailgatting Hans...why he/she ran away???
Sorry bro...asking this....but I'm curious to know....
Cheers

middle of the night u are alone and got into a serious accident.
if its me i would run away too , better safe then sorry.
a lot of crazies nowadays who might beat u up or steal your car.

yeah maybe he is afraid since roads are very lonely...but maybe he is also guilty of trying to make us crash =P